Ratings based on 402 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Staff like Henry, Giovanni, Carlos helped with Spa

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Cute, great privacy, relatively free of noise. And secured way from outside individuals buzzed in by staff. Good rates.
Cons: In general phones in the room would have helped me as one used to larger hotels. The fan speed string was too high to reach for me, needed help.
Location: There is a display desk of pamphlets, to choose trips from.
Spanish speaking staff like Henry, Giovanni, Carla, Carlos, and others helped me with communication for third party contacting within hotel rules as I know only ten words or so for making phone needs known. They aren't concierge per se but can help if you provide numbers. Showers hot, fruit amazing, and fruit juice superb for mixing with protein powder for post dental work needs. Soft bakery bread paired with my foil tuna packets, since I didn't want to go out with fron teeth 2 days?.You need your own phone. Trains go by for 25 seconds several times daily but didn't disturb me, a light sleeper. Guests had the pass code.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Comfortable, Convenient Place to Explore the City

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Pros: Location and staff. Rooftop patio.
Warm, friendly, and safe, centrally located. Everyone speaks great English, delicious continental breakfast, easy walking distance to city center and museums. Very reasonably priced, and they even did our laundry for a small extra fee! A little piece of home in San Jose.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to museums

Posted May 30, 2017
Great breakfast fruits, fresh juice, coffee, bread
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Close to San Jose Centro. Walking distance.

Posted May 24, 2017
Casa 69 is very accomodating and cozzy. It is like staying with friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gainesville, FL

Charming out-of-the way place

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: The resident cats & kittens felt like icing on the cake to me.
Location: Downtown San Jose is just a few blocks east.
On my first solo visit to this country, I was charmed by this little hotel, just a bit west of downtown San Jose. My room was spacious and the staff were helpful & accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

An attractively decorated hotel close to the city

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: The attractively decorated rooms and the excellent breakfast.
Cons: Since not all rooms are equal it would be nice to be able to select which part of the hotel one would like to stay at.
Location: It is close to the National Museum and just one block away from the train station which runs to Heredia y Alajuela.
I stayed at Casa 69 for 4 nights which was my third time at the hotel. The first two times I stayed at the main house and this last time I stayed at the "annex" on the other side of the street. Both parts of the hotel are clean and extremely well decorated. However, the main part of the hotel is far more interesting because there is a fishpond at the back and the rooms have been built around a large tree, almost giving the upstairs rooms the impression of living in a tree house. When I arrived I was not asked which part of the hotel I would prefer and was given a room across the street. I found the rooms on the other side of the street to be nice but not particularly interesting, just another hotel. Without the ability to select which part of the hotel I am going to stay at, I won't be going back. However, the staff is excellent and the morning breakfast of coffee, fruit and bread is extremely healthy.
5 out of 5
by Brian

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
It is a very place, and service was very good, especially Daniel who helped me out with something I needed. I recommend the place.
3 out of 5
by Stephen

Lovely cosy place- shame about the trains!

Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely place with very friendly staff and good breakfast. We were made to feel at home when we arrived and given breakfast on our day of arrival. The rooftop terrace is nice but was a little windy. The major downside is the extremely noisy trains which pass very close to the hotel and sound their horns incessantly- a noise which penetrates through even the most dense earplugs! Be warned!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Regina, Canada

Near perfect Bed and Breakfast

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: We liked everything about this hotel.
Cons: Is perfect.
Location: Restaurants, museums, walking street all near by.Safe neighborhood.
We only have positive things to say about Casa 69. The location was perfect. Within less than 10 minute walk from the Jade and National Museums. A few minutes more and one is downtown on the walking street. The hotel is beautifully decorated in a tropical theme. Rooms are clean and bright. Staff are friendly, helpful and informative. Breakfasts are outstanding with self serve tropical fruit plate, fresh French loafs, coffee and juice. One can also have pancakes, bacon and eggs, omelettes, etc. Area on the roof has loungers for reading or relaxing. Staff will arrange transportation. Everything about this place is positive!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guatemala

Incredibly loud

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Isolation, so it is not as noisy.
It was really bad, two nights of poor sleep. The guests were extremely noisy inside and there are two very active night clubs next door. In spite of strict noise regulations in San Jose, the party continued until 2 a.m. A real pity. The hotel includes an Annex, if you are placed in the annex, it is even more noisy.