Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey, USA

Quiet Neighborhood

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Inexpensive, quiet and friendly.
Cons: My room had a couple of minor items in need of repair. A better mattress would have been nice.
Location: Residential neighborhood, two blocks north or two blocks south to main roads with inexpensive bus transportation. Many small parks nearby.
Located in a residential neighborhood, within walking distance of restaurants and shopping. Staff is English speaking. Local bus takes you to the center of San Jose' for about 60 cents, where one finds a huge park, the National Stadium, museums, a huge shopping mall and the government buildings. Hotel staff always willing to assist you in booking tours or getting around town. Meals are good and inexpensive, but somewhat limited. However, one may walk to a nearby restaurant in five to ten minutes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beaufort, South Carolina

Great B & B in San Jose, Costa Rica

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Location, Price/Value, Super Friendly and Helpful Staff
Location: United States Embassy, Grocery Store, Restaurants
This is a friendly, small B & B in San Jose, Costa Rica, very close to the United States Embassy. The General Manager, Ricky Toledo, is super helpful and friendly. He is originally from Miami, a former U.S. Marine and speaks English and Spanish. Ricky went out of his way to be super helpful with side trips and Uber. There is a very good restaurant on-site, which is reasonably priced. The complementary breakfast is great - consisting of fresh fruits, fried plantains, bread and great jam. This is an excellent value, and I do not know how you could beat the price and location in San Jose. Thanks to Ricky, Nelson and the entire staff! Tom and Janet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WV

I don't often go to San Jose

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: The friendly caring staff
Cons: I would not change a thing
Location: rain forest, beaches, volcanos you will always have something to do.
But when I do I will stay At Casa Lima. If you want the loud bars, newest hot tubs, or swinging times do not go to Casa Lima. If you want great staff, very friendly people, and good food stay at Casa Lima. Their size allows everyone to know you and all the other guests. Very reasonably priced and an exceptional value. I will be back to visit my new amigos and amigas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

A nice B&B in a quiet area.

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: I very much enjoyed the ambience of the birds, fish, waterfall and the mini "jungle" that make this B&B unique. I found the rooms to be comfortable.
Location: The location is in a more residential area, just a few blocks from nice restaurants, massage, the American Embassy and farmers market to name a few.
I have stayed in this B&B twice now and have had a very pleasant stay. The staff went out of their way to make sure I had what I needed. My first visit I had some painful dental work done and the kitchen staff willingly made me "smoothies" out of whatever I wished. Kind of like being taken care of by Mom when I was sick as a child. Nelson runs a real nice place and with the help of Susie and Ricky, keeps it running smoothly. They are happy to get one set up for a tour or an appointment or call a Taxi if needed. .
5 out of 5
by Gordon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Great

Posted Apr 1, 2016 on Hotels
Service was great, but the hotel was not. The room and common area were very dirty and the neighborhood was sketchy. We had no hot water and the restaurant was average. The majority of guests are dental patients coming to San Jose for low cost care. The owner caters to these guests, but not so much to non-dental patient guests. They do offer free wifi and the hotel is a short drive to the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Nice place, wonderful people

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Location: This B&B is on a quiet street behind the US embassy and in walking distance to small shops,a popular restaurant, a bank, and a McDonalds.
We spent our last three Costa Rica nights at Casa Lima, so really appreciated amenities like laundry service, free phone calls to the USA, and the ride to the airport ($25). Breakfast was coffee, delicious hot rolls with butter and jam, and fruit. We ate one other meal there, and the chef made a special trip to the store for ice cream which was both excellent and free. The room was big and very comfortable except the air conditioner was noisy (I would have used a fan had there been one) and there was no hot in the shower, just warm. The central garden was nice with a rescued whiteface monkey, squirrel, and birds; there was a basket of books too. We liked the staff and other guests, who were all friendly and helpful. Overall, Casa Lima seemed a good choice where we felt safe and relaxed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

An Oasis in San Jose

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: See above. Thank you to Nelson for meeting us at the airport and driving us directly to the hotel.That was a true GIFT!
Location: There are a few good restaurants nearby. Just speak to the staff for info.
Thank you, Nelson Ruiz, for creating such a lovely oasis in the heart of Rohrmoser, a quiet, conveniently located suburb of San Jose. You were such a gracious host, making us feel at home quickly. The tropical courtyard at the heart of your property is a gem. We actually spent our third day quietly reading there, listening the birds and waterfall.
5 out of 5
by Romeena from London

Best BnB in Town!

Posted Mar 9, 2015 on Hotels
The guests at Casa Lima say that Nelson is the best host in town. We couldn't agree more. He helped us with planning our route around Costa Rica and calling around for us in Spanish so we could get the right information. We got more information from him than anyone else, which made us all the more prepared for our big adventure. The bed and breakfast was our first stay in Costa Rica. It was lovely and colourful with animals and beautiful flowers in the courtyard. The rooms were nice and cosy and the beds very comfortable. I thoroughly recommend Casa Lima, and will definitely stay there when I return to San Jose.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reasonable stay for the money

Posted Feb 13, 2015 on Hotels
Pros: Management was very accommodating and nice. Quiet stay. Clean and comfortable room. Charming outdoor central courtyard with garden and aviary of budgies and finches. Cons: The monkey Kiko was not a happy camper being in a cage so use caution when approaching. Whatever you do don't smile at him or go within two feet of the cage unless Nelson the manager is present. Also avoid crossing the courtyard bridge when wet as very slippery had a crash