Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel never opened door

Posted Feb 16, 2016
We paid for hotel via expedia. B&B never resounded to one email, phone call or when we finally arrived no one even answered the door. We are basically getting same response from Expedia re: this matter. No one helped me while in Costa Rica at Expedia, I and to wait till we returned to the states. Expedia said we would get an answer within 24 hours and still nothing. I am reaching out again to expedia- which is difficult, and no response. All i want is a refund of monies paid for a room we never were able to stay in- and that was not by our choice. It would be nice if Expedia also paid the $ I had to pay for additional room cost the night of our check in. This has been a horrible experience- that I hope no one else encounters. Expedia should really check if hotels are closed (which this one appears to be that way).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Vanypd

Quiet & Relaxing Stay

Posted Nov 22, 2015 on Orbitz
The hotel is close to San Jose and has numerous restaurants nearby. Rooms are clean with a comfortable bed and the breakfast is very good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 24, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Roberto was a great host and staff was absolutely friendly. Would recommend to a friend!
3 out of 5
by Denise from San Diego

Not a typical B&B

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
The B&B was very aesthetically pleasing and Roberto was wonderful. A few things were a potential danger. First the ceiling in rooms were very low where gables were and 1 bed under this. Upon standing up from bed, hit head very hard!!!! Thought I might of had minor concussion. The other danger was the huge tub/shower looked nice but there were 2 steps about 10 inches high to get into tub and NO handrail plus flooring is all marble and slippery when wet. It was scary getting in and out. My last complaint was that breakfast was just adequate and same both days. The gal who made breakfast seemed like she hated her job, very shy and didn't speak to us. I thought this was strange for a B&B. Beautiful home with some problems.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2016 by Roberto, Hotel Management
Casa Isabella is a wonderful vintage home in the hills surrounding San Jose. It is very clean and the atmosphere is charming. We have rooms that the ceiling is 6 ft. tall on the main floor, we also have rooms on the floor upstairs that the ceiling goes down some and people loves it. They call it 'European style' or Chateau, Never the less this rooms compensate the roof with their size, been 15 ft long and ceiling been 10 ft tall in the middle, walking closets, Jacuzzi, bidet and shower. We never had a guests walking under the lower sides because there is not need for. The style and decor of the showers/tub goes with the definition of the house been an wonderful vintage hill home, and people finds it charming. The breakfast had been on demand pretty much about what people wants to eat. and we had excellent reviews about our home and food, also the kitchen staff might be shy, not to be confuse with rude, because they speak little English, but they do what they can to accommodate and make our guests feel comfortable. The one thing that people have to remember in a B&B is that it is not a hotel and the noise tends to carry more, also the amenities are different that a Hotel, we have pictures in our site and people should always look at them before making their choice of booking with us.
4 out of 5
by Monica Cosby from Austin, Texas

Nice B&B

Posted May 11, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed one night for a stopover. The owner was warm and welcoming. The place is quaint and clean and beds are super comfortable. For the cost, you get way more than what you are paying for. --Please be aware that this is a Bed and Breakfast. No matter how quiet we tried to be, we felt like we were intruding. In the morning, aware of all of the sleeping tenants, we tiptoed and whispered as we cleared out and still woke up other guests. It's like walking around an old house -- it's difficult to move several pieces of luggage without making a sound. My only issue was the noise at night. Neighborhood dogs barked all night long. We used our cell phones to generate white noise and this helped the situation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2016 by Roberto, Hotel Management
The one thing that people have to remember in a B&B is that it is not a hotel and the noise tends to carry more. Also there were some problems around our neighborhood with dogs that got loose from a near by shelter. The problem has been solution by the local authorities and we apologize for the inconvenient. Thank you.
4 out of 5
by Tracelynn from Fayetteville, GA

I was ready to shoot a dog

Posted May 7, 2015 on Hotels
This bed and breakfast was clean and very nice! The innkeeper was very helpful! The only thing that was wrong with our whole stay was there was house nearby with like 10 dogs. They barked ALL NIGHT LONG. The windows shut made no difference. They seemed to set off other dogs too and many times I awoke feeling I was in the 101 Dalmations movie by Disney and some kind of warning must have been going off! Seriously, this was an excellent B&B; it was just the constant dog barking (even with ear plugs I was awakened many times per night) that made it difficult.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2016 by Roberto, Hotel Management
The one thing that people have to remember in a B&B is that it is not a hotel and the noise tends to carry more. Also there were some problems around our neighborhood with dogs that got loose from a near by shelter. The problem has been solution by the local authorities and we apologize for the inconvenient. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Panama

Nice place to when in San Jose

Posted May 1, 2015
Nice setting in hills accessible mainly by car. Welcoming staff. Comfortable room. Excellent breakfast made to order. N
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Cozy little hotel.

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Beautiful house well conditioned as a hotel. The best part was Roberto, the owner. He was so attemptive and incredibly helpful in making arrangements for my trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Panama

Great Bed & Breakfast

Posted Mar 22, 2015
I stay in Casa Isabella for a week, due to a business trip. It was great, the hotel is in Escazu, a little away from San Jose. The view is great and the location is good for relax. I recommend it. The price is accordingly and you can feel free to us Roberto for anything you need.