Ratings based on 669 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Elena from Ciudad de México

Posted Mar 11, 2016 on Hotels
Todo bien, solo tiene que están reparando la tubería del agua caliente y tarda mucho en salir.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nuits à SAN JOSE

Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
Une journée détente avec visite de musée et découverte du centre ville, de ses boutiques, de ses églises et de la vie des costaricains avec leurs multiples métiers liés au commerce
3 out of 5
by Lars from Kalmar

Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
Dyrt I restaurangen
2 out of 5
by Maurice A from Kenedy, Texas

Outrageous Rates

Posted Mar 8, 2016 on Hotels
Mostly good, however, we had three small bags of laundry for which the hotel charged me $242.00 US. This rate was highway robbery. As a result we will not stay at the Gran Hotel Costa Rica in the future nor will we recommend your hotel.
4 out of 5
by Christine from Lancaster pa

Quaint

Posted Mar 8, 2016 on Hotels
A great hotel which needs lots of renovation but it is located in the center of the city!
3 out of 5
by Carl from Connecticut

Retired school administrator

Posted Mar 7, 2016 on Hotels
Great visit I was able to achieve my goal I also was able to walk to the market and stores
4 out of 5
by Jens from Copenhagen

Historic Hotel, right in the center of San Jose.

Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Hotels
Historic Hotel, right in the center of San Jose. Very friendly and service minded personel. Very satisfied with the stay, although the hotel has seen better days.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Time for a change of ownership

Posted Mar 5, 2016
Light did not work. Refrigerator didn't work. One small bar of soap. Untrained staff in breakfast area. Room needs total remodeling.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel vieillot. Cafard dans le frigo !!!

Posted Mar 5, 2016
Le seul hotel du Costa Rica qui n'a pas voulu qu'on le paie en monnaie locale !!! Pratique quand on a prevu de donner ses derniers colones avant de partir pour l'aeroport... Fenetres ne se fermant plus donnant sur une aeration bruyante...
3 out of 5
by Lars from Lund

Posted Mar 3, 2016 on Hotels
Vi bodde i två olika rum. Det ena var ofrächt, det hade fönster mot teatertorget, där var mycket störande ljud. Det andra var frächt och tyst.