Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

A nice B&B in a quiet area.

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: I very much enjoyed the ambience of the birds, fish, waterfall and the mini "jungle" that make this B&B unique. I found the rooms to be comfortable.
Location: The location is in a more residential area, just a few blocks from nice restaurants, massage, the American Embassy and farmers market to name a few.
I have stayed in this B&B twice now and have had a very pleasant stay. The staff went out of their way to make sure I had what I needed. My first visit I had some painful dental work done and the kitchen staff willingly made me "smoothies" out of whatever I wished. Kind of like being taken care of by Mom when I was sick as a child. Nelson runs a real nice place and with the help of Susie and Ricky, keeps it running smoothly. They are happy to get one set up for a tour or an appointment or call a Taxi if needed. .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Nice place, wonderful people

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Location: This B&B is on a quiet street behind the US embassy and in walking distance to small shops,a popular restaurant, a bank, and a McDonalds.
We spent our last three Costa Rica nights at Casa Lima, so really appreciated amenities like laundry service, free phone calls to the USA, and the ride to the airport ($25). Breakfast was coffee, delicious hot rolls with butter and jam, and fruit. We ate one other meal there, and the chef made a special trip to the store for ice cream which was both excellent and free. The room was big and very comfortable except the air conditioner was noisy (I would have used a fan had there been one) and there was no hot in the shower, just warm. The central garden was nice with a rescued whiteface monkey, squirrel, and birds; there was a basket of books too. We liked the staff and other guests, who were all friendly and helpful. Overall, Casa Lima seemed a good choice where we felt safe and relaxed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

An Oasis in San Jose

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: See above. Thank you to Nelson for meeting us at the airport and driving us directly to the hotel.That was a true GIFT!
Location: There are a few good restaurants nearby. Just speak to the staff for info.
Thank you, Nelson Ruiz, for creating such a lovely oasis in the heart of Rohrmoser, a quiet, conveniently located suburb of San Jose. You were such a gracious host, making us feel at home quickly. The tropical courtyard at the heart of your property is a gem. We actually spent our third day quietly reading there, listening the birds and waterfall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Victor from California

CASA LIMA is a gem!

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Located in an upscale area, within waling distance of restaurants and a bit of shopping. Fantastic service by owner NELSON and a friendly staff. They can't do enough for you. Several guests were return or long-term folks and you can' t have any better reference than that. We highly recommend this place and want to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ryan from Bend, OR

Great experience

Posted Feb 19, 2014
All was great, good was awesome, staff very pleasant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from Southern California

Friendly, welcoming bed and breakfast

Posted Aug 21, 2013
Pros: The customer service, the welcoming atmosphere, the beautiful interior of the lobby/courtyard, and large rooms.
Cons: Wish there would have been some sort of protein with the breakfast, such as cheese for the delicious, warm rolls.
Location: Quiet street near the U.S. Embassy. Banks, shopping, groceries, restaurants and gas station in walking distance.
The customer service at Casa Lima is wonderful. Nelson was very welcoming, and called me by name as I walked in the door to check in, having never met me before. Gabriel was awesome, and treated us like family. Our family enjoyed having a monkey, 2 cats, a parrot, and other animals in the open courtyard. The family suite was great because it was 2 separate rooms, each with its own bathroom and entry door. Our daughters appreciated having 2 twin beds instead of 1 double bed in their room. We really felt like we were at home while staying there. They gave us suggestions for excursions, arranged a reasonably-priced taxi for our trip to the airport, and called the rental car agency regarding the return of our car. The neighborhood is nice and quiet. Shops, banks and restaurants are within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night before early flight from Tobias airport

Posted Aug 20, 2013
Pros: Good location, clean, friendly staff.
Cons: The monkey and birds were close to the dinning room. I didn't like smelling them while I ate.
Location: Close to Tobias Bolano airport and American Embassy.
The rooms are basic but clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had pizza and pasta, both were very good. I would stay here again for one night. The rooms are close together, but the air conditioning provides "white noise" to help drown out noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jason from Winter Park, FL, USA

Great jumping off point for your CR vacation!

Posted May 1, 2013
Pros: The courtyard and the wonderful staff
Cons: If I had to pick something i guess it would be they didn't sell beer, but that wasn't that bad.
Location: It was near plenty of shops, banks, resturants, and the american embassy.
All in all it was a great experienced. Nelson and his staff was friendly and helpful with all are needs. The courtyard was beautiful with lots of wildlife all around. It was great start to our Costa Rican honeymoon! Exactly what we were looking for!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Staff!

Posted Aug 11, 2012
The staff were very helpful and even woke me up at 3am to make sure I caught my taxi to the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Maryland, USA

Great atmosphere and staff at this B&B.

Posted Jun 14, 2011
Casa Lima has great character and a very helpful and friendly staff. The room and private bath was just fine. The only drawback was poor water pressure in the shower and water that was just warm, not hot. Parking is on the street, so don't leave valuables in the car.