Ratings based on 669 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

Convenient location

Posted Mar 24, 2016
Pros: The ideal location and old-world atmosphere.
Cons: The towels in the bathroom were very thin.
Location: The hotel is opposite the National Theatre and is within easy walking distance of major points of interest.
The hotel has an old-world charm and is centrally located. The staff are friendly and courteous. Although dated, the rooms are comfortable and clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Gran Hotel not so Gran. It has lost its charm...

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Pros: Location next to the Teatro Nacional
Cons: Evrything
Location: Excellent location for a great historical building. The staff knowing that it is closing have lost interest in it and are fearful for their future.
The location is excellent. I think the fact that it will be closing down for a year should be noted. The clients should be advised. It is in disrepair, very old and has not been upkept. It is not the staff's fault but that of management. The hotel should be closed and the potential clients advised that Hilton will be reopening it in 2017. It has a lot of potential to beome a grand hotel again. Please, put the ailing hotel to rest for now, reduce its suffering until it has been renovated by Hilton.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Small, uncomfortable.

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Old. Small rooms and no air conditioning. Mattress was very uncomfortable and we slept poorly. Attached restaurant seemed the only decent place in the area to eat but expensive which is surprising given the quality of the hotel. Queen bed promised in the standard room is actually a double. Free parking available with room. Nice staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Varies a lot, USA

Its Glory Days are Gone

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Pros: The history of the hotel and its central location.
Cons: The front desk staff. The two young men working were not friendly, acted rather arrogant and would offer no useful help when asked a question.
Location: The hotel is directly across from the National Theater of Costa Rica and the Pre-Columbian Gold Museum. The plaza is busy and bustling all day.
This was my first time coming to San Jose. I decided to book this hotel because of its history and central location to so many points of interest. Sadly, from the unfriendly and unhelpful two men working the front desk, to the lack of upkeep and general care taking of Gran Hotel Costa Rica, this property has seen much better days. The room was "okay" but nothing special. The safe provided in the room was not bolted down to anything, so that unsettling. The bed was comfortable and the tub and shower worked well. However, everything was more or less not well cared for and/or outdated. The history behind the hotel was an intriguing aspect to stay here. The original furniture that John F. Kennedy had in his hotel room is in the lobby of the hotel - available for anyone to sit on and relax. The location of the hotel was also a huge selling point. The hotel also offers a free breakfast that was very good, for Costa Rican food anyway. (After being in Mexico for four months prior to arriving in Costa Rica, the cuisine of Costa Rica is pretty boring in comparison.) Overall, a less than enjoyable experience and a disappointment to see a historic piece of Costa Rican history go to waste.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel has a good location and good restaurant

Posted Mar 12, 2016
Hotel is located a walking distance from stores, restaurants and some points of interest. The food at the hotel's restaurant is really good.
2 out of 5
by Maurice A from Kenedy, Texas

Outrageous Rates

Posted Mar 8, 2016 on Hotels
Mostly good, however, we had three small bags of laundry for which the hotel charged me $242.00 US. This rate was highway robbery. As a result we will not stay at the Gran Hotel Costa Rica in the future nor will we recommend your hotel.
4 out of 5
by Christine from Lancaster pa

Quaint

Posted Mar 8, 2016 on Hotels
A great hotel which needs lots of renovation but it is located in the center of the city!
3 out of 5
by Carl from Connecticut

Retired school administrator

Posted Mar 7, 2016 on Hotels
Great visit I was able to achieve my goal I also was able to walk to the market and stores
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Time for a change of ownership

Posted Mar 5, 2016
Light did not work. Refrigerator didn't work. One small bar of soap. Untrained staff in breakfast area. Room needs total remodeling.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

No Room

Posted Mar 1, 2016
Location: 85 years old hotel, the room price needs lower.
My fright arrived 1:15pm, till to 3:35pm can not check in, I need kept the luggage in hotel and went out.