Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Great hotel for temporary stay

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Location: Location was very central. Paseo Colon, Calle 24 Norte, San Jose, 1255 Costa Rica La Sabana, Museo Nacional, Teatro Nacional, Av. Central, sodas
You meet interesting people in this hotel. My friend and I stayed for a night to tour San Jose. Location is perfectly central to all attractions and on a major avenue, so it was safe to walk back at night. We had a shared bathroom so it was slightly inconvenient but great value for price paid. Facilities are all functioning. Bathroom stalls are just a bit too small. But in general, satisfactory. Rooms could be cleaner but overall, hostel was comfortable, old-fashion styled, and comes with continental breakfast. I do have say though that the layout of the hostel is weird. In order to get to our rooms, we had to zip zag past a restaurant and bar. WiFI was only working in the common areas. Bar guests could use the public bathrooms/sinks too, which was a surprise to us. Hostel staff was very friendly. Friend and I had to print boarding passes for our outgoing flight and we urgently looked of a printer. The reception was nice and let us use their desktop. Overall, we (2 girls) felt safe and welcomed at the hostel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tomah, WI

Shuttle service

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: We liked the convenience to the bus stations.
Cons: It could be a little cleaner.
Location: The hostel was just an overnight stop for us. We got in too late to travel further, so a convenient layover.
It was great to be met by a driver and taken to the hostel. We had heard the big bridge is under construction and it can be very expensive to get to MEPE from the airport. We were charged a flat rate of $30.00 for 2 people. The shower area could use a little cleaning. The staff were very helpful with directions and what to do and what not. teri
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Worthing

Nice place with friendly, helpful staff

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: The building had some character, and staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and clean, and food was spot on.
Cons: Female toilet was cramped.
Location: Big park only a 5 minute walk away.
All we needed for our night in San Jose. The building had some character, and staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and clean, and food was spot on. Would chose this place again if I was staying in San Jose.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
Too expensive for the room!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Convienent spot, great staff

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Awesome staff and cool building. Bathrooms were a bit small. I rented a private room for I was getting up early for a flight and wanted quiet, which ended up not working because my room was right above the shared bathroom sinks and was quite noisy all night. Also very low lighting in the room and no windows.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Cheap and Cheerful

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Location, staff. Older hotel so well known.
Cons: It is an older hotel. I think they are doing good job within the challenges an older building brings.
Location: Most tourist spots, museums, theatre are downtown, an easy bus ride or taxi away. There are numerous restaurants in the area, many walking distance
This hostel/hotel is not for everyone, especially those who are shy or want privacy. While there are some rooms with private bath, most rooms and hostel use dormitory style bathrooms: one for women, one for men but also open to the public who are customers of the bar and restaurant on the 1st floor. On the second floor: Dormitory style Bathroom is shared by men and women but only for those staying at the hotel. There is also a nice outdoor deck from the 2nd floor for drinking morning coffee or working on the laptop on those sunny days. The winner here is the staff. The cleaning crew kept bathrooms very clean so it didn't bother me that the facilities were shared with staff and some times, the public, on the 1st floor where I stayed. The receptionists were very helpful, the breakfast substantial enough to start the day and offered some varied choices. The location and price made it possible for me to partake of other Costa Rican tours and entertainment.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2016
Stayed there for one night. Only have three spaces for parking . If you are on a budget this is the location to book- you get what you pay for (don't expect more)
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2016 by Frontdesk, Hotel Management
Thanks for your comments. Best regards.
3 out of 5
by Eric from Houston

Don't use their "shuttle service"

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
This hostel has a great location and the staff is friendly! They have free wifi and a nice little restaurant with patio. The only negative thing we experienced was their advertised "shuttle service". Turns out they don't have a shuttle and they sent a taxi to pick us up from the airport which we had to pay ourselves (it was $30!).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Lovely Hostel, reached by bus from Alajuela/airpor

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Pros: Location, cleanliness, staff was nice, cost was good, TV in room
Cons: Wifi in rooms would be nice
Location: The largest urban park in San Jose is to the West and could be easily accessed on foot. There are some restaurants on the block. Tica bus is nearby.
This is a gorgeous hostel, and the rooms were very clean and large. They are very concerned with efficient use of resources (water, electricity, etc), so this is a good option for people also concerned about that when traveling. The Station Wagon bus to San Jose from Alajuela and the airport goes right by this, so it is possible to reach this easily by bus by getting off across the street (Parada Torre Mercedes). The people at the front desk were not all totally fluent in English, but we had no problems checking in. There was some confusion about whether we had already paid, so it is advisable to have an extra copy of your confirmation to show you paid Expedia to give to them. Wifi does not work well in rooms, but the common TV area is comfy and people will talk to you if you appear interested in conversation but otherwise will leave you be.