Ratings based on 275 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new

Hotel in San Jose

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: Everything: the atmosphere, the room, staff, etc.
Cons: Nothing
Location: As I wrote in my summary, there is a bus to the city center located at the front entrance to the hotel (museums, shopping, cafes, etc).
This hotel has it all: lovely, clean rooms and a friendly and helpful staff. In addition the food is good. The hotel,is located very near (about a city block away) an excellent supermarket. I visited the market often during my stay as I wanted bottled water and snacks in my room. Also across the footbridge ( located near the hotel is a large shopping center and a number of good restaurants. A bus to San Jose ( the city center) is also located at the entrance to the hotel. I would not hesitate to stay here on my next stay in Costa Rica.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from p

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Nice and quiet. Good buffet breakfast. Spacious room. Didn't use the pool but looked very nice. About 10 min cab to the airport - 20$
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CLe, OH

Visiting friends and family

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: We have been going to this property for 20 years.The staff, waiters, bar tenders and maintenance people have not changed.They are good honest people.
Cons: How the property is managed. Costa Rica in general is very expensive and they do not know how to do tourism.
Location: This property is close to the city. All tourism activities are at least 1.5 hours away.
We were very disappointed to learn that as we booked this trip through Expedia, the Hilton Honors Award program was not honored. We lost out on the points as well as free in room wifi which the property wanted an additional $10 to turn on. Additionally, we were downgraded in room status meaning that the room was near the highway, noisy, additionally the room was not properly furnished with furniture as there were not table to using when sitting in the only chair.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bucket List Disaster in Costa Rica

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Hotel is walking distance to small mall over a footbridge. Bank located within to exchange currency. Restaurant onsite was okay. Separately, a restaurant (not affiliated with the hotel) is located about a 5 minute walk to the left of the hotel before crossing for the footbridge. WARNING: Longed to go to Costa Rica, but federal police decided I was the perfect target to be racially profiled upon arrival. RAN after me THROUGH THE CROWD passing ALL THE WHITE PEOPLE coming off what was an extremely late flight arrival (I was one of 4 persons of colour on a fully booked flight, and the FIRST of all of them to clear immigration having been seated in first class) to ask me "Why are you here???" and commented about where I was born. Excuse me??? I had A CARRY-ON and my handbag and my itineraries with pre-booked tours for what I'd hoped would be a relaxing and enjoyable New Year's holiday. At one point I told the officer that based on his questions, he wasn't asking for precautionary measures, he was harassing me and it was clear he didn't want me there. At which point he got all flustered. I WAS LIVID. It was a horrifying and humiliating experience. All publicly, BTW, as the passengers walked by gawking in my face. I WILL NEVER RETURN. And I will forever share my experience of this so that any person of colour is prepared. I had heard chatter that Costa Ricans are terribly prejudiced and racist, but I thought it was all paranoia and people being hypersensitive. I was HORRIBLY WRONG.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Miguel Eugene, General Manager, Hotel Management
Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to send us a review. We’re very sorry to hear about the difficult situation that you experienced during your journey through the airport. As you may have noticed, the population of our country is very multicultural, here people of all races live together at peace, reason why we are really surprised to hear about your case and we hope it won’t happen again. We hope you’ll give us another opportunity and visit Costa Rica soon, to provide you with the excellent food, service and hospitality we’re known for. Kind regards, Miguel Eugene
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lexington, KY

Perfect airport area hotel

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Location, appearance, cleanliness, amenities.
Location: Good restaurants!! We felt safe taking a walk in the area.
Hotel is perfectly located 15 minutes from San Jose airport. Staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The hostel itself is beautiful - has a feeling of a resort retreat, right in the hubbub of the city. One of us fully enjoyed the spa services, and we liked the convenience of a contemporary shopping/restaurant center a safe two block walk away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Nice hotel close to airport

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Nice facility & staff
Cons: More restaurants
Location: Mall souvenir shop, Poas volcano 45 min away
Staff was nice and accommodating Poas volcano only 45 min away Surrounded by beautiful mountains
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Good hotel and location

Posted Jan 24, 2017
My wife and I love this hotel and the staff were very helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

cost of meals and service.

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: helpful staff
Cons: Prices on amenities not included in travel arrangements.
Location: visit to Poas volcano, La Paz Waterfall Gardens, Aerenal Volcano, Baldeli Hot Springs, Tortequero National Park, Tabacon Hot Springs, Monteverde.
Meals were very expensive if not included as a package. For example, breakfast was $40.00 US for 2 people buffet style. Did not eat $20 worth. Also, pick up and transfer to airport was $50. Had to wait to be pick up over an hour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from RI

Nice hotel. Extremely clean

Posted Jan 15, 2017
The staff was extremely friendly. I've never been to such a clean hotel. The food was also great. Over all great time and will def go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good. Why breakfast was not available?

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Bad. The room had a bad smell. I will not book it anymore.