Ratings based on 432 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Nice Hotel close to San Jose International airport

Posted Mar 30, 2017
We stayed just one night in this hotel. The staff was friendly and my teenage kids had a good time to play the pool table. The hotel gave us the packed snacks to go as we could not have our breakfast in the hotel. ( Our flight was leaving early morning on the next day.) The both room & bathroom was very nice, clean and spacious. We loved it. I wish they had a free shuttle bus to the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

A little worn, but nice property

Posted Mar 25, 2017
This hotel was supposedly close to the airport, but in reality it is about 20 minutes away from the San Jose international airport. It's a nice property that it showing its age. Rooms are clean and spacious. Beds are comfortable; TV, however is smaller than my computer monitor. The best part of the hotel is the steak house that sits right on the property. This was the best meal I had in Costa Rica. I would high recommend the El Rodeo steakhouse and seeing as how it is a 2 minute walk away from your room, it is really convenient. Overall, this is a good value for the price but by the time you add in the $34US for the taxi service to and from the airport, it gets a little diminished.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC

Unique, clean hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Although only an overnight stay, I found this hotel to be very unique in its decor and amenities. the staff was all very helpful and friendly. There is not much within walking distance but it is nice and close to the airport for an easy commute.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Augusta, GA

Nice Hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Nice hotel with large rooms. The staff was accommodating. Traveled as a family of 3 and stayed 1 night on the return end of our Costa Rica vacation. The hotel is in a guarded compound and located a few miles from the airport. We ate dinner at the steak restaurant on the property. We also took advantage of the included breakfast buffet. Both meals were very good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Older musty hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Staff were great, efficient, and friendly. The hotel grounds were beautiful and peaceful. The room, not so much. Creaky wood floor, rough sheets, and a musty smell. The air conditioner never got the room cool. It was mounted high on the wall, and spit condensation on me as I tried to sleep. Just old and in need of updating. I was hoping for better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel, Hotel Management
Our hotel is characterized for being an "hacienda" like hotel, so its a little rustic, we try to replace the impersonal atmosphere of hotel chains with Costa Rican charming warmth. We're very sorry it wasn't a pleasurable experience for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The staff let me in before check in time like it

Posted Mar 16, 2017
The staff let me in before check in time and that what awesome thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

For the price, and close to the airport, is great.

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Quiet, amenities, close to airport, and reasonably priced.
Cons: Front desk staff was a little standoffish... not rude, just not warm/friendly/inviting.
Location: Location was good (10 mins to airport)... there's a few hotels closer, but they are more expensive and/or noisier. Large grounds to explore.
Just had a short overnight stay for an early flight, so didn't get to check out most of the facilities... we ate at the restaurant which was pretty good, and played a bit at the playground outside the restaurant with our kids (great for after a day cooped up on a shuttle). We did not check out the pool, gym, or foosball / pool tables.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Zero complaints

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Gorgeous hotel with very friendly staff, would definitely stay here again. Close to the airport and the restaurant is excellent. Only complaint is no atm on site, minor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wish we had longer stay

Posted Feb 26, 2017
We stayed overnight for an early flight the next morning. I wish we had arrived earlier to enjoy the pool and surroundings. We ate the steakhouse--delicious!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Nice hotel great staff but

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: nice and clean, well maintained and a great staff
Cons: would be perfect if it was closer to anything
Location: There is virtually nothing to do nearby. It is a $25 cab ride into San Jose
This is a lovely small hotel, with really nice rooms and a great staff but; it is a long way from any sort of restaurants, bars or shopping. It costs us $50 in cab fares to get into San Jose to see anything. A great stop over hotel but would not recommend an extended stay