Ratings based on 669 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Michael from New York

Not so grand anymore.

Posted Feb 27, 2016 on Hotels
A once Grand hotel, not so grand anymore. The service mediocre at best and the over all condition of the hotel isn't what I expected having read the reviews. Disappointing stay overall. The area is very good however being centrally located.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2016
Pros: its location
i have stayed at this hotel many times.Over all i really like its location and it has a good atmosphere. Restuarant is very expensive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Panama

Disappointing

Posted Feb 23, 2016
Pros: The very attentive service we received from the staff at the hotel.
Cons: A lot of things need to be improved, mostly in its infrastructure. Wifi was also terrible.
Location: It is located right in the city center, this means you can walk anywhere or find any other means of transportation easily.
The only two good thing about this hotel is, its location and staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

Hotel Review

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Pros: I like the location but my room has no hot water and is dirty.
I like the location but my room has no hot water and is dirty.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Looks nice from the outside, but inside is very dated. No hot water in our shower. Staff booked our morning cab for the wrong time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Perfect location

Posted Feb 19, 2016
It is located in the very heart of San José, the capital of Cost Rica, during the day you can walk to any attraction in downtown, at night it is not recommend to walk alone neither too late since area is too dangerous. Receptionists should be well trained in also welcoming nationals as clients were potentially are and not look at nationals as I was looked, like: what are you doing here? Breakfast was awesome, great variety of food and nice location on 5ft floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Downtown hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2016
This is a nice very old hotel. Nice location in the middle of everything. Room was small and had no view but was clean with endless hot water. If your just in San Jose for a day and want to see more of the city then just your room. This is your place. I thought it was a good value for what we paid
5 out of 5
by James

Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Hotels
Great place for the buck! I'll stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic hotel with lots of charm.

Posted Feb 14, 2016
Pros: Historic building
Location: Wandered the city.
Centrally located old world hotel. We enjoyed our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Central

Posted Feb 13, 2016
Excellent location center of city next to national theater. Older hotel that was " the hotel" in its day. Still offers old school charm , nice outdoor patio overlooking central square and excellent location for strolling the inner city safely. Most hotels with comparable amenities are located im areas where walking to the center would not be recommended.