Ratings based on 389 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Close to San Jose Centro. Walking distance.

Posted May 24, 2017
Casa 69 is very accomodating and cozzy. It is like staying with friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gainesville, FL

Charming out-of-the way place

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: The resident cats & kittens felt like icing on the cake to me.
Location: Downtown San Jose is just a few blocks east.
On my first solo visit to this country, I was charmed by this little hotel, just a bit west of downtown San Jose. My room was spacious and the staff were helpful & accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

An attractively decorated hotel close to the city

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: The attractively decorated rooms and the excellent breakfast.
Cons: Since not all rooms are equal it would be nice to be able to select which part of the hotel one would like to stay at.
Location: It is close to the National Museum and just one block away from the train station which runs to Heredia y Alajuela.
I stayed at Casa 69 for 4 nights which was my third time at the hotel. The first two times I stayed at the main house and this last time I stayed at the "annex" on the other side of the street. Both parts of the hotel are clean and extremely well decorated. However, the main part of the hotel is far more interesting because there is a fishpond at the back and the rooms have been built around a large tree, almost giving the upstairs rooms the impression of living in a tree house. When I arrived I was not asked which part of the hotel I would prefer and was given a room across the street. I found the rooms on the other side of the street to be nice but not particularly interesting, just another hotel. Without the ability to select which part of the hotel I am going to stay at, I won't be going back. However, the staff is excellent and the morning breakfast of coffee, fruit and bread is extremely healthy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Regina, Canada

Near perfect Bed and Breakfast

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: We liked everything about this hotel.
Cons: Is perfect.
Location: Restaurants, museums, walking street all near by.Safe neighborhood.
We only have positive things to say about Casa 69. The location was perfect. Within less than 10 minute walk from the Jade and National Museums. A few minutes more and one is downtown on the walking street. The hotel is beautifully decorated in a tropical theme. Rooms are clean and bright. Staff are friendly, helpful and informative. Breakfasts are outstanding with self serve tropical fruit plate, fresh French loafs, coffee and juice. One can also have pancakes, bacon and eggs, omelettes, etc. Area on the roof has loungers for reading or relaxing. Staff will arrange transportation. Everything about this place is positive!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guatemala

Incredibly loud

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Isolation, so it is not as noisy.
It was really bad, two nights of poor sleep. The guests were extremely noisy inside and there are two very active night clubs next door. In spite of strict noise regulations in San Jose, the party continued until 2 a.m. A real pity. The hotel includes an Annex, if you are placed in the annex, it is even more noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Relaxing good feeling

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Like everything about it.
Cons: Nothing for the value that it is.
Location: Located close to everything- town and museums.
Staff is the greatest and I like everything about this hotel. Will be back and that is because of this hotel. Can't say I have ever wanted to return to a place before because of the hotel but that's how much I loved it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Good value

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Clean rooms and quiet until the commuter train starts running at 6am
Location: Lots of places to eat and a good Jade museum nearby.
It was a short stay. Location OK, staff very good and lots of place to eat within easy walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Orbitz
The staff there are VERY FRIENDLY! We have like a million questions and they are always so patient with us and help as much as they can. Really generous and nice peopel! And Lucy the cat!! Super sweet and not afraid of people at all!
5 out of 5
by gerry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by gerry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels