Ratings based on 330 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Poor Hotel in a Very Bad Area.

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Booked this hotel near the end of our three week trip to Costa Rica. It was myself and two of my friends. We had recently stayed in Quepos and upon arriving back in San Jose we took a cab from the bus station to this hotel. Our cab driver vehemently advised us to stay somewhere else saying it wasn't safe for three women and was in a very sketchy area of town. On the drive there we were definitely anxious as things started to get worse and worse the closer we got. We decided to give it a shot, stay for one night and then decide if we wanted to stay the second night. We arrived at the hotel and it was very dark in the lobby, which was uncharacteristically weird for a hotel. We checked in, all was fine. We asked about their restaurant, we were told it was closed even though there was a 24 hour sign posted outside. So we asked about nearby places and were told there is lots within walking distance but it wasn't recommended that we walk outside after dark. Unsettled we went to our room and found that our doorknob was hanging off the door and the lock was a barrel bolt latch, yes that is the same lock on a bathroom stall. We asked if there were rooms with different locks, and no they are all the same. The rooms were nothing like the pictures posted and after hearing the really loud arguments outside our window and reading that they turn all the lights off in the building at 8:00pm we decided to go stay at the Holiday Inn near the airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Asistente Gerencia, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Thanks for your comment about our hotel. We will take into account your criticism to improve, regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Great for an overnight in San Jose

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: This hotel is close to all the places in San Jose I need to visit.
Cons: As good as it gets
Location: San Jose de noche.
I booked a standard room with a Fan but required a safety box. Upon my request I got an upgrade to a AC room which are located on the back of the hotel. A much better and quieter room. Thanks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your positive review. We hope to see you soon. Pura Vida
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Decent place to rest your head

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Not in the cleanest or safest part of town, but Was just comfortable enough to stay for the night. Super nice staff and really good breakfast (included)
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by Viviana B. Servicio al Cliente, Hotel Management
Dear guest: We are glad to know that we enjoy our breakfast, which is the typical breakfast of the country. You are welcome again in our hotel. Regards!
5 out of 5
by nancy

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
Location between two of the main bus terminals. - convenient - Staff is great. They provided luggage storage and breakfast to go for an early departure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near buses

Posted May 3, 2017 on Orbitz
The staff are super friendly and helpful (bar, restaurant, housekeeping, manager). It's super close to three bus stations. Walking distance to everything in downtown. Clean, although showing a little wear and tear from age. Great food and bar. Super cold AC. Very hot shower. All around great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Very close to bus station from Puerto Limon

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on CheapTickets
Friendly staff throughout my stay at the hotel. Nice breakfast was included.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is very conveniently located within walking distance of some of the interesting sights of San Jose, as well as the shopping area. The room was quite basic, but comfortable and the shower did have hot water. The breakfast was buffet-style and quite good, the kitchen staff was very helpful and encouraged me to try different dishes. I also had dinner in the restaurant the previous evening, the meal was well prepared and inexpensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic

just right for the price

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: quiet, good breakfast, confortable installation, nice staff
Cons: the bed was ok but kind of hard,
Location: the location is close to the historic part of the city, but in the night is very desolate and kind of dangerous
this is not the best hotel you will ever visit, but is really really really OK for the price. the good: -close to the downtown -confortable room -nice breakfast the bad: -at night the location of the hotel is lonely and dangerous to walk, however, a taxi from the center to the hostel just cost 2 o 3 dollars -the bed is ok but kind of hard an important advice: they have rooms next to the street that are noisy in the morning, but also have rooms in the back side where in won't hear the noise from the street, ask from a room in the back side
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CR

Hotel in city overrated

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on CheapTickets
The hotel would have been fine if it was advertised as a cheap b&b but for the price range they advertised it just would not do. The service is great and makes up for a lot but you could see that the rooms where in dire need of some general maintenance, there where no bedside lights in one and in the other room the one that was there didn't work. There where no glasses in the rooms to drink some water not any other basic amenities like shampoo and hand soap. Breakfast was decent but not excellent. The next day we went to a much cheaper place that did have all of the above mentioned. This obviously created quite the contrast. Management would do good to check on way the competition is offering in the same price range.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

IF you need a place to stay

Posted Mar 8, 2017 on CheapTickets
What can I say? It's in San Jose. The staff were incredibly friendly and responsive. I slept fully dressed and showered in shoes. My feet never touched their floors. Too, there's black mold on the ceiling in the shower. Thankfully my flight was delayed and I only stayed over night.