Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Dakota

So close

Posted Jun 30, 2016
So close to being a great hotel. The beds and the bedding were the worst.
3 out of 5
by Rosalind from Huddersfield

Very Pleasant

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
El Dorado is a very pleasant budget hotel, and whilst the rooms are simple and basic, they are clean, bright and pleasant. The buffet breakfast, again is simple, but kept well stocked and fresh. Overall, for the price, we couldn't fault it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California, USA

Great place to enjoy this secluded beach town

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Spaciousness, free breakfast, cable TV, in-room safe, priceless view of the beach/harbor, smiley and efficient staff.
Cons: Include an alarm clock in the room. The front desk isn't open 24 hrs/day. Replenish bathroom soap/gel when one stays for 5 nights in a row.
Location: Sign up for guided tours of Bahia de Gata and other nearby natural, spectacular attractions. The local beach is a short walk away w/ clear warm water.
It is best to rent a car (e.g., in Almeria) to reach this secluded town rather than rely on (limited) public transportation. If you are on the top floor, and arrive by car: hope to get one of the handful of parking spots on the back/top of the hotel. Otherwise, be prepared to climb 102 steps (yes, I counted them) from the sidewalk to the top floor, which may be challenging if you are carrying heavy luggage. More than just a room, what I got felt more like a small apartment, except that there was no kitchen. The balcony with patio furniture had a priceless view of the beach. My main bedroom was spacious, had cable t.v. and air conditioning. I had a mini-fridge and an in-room safe. There was an entire (small) bedroom with bunk beds that I never even entered. There is a pool. There is a restaurant. I don't understand why this place is classified as a hostAl rather than a full-fledged hotEl. The front desk staff seem happy to help with any and all questions you might have. My stay included a free breakfast that is plentiful (cold cuts, cheese, bread, pastries, cereal, coffee, tea, fruit, juices... all very tasty). I will absolutely return to this hotel/hostal whenever I get the chance, and will recommend it strongly to my friends, family, and anyone else interested in my opinion. :-).
5 out of 5
by pablo from Berkeley, California

great time and relaxation

Posted Jul 5, 2015 on Hotels
Hostel El Dorado is a wonderful place to get away from the large cities of Spain. It is situated on a hill, two blocks from the center of town and overlooking the San Jose cove. Most of the rooms have a patio and they are well kept. The pool is small but you can enjoy it after a long day at the beach. We recommend Genovese and the other beaches that are right up the street from the hostel. You can get there by bus or if you have a car, please be careful with the road, since it is mostly an unpaved road. There is complete silence and relaxation at the hostel. Very nice to just listen to the waves and not hear all the cars and people of the city. Highly recommend. If you are coming as a couple, the restaurant downstairs is great for couples, overlooking the town and moon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Has children's play area

Posted Aug 7, 2013
We were quite happy with our stay in this Hotel. We were surprised by the kids play area which was a real bonus. Although the pool was a little small. Great view over the town and a little cooler because it is on a hill. Our booking form said we would have a balcony but we didn't get one. Our room was clean and quiet though. Overall a great little hotel for a short break or, as we did, an overnight on the way to somewhere else.
5 out of 5
by I.C. from Ireland

Posted Jun 1, 2013 on Hotels
Superb value-for-money package in this quiet, bleak, beautiful location.
5 out of 5
by J A Gibson from USA

Great Views.

Posted May 15, 2013 on Hotels
Ten minute walk from the harbour, up the hillside with very nice views. Most (all?) rooms have a balcony. Lots of steps in the hotel with no elevator but you can park just above it and then walk down. Very pretty, clean, helpful staff and good breakfast. Easy to find.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Abanicos from Spain

Excellent

Posted Jun 6, 2012
Pros: The comfortable room and the cleanliness
Cons: Pool area
Location: Not suitable for the disable, a lot of steps
Stayed here in June of this year with two friends. Hotel is in super position although it is elevated and not suitable for anyone who cant climb stairs. Our apartment had 104 steps up to it and we had to do this 3 times a day. The views are lovely, the hotel is clean and very comfortable and the rooms are very good. The bed was extremely comfortable and the breakfast was adequate. The only gripe was that the pool didnt seem to be cleaned on a regular basis as leaves were accumulating. All in all, great hotel and would stay again but request a room on the low floor.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pueblo tranquilo

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
Excelentes vistas , playa tranquila y comoda. Habitacion algo vieja y sin wifi,incluso en recepcion iba mal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PR

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Buena ubicación. Sitio tranquilo y a pocos minutos caminando de la playa, del centro y del puerto deportivo.