Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Jane

Good for short stays

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was terrific and very helpful. They also offer airport shuttle service, which was very handy, especially at 6 am! The main rooms are lovely and very comfortable. We had a good selection of various free breakfasts (not offered with dorm rooms) and the coffee was fantastic! Our room had a shared bathroom, which was essentially a line of sinks in the hall, with toilets and showers separate. I had no problem with the cleanliness of the bathrooms or our room. Our room (109) had no windows, which we were aware of when booking, but the a/c worked great as did the big screen TV. We had a queen sized bed and two bunk beds, which we used as luggage storage. Overall, it was a pleasant experience, but the private rooms could use a coat of paint and some patching on the walls. No quite shabby, but approaching it. And the lighting could be improved--warmer lighting and more wattage would make a big difference. However, the bedding was changed every day and the room was insect free. For the price, and for short stays, it's a good place to stay. I recommend Room 109 as it's away from the noise and close to the bathrooms. There are two creaky wooden steps leading up to the door, so if you walk in your sleep, this is probably not the room for you!
4 out of 5
by Mark

Better than usual hostel

Posted Aug 6, 2017 on Hotels
Good place to sleep. Neighborhood is safe and plenty of dining options nearby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

i know now why i have never stayed in a hostel

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: staff was good
Cons: more comfortable beds, reasonable prices for private rooms
Location: none
sleeping in a 15 x 15 space with 5 other people equals no sleep...never again...
4 out of 5
by Johann

Excellent location to catch the TICA Bus

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
Casa Colon is what it says - a Hostel type of accomodation. It has a good restaurant attached for food and drink in house.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Casa Colon, Hotel Management
We really aprecciate your comment, hope to see you the next time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Great hotel for temporary stay

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Location: Location was very central. Paseo Colon, Calle 24 Norte, San Jose, 1255 Costa Rica La Sabana, Museo Nacional, Teatro Nacional, Av. Central, sodas
You meet interesting people in this hotel. My friend and I stayed for a night to tour San Jose. Location is perfectly central to all attractions and on a major avenue, so it was safe to walk back at night. We had a shared bathroom so it was slightly inconvenient but great value for price paid. Facilities are all functioning. Bathroom stalls are just a bit too small. But in general, satisfactory. Rooms could be cleaner but overall, hostel was comfortable, old-fashion styled, and comes with continental breakfast. I do have say though that the layout of the hostel is weird. In order to get to our rooms, we had to zip zag past a restaurant and bar. WiFI was only working in the common areas. Bar guests could use the public bathrooms/sinks too, which was a surprise to us. Hostel staff was very friendly. Friend and I had to print boarding passes for our outgoing flight and we urgently looked of a printer. The reception was nice and let us use their desktop. Overall, we (2 girls) felt safe and welcomed at the hostel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tomah, WI

Shuttle service

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: We liked the convenience to the bus stations.
Cons: It could be a little cleaner.
Location: The hostel was just an overnight stop for us. We got in too late to travel further, so a convenient layover.
It was great to be met by a driver and taken to the hostel. We had heard the big bridge is under construction and it can be very expensive to get to MEPE from the airport. We were charged a flat rate of $30.00 for 2 people. The shower area could use a little cleaning. The staff were very helpful with directions and what to do and what not. teri
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Worthing

Nice place with friendly, helpful staff

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: The building had some character, and staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and clean, and food was spot on.
Cons: Female toilet was cramped.
Location: Big park only a 5 minute walk away.
All we needed for our night in San Jose. The building had some character, and staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and clean, and food was spot on. Would chose this place again if I was staying in San Jose.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
Too expensive for the room!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Convienent spot, great staff

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Awesome staff and cool building. Bathrooms were a bit small. I rented a private room for I was getting up early for a flight and wanted quiet, which ended up not working because my room was right above the shared bathroom sinks and was quite noisy all night. Also very low lighting in the room and no windows.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Cheap and Cheerful

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Location, staff. Older hotel so well known.
Cons: It is an older hotel. I think they are doing good job within the challenges an older building brings.
Location: Most tourist spots, museums, theatre are downtown, an easy bus ride or taxi away. There are numerous restaurants in the area, many walking distance
This hostel/hotel is not for everyone, especially those who are shy or want privacy. While there are some rooms with private bath, most rooms and hostel use dormitory style bathrooms: one for women, one for men but also open to the public who are customers of the bar and restaurant on the 1st floor. On the second floor: Dormitory style Bathroom is shared by men and women but only for those staying at the hotel. There is also a nice outdoor deck from the 2nd floor for drinking morning coffee or working on the laptop on those sunny days. The winner here is the staff. The cleaning crew kept bathrooms very clean so it didn't bother me that the facilities were shared with staff and some times, the public, on the 1st floor where I stayed. The receptionists were very helpful, the breakfast substantial enough to start the day and offered some varied choices. The location and price made it possible for me to partake of other Costa Rican tours and entertainment.