Ratings based on 427 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Disappointed

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: The friendly staff
Cons: The rooms, furniture.
Location: Location is great. Easy to get around the city from there
We have stayed at this hotel in the past and it was great, friendly staff, clean and very nice rooms. Unfortunately during my last trip we didn't have the same experience. The staff is vey nice but the rooms need some updating. Our first room the phone and internet was not working and then we got our room switch. The furniture and rooms are very deteriorated. The hotel is at a great location but I am afraid we won't be staying there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Torrance CA

Away from the city, not the best location

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Nothing as described in the photos. Area isn't as safe. We checked in and when I walked to the room it instantly smelled. The blankets were stained. They placed us next to a cantina that was located on the actual hotel site. Loud people til 3am! couldnt sleep at all! I hated it so much I ended up checking out one day before and booking at another hotel in the city walking distance to the museums and downtown. Hotel was called Hotel Colonial
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great luxury spacious

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: Great location 5 minutes from the city
Very nice hotel great staff 2 pools and parking & its gated very luxury
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San José

Terrible Experience

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Terrible experience. The first room I was assigned had problems with a water leak in the bathroom, and the room they moved me was not clean, too much street noise was heard and had a very poor general maintenance. Additionally, the receptionist greeted me with a bad attitude, this hotel should not be part of the hotel with VIP + agreement.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pura Vide

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Like most hotels, the maid service is good. However, the facilities are generally in need of maintenance. For example, the toilets do not flush properly and the seats are loose.
5 out of 5
by Edwin

Muy buen servicio y atención del personal

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
excelente, tendremos como referencia este hotel para la próxima visita. Deberían tener en la recepción mapas de la ciudad, o de lugares para ir a visitar. En recepción fueron muy amables en orientarnos en cada salida que hacíamos ya sea a Cartago, Alajuela o en el mismo centro.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good staff, bad area

Posted Jul 20, 2016
The staff were excellent and the food was good, however the facilities were in need of upgrades and better maintenance. Also the neighborhood didn't seem very safe and there was nothing in walking distance to go to
4 out of 5
by Cecilia from El Salvador

Hotel comodo y practico

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
Un hotel muy comodo y cerca de mi area de trabajo. El personal muy atento y servicial, las instalaciones bonitas y bien mantenidas. La comida del restaurante variada, rica de sabor y precios razonables. Lo unico que pudiera mejorar es el tamaño del baño pues es algo estrecho y poner kit para hacerse cafe en la habitación, me hizo mucha falta y en recepción no lo tenian.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Germany

Good hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Location: Downtown San Jose, with the museums and shopping area and restaurants was about a $6.00 taxi ride away. There is a park near the hotel.
The hotel buildings had beautiful murals on the outside. The breakfast buffet was good. The room had a comfortable bed and spacious bathroom with sufficient hot water during bathing. The workout room equipment (specifically one of the treadmills, the recumbent bicycles, and the elliptical) did not work - the free weights and weight machines were fine. One of the saunas was nonfunctional. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful - calling taxis for us, calling to arrange our tour.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Very nice for San José

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Easily the best hotel I stayed in during my two week trip, and paid the same prices as the others. It's a bit out of the "tourist" area of San Jose, but you're really not missing much. Beautiful Park nearby full of locals and views of the mountains. The staff on the front desk and restaurant were so friendly and helpful, speaking good English. Great food. Nice pool and hot tub. The whole place was secure and had a lot to do without leaving the complex. Great Spanish style to the place and big rooms with great WiFi. My only complaint would be slightly dirty sheets, I think more stained than dirty. But everything else was perfect, would definitely recommend.