Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Very convenient for airport

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Bar nicely situated with good city views. Free coffee nice. Very comfy beds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

good for an overnight

Posted Feb 23, 2017
we have stayed here before- coming and going in our trip. It is clean and basic. Convenient to the airport. Good value for the money. nothing fancy. The rooftop bar has a wonderful view but service is very slow
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

New low standard of filth, poor service and value

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: For teaching a seasoned world traveler (with low standards) how bad a hostel / hotel can really be!
Cons: Could clean, sweep, provide soap, provide AC as promised, dust, change sheets!
Location: Near central Alajuela, but stay anywhere else. Run away now, really fast. Don't even think of booking this Hostel.
Stayed Aug 2016. Avoid this Hostel at all cost. The management photos are of the previous hotel at this location and do not represent what you get. The facilities were filthy, uncleaned, and level 3 bio hazard. The staff didn't even try to provide service. Online reservations were not received or just not honored. Floors in rooms had dust bunnies of others filth and hadn't been swept in a very long time and hadn't been mopped in the last decade. The furniture had a layer of dust you could right your name in. AC was promised but upon arrival the remotes/controls were nonexistent and we were told all ACs are automatic, which was an utter lie, it never worked. No fans provided. Linens and sheets were obviously soiled, stained and never washed. Towels and soap were not provided even for "private, in suite rooms". To add to the pain no windows had screens, and the bus station next door creates super street noise. Told by staff to smoke in the park across the street, which is illegal and could result in a fine or uncomfortable interaction with the local police. The common areas were worse than the rooms with sticky uncleaned surfaces and trash literately swept into the corners. One of the worst values in Alajuela and a top contender for the worst hotel/hostel I've ever stayed at. The hostel sets a new standard for filth and poor service. It would probably be better to sleep on the street. Not even the architecturally interesting building, 4th floor bar and central location could bu
5 out of 5
by Michael from Long Beach, California

Great Stay

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
Just one night on my way out of town. But I will use this hostel again as it is convenient to the airport, located in a very safe neighborhood with convenient shopping and dining within walking distance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
Great cheap place to stay without having to go full dorm style hostel of you don't want. Located close to buses. Be aware - shuttle service is limited and fills up regularly. Recommended for budget travelers who want a social environment
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value but still a hostel

Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
Good value for a room, close to the airport but the street is load and busy and the place is still a hostel at the end of the day. Friendly staff, just wish people weren't honking their horns so much at 2-4 am.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Very nice hostel, close to the airport and food

Posted Oct 12, 2015
We stayed a night at the hostel, and we'll be having a second night there soon. Very clean, and friendly staff. Nothing too fancy but had fast free Internet and a 24 hour desk person. The only issue we had was the door was a bit finicky and our room didn't have toilet paper, certainly not deal beakers. Looking forward to staying again soon
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Not a good hostel to stay

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: Staff was very friendly
Cons: Hostel need a renovation
The Bathroom was in a really bad condition. For the same price you can have a much better bed and room with breakfast included in a hotel a few blocks near the central park. The pictures in the web page did not show the real hotel conditions. Very noisy hostel.