Ratings based on 486 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Beautiful hotel if you have to stay in San Jose.

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: The clean facilitates
Cons: Restaurant is over priced
Location: We just walked to the store nearby. The airport is convenient. The restaurant nearby are SUPER touristy.
Lovely place. Very beautiful and great gym. The restaurant is over priced but other than that great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good central location.

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Great! Friendly staff. Pool not in service for our entire stay 😖
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I was disappointed the pool was under construction

Posted Mar 30, 2016
The hotel was ok. Nothing major, disappointed the pool was under renovation
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from colorado springs

Avoid outside rooms near freeway

Posted Mar 27, 2016
Pros: Nice room condition
Cons: Soundproofing on outside walls near highway
Location: Mall closely with several restaurants
Outside rooms near the freeway very very noisy, hard to sleep if you like quiet
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was pleasant

Posted Mar 12, 2016
Had a relaxing short stay. Pool was refreshing, although the hot tub was less than hot. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The AC unit struggled to reach a desirable temperature. Overall great stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

non si puo fumare da nessuna parte!!!

Posted Mar 10, 2016
è bello e pulito !! unico difetto che non si fuma da nessuna parte!!! nessuna parte!! assurdo!!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Efficient, courteous, reliable.

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Pros: All services available within the hotel. Restaurant, bar, coffee shop, trip booking, fitness, massage, souvenir shop. And wheelchair accessible.
Location: There are not a lot of actual activities nearby. However, there is an excellent variety of restaurants and a small supermarket right next to the hotel
All staff were cheerful, friendly and efficient. The facilities were kept in great condition, for instance the hot tub was drained and scrubbed daily, pool kept sparkling clean and even the hand rails to the pool polished each morning! We wanted a central Costa Rica venue from which we could explore the central valley and this was a good spot. The trip information desk personnel helped with tour planning and minibuses arrived right at the door at the time requested, then returned us right to the door at the end. City buses can be accessed easily close to the hotel for the 20 to 30 minute ride into San Jose, if you don't want to take the always available hotel taxis. Right next to the hotel is a variety of restaurants from pizza to Chinese to burgers to sushi and our favourite Lapa Rios which specialises in Cost Rica inspired dishes. If you stay at Doubletree, do go over the road to Lapa Rios!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Pretty nice place...

Posted Feb 28, 2016
I stayed at this hotel for one week while in San Jose.. on the whole it was a good experience. although I think it is a bit pricey. Breakfast is not includedin the room price and was $19.00…. there is a nice pool and restaurants within walking distance and a golf course is nearby if you are into that… the biggest drawback for me was it was quite aways from downtown which I like to be near the city and it was a $50.00 roundtrip cab fare everyday… I had a Chicka in my room one night and the $50 visitor fee is a little steep in my opinion….
4 out of 5
by Mats

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 25, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Centreville, VA

Beautiful hotel, over-priced food and drinks

Posted Feb 23, 2016
Pros: The building and grounds were very nice. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Most staff members were very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Decrease food and beverage prices slightly. Don't chase down guests to pay for staff member mistake.
Location: About 15 mins and a $15 cab ride to the airport. Shopping center nearby.
$15 cab ride from the San Jose airport. Friendly staff & warm chocolate chip cookies at check-in. Staff offered to have a boxed breakfast ready for us the next morning since we had to catch a 5:50AM flight & would miss the hotel’s continental breakfast. This is a very nice hotel, however, we felt very nickel-&-dimed. Wi-fi is free in the lobby but $10 to use it in your room, one CAN of Imperial (local beer) is $6, & a glass of house wine (Frontera) is $9. At dinner we ordered 2 cheeseburgers & split a bottle of water. When we received our bill, we noticed that the water was not on the check (the bill was still $35). We assumed the H2O was complimentary. Later that night as we were getting ready for bed, we received a phone call from the server letting us know that we needed to pay for our water. I found this a little annoying but asked him to just add the charge to our room to pay when we checked out. 5 mins later there was a knock on our door & the server was standing there with a credit card machine asking us to pay for our water. My husband stood in the doorway (in his pajamas) & used his CC to pay the $5.50 plus the 10% service charge. We found this very very odd in such a high-end hotel… it was just a bottle of water. When we checked out the next morning, our boxed breakfast was not at the front desk. I asked the staff member about it & he ran down to the kitchen to get them. The breakfast included a yogurt, an apple, & a ham & cheese sandwich.