Ratings based on 392 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to the airport

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: the proximity to the airport
We spent one night in this hotel as we were headed for an early flight the next morning. The hotel must have been a very good one when it was new but it seemed very tired when we visited. The pool seemed dirty and the rooms smelled. The bathroom didn't seem clean and it smelled when the door was opened. When we got in the room they said they wanted to charge us $20 for each of our 2 kids. When we told them that none of us would eat breakfast as we were leaving for the airport they didn't push more.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

A wonderful discovery in San Jose, Costa Rica...

Posted Aug 31, 2016
El Rodeo was a wonderful discovery for my wife and I as we were visiting Costa Rica. It was the perfect hotel for us to spend a relaxing and pleasant day before traveling home to the states. I'm old. There's noting wrong with me. El Rodeo is an older property and there's nothing wrong with it. The staff have paid attention to updating and keeping the hotel current, clean, and pleasant. There were a few families visiting that took advantage of the pool table and football tables, but they should. That being said, our room was directly across from those games. Around 9PM the noise subsided and all was quiet at this quaint hotel. If you get a chance go to the restaurant for a tasty meal. I had the Tejano Fajitas. Being from Texas I've never tasted any fajitas like these. My wife and I enjoyed every bite. Then we shared the apple pie a la mode. Get it!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel tranquilo y agradable

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Habitación muy amplia
Location: La ubicación no está en una zona muy recomendable, ya que todo San José y alrededores no tienen muy buena fama, pero es un hotel que est
El hotel es limpio y tiene una zona de aparcamiento muy amplia.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Traditionelles Hotel in Flughafennähe

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Wir trafen um 21:30 Uhr ein - reception ist 24h besetzt - leider war die Bar schon geschlossen. Das Früstück ist landestypisch aber für ein 3-4 Sterne Haus zu einfach (kein Müsli, Wurst / Käse).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nuevo Arenal, CR

Just an overnight trip.

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: It's a charming, quiet place. The staff is friendly. We felt safe.
Cons: The traffic is awful, but it's being improved with the addition of stop lights being installed.
Location: Shopping is close by.
Would love to stay longer. We didn't get much of a chance to use the facilities and look forward to coming back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Excelente servicio, comida deliciosa, un lugar tranquilo para descansar.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Affordable luxury

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Enjoyed the sauna, pool and workout room. Beautifully decorated. Wonderful restaurant on the grounds.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bueno pero exterior malo

Posted Aug 18, 2016
El hotel es bueno pero el entorno callejero exterior es peligroso
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Hidden Gem in the City

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Great spot if you want a little privacy in the city. It has a beautiful tropical atmosphere while being somewhat hidden in the city. The receptionist was over the top helpful in assisting us with tours, taxis and helping us check in on our flight.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to SJO airport

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: The comfort and beauty of the property,, along with the proximity to the airport
Location: There are several stores nearby but not exactly the best area for walking
The grounds for the hotel were great, there were many amenities such as tennis courts, pool, pool table, etc... they serve a nice breakfast also. I felt very safe and it was a short drive to the airport (but there was no complimentary shuttle). The rooms were very comfortable and would definitely stay here again.