Ratings based on 375 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Regina, Canada

Near perfect Bed and Breakfast

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: We liked everything about this hotel.
Cons: Is perfect.
Location: Restaurants, museums, walking street all near by.Safe neighborhood.
We only have positive things to say about Casa 69. The location was perfect. Within less than 10 minute walk from the Jade and National Museums. A few minutes more and one is downtown on the walking street. The hotel is beautifully decorated in a tropical theme. Rooms are clean and bright. Staff are friendly, helpful and informative. Breakfasts are outstanding with self serve tropical fruit plate, fresh French loafs, coffee and juice. One can also have pancakes, bacon and eggs, omelettes, etc. Area on the roof has loungers for reading or relaxing. Staff will arrange transportation. Everything about this place is positive!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guatemala

Incredibly loud

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Isolation, so it is not as noisy.
It was really bad, two nights of poor sleep. The guests were extremely noisy inside and there are two very active night clubs next door. In spite of strict noise regulations in San Jose, the party continued until 2 a.m. A real pity. The hotel includes an Annex, if you are placed in the annex, it is even more noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Relaxing good feeling

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Like everything about it.
Cons: Nothing for the value that it is.
Location: Located close to everything- town and museums.
Staff is the greatest and I like everything about this hotel. Will be back and that is because of this hotel. Can't say I have ever wanted to return to a place before because of the hotel but that's how much I loved it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Good value

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Clean rooms and quiet until the commuter train starts running at 6am
Location: Lots of places to eat and a good Jade museum nearby.
It was a short stay. Location OK, staff very good and lots of place to eat within easy walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Wonderful Staff, Great Location

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Cons: I wish they would have offered complimentary Pinto for breakfast. Pinto is after all the traditional Costa Rican breakfast.
Location: So close to shopping, restaurants, and many museums
The staff here were amazing, especially Danny. They were always there to greet me and helpful in ensuring my comfort and trip planning. My room was nice. Just outside was a water garden which was peaceful when sleeping. The hotel has a few dogs and cats. The little dogs greeted me every time I came back to the hotel. I suppose if you do not like animals, this would not be the place for you. There are train tracks nearby. They didn't bother me, but you will hear them mostly during the rush hour.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unfriendly staff/policies

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Hotel was originally an old mansion. Beautiful details inside my room including wood walls. Their breakfasts were great too
Cons: rude staff
Location: Very close to the shopping district, zoo, restaurants
I have many tico friends and the hotel was completely rude to them. We wanted to watch some youtube videos in my room and had to pay $20 for them to enter my room. I thought Costa Rica was a free country. I should be able to have guests without any question. The staff made me feel like I was in jail. The floors inside my room were creaky and I'm not talking about a little but A LOT and it was almost the entire floor. I'm sure every time I had to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night, I woke the room next door. The bed was creaky too. I only stayed at this place for two days. I was in San Jose for an additional 5 nights so I found a better place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

nice place centric and good price

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: it feels like a house.
Cons: the staff needs to be more polite, they make you feel like you are bothering them
Location: the location is good you have Pizza hut across the street there are two bars around the corner San Pedro mall its 15 minutes walking distance
I think this is a good place very close to San Pedro mall and there are several bars just around the corner, in general is a good place but just be aware there are several dogs they dont do anything but I think it is good to know, also I spent three nights at this place and they ask me to clean myu room the very last day when I was leaving, so if you want they to clean your room I guess you have to ask them for it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, canada

Best staff ever!

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Lovely little place with incredible staff and clean, well appointed rooms. The staff made us feel completely at home and like we were old friends. In all of my travels I have rarely experienced that type of effortless customer service. The nearby train is a bit startling at first but it becomes oddly comforting quite quickly. They offer white noise machine if the sounds outside bother you. The inner courtyards are a wonderful little oasis in the city. Highly recommend this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great local B&B

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: More interesting breakfastd
This B &B was a good value for the price. Good location and friendly staff. Liked 2 out 3 dogs a lot. Cat was charming. The breakfast was a bit boring with only fruit and a baguette. Would have liked a bit more variety or local fare. Train service starts at 5:00 am, but don't think you would find a place that wasn't impacted by the noise
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United States of America

Extremely noisy location!

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: The hotel is in a convenient location.
The hotel was adequate. The worst part was it's location near train tracks. The train would blow it's horn every few seconds as it passed. The train's first pass began at 5 am and continued into the evening. There was no AC in the rooms. Therefore the room was stuffy during the day. The room was OK at night when things cooled down. The included breakfast was fruit and bread. The fruit was excellent. The same type of bread was served everyday. Some change would have been nice.