Ratings based on 466 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US traveler

Very nice hotel, beautiful garden.

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Literally everything!
Location: Close to airport. Not a lot to do near by, but short walk to grocery for essentials over my stay.
Everyone here is very nice and helpful. There was a problem with my airline so returned and they had a room for me for two more nights. The restaurant here was very good! Presentation was nice, food was excellent, and service delightful. Fifteen minute ride to airport with reasonable price. I had a very early flight and hotel staff took care of everything. I honestly could not have asked for more and would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Very nice hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Cons: There was a leak in the AC but the hotel staff placed us in another room immediately.
My friends and I enjoyed our 3 night stay here. There is a restaurant on site (delicious) and the hotel staff is friendly and goes out of their way to assist guest. If we ever return to Costa Rica, we will be sure to stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Panama City, FL

Close to airport. Safe. Great Breakfast.

Posted Apr 29, 2017
El Rodeo is a nice, quaint place with beautiful grounds within a short cab ride of the airport. The staff spoke great English and the hotel gives a good taste of Costa Rica. The breakfast was wonderful. We were disappointed to miss eating at their restaurant as we only stayed one night after a late flight and headed to the Pacific coast the following morning. They provided detailed information about airport transfer and late arrivals which made our arrival to a foreign country less stressful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Authentic, local feel

Posted Apr 16, 2017
The hotel is gated and we arrived late at night but a guard was there to quickly open the door. We only stayed one night since San Jose was not our destination but the hotel has a tennis court, gardens, and a pool. There was a lot of nice areas to sit and drink some wine or just hang out. The room was comfortable with a large bathroom and two double beds. It was air conditioned and even had a microwave and fridge. We had a good continental-like breakfast in the morning with options you could choose from a menu. It was an overall nice stay and I recommend it to people seeking a less commercial type property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Park City, Utah

A little Oasis fairly close to the airport

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Clean, comfortable, large rooms. Good food. Friendly front desk.
Cons: Would be great if they had a shuttle to and from the airport. A cab was $17US back to the airport.
Location: Fairly close to airport. Everything you need is onsite.
Just had a one night stay on our last night in Costa Rica. The room was very large and comfortable. Easy check in. Breakfast was included and was very nice. Coffee, fruit, cereal on a buffet and a menu to choose a hot meal from. There is a Steak house attached to the hotel. We ate there the night we arrived and the meal was excellent. Tender steak and very generous portions. I would happily stay at this hotel again on my way to or from the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Bay, Ontario

Nice hotel with a great restaurant

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: The hotel had nice grounds, large rooms and a nice shower.
Cons: The air conditioning unit rattled everytime it came on.
Location: With a guard at the entrance we didn't venture outside of the gated walls.
We stayed at El Rodeo on our last night in Costa Rica before departing on an early morning flight. We felt safe and enjoyed dinner at the restaurant with attentive staff. The taxi to the airport was $17US.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alberta canada

The staff is fantastic !

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Clean , staff , open spaces to sit and enjoy the weather
Location: Close to the airport
The staff are a 11 out of 10. My only suggestion for the hotel is if they are not full they should consider moving guests apart. We had someone above us who had an earlier flight than us and we were woke up in the middle of the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Nice Hotel close to San Jose International airport

Posted Mar 30, 2017
We stayed just one night in this hotel. The staff was friendly and my teenage kids had a good time to play the pool table. The hotel gave us the packed snacks to go as we could not have our breakfast in the hotel. ( Our flight was leaving early morning on the next day.) The both room & bathroom was very nice, clean and spacious. We loved it. I wish they had a free shuttle bus to the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

A little worn, but nice property

Posted Mar 25, 2017
This hotel was supposedly close to the airport, but in reality it is about 20 minutes away from the San Jose international airport. It's a nice property that it showing its age. Rooms are clean and spacious. Beds are comfortable; TV, however is smaller than my computer monitor. The best part of the hotel is the steak house that sits right on the property. This was the best meal I had in Costa Rica. I would high recommend the El Rodeo steakhouse and seeing as how it is a 2 minute walk away from your room, it is really convenient. Overall, this is a good value for the price but by the time you add in the $34US for the taxi service to and from the airport, it gets a little diminished.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC

Unique, clean hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Although only an overnight stay, I found this hotel to be very unique in its decor and amenities. the staff was all very helpful and friendly. There is not much within walking distance but it is nice and close to the airport for an easy commute.