Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Steven

Great stay at perfect location

Posted Aug 6, 2017 on Hotels
My second stay here and this place is great. Perfect location, some noise from train close to hotel, but ok because it does stop. overnight. Many restaurants, good cooked breakfast and nice people. great part of town and close to everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017
Thanks so much and best regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great area, small rooms, good value

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
The location was perfect with a lot of fun restaurants within walking distance. The staff went out of their way to help us and resolve the issue of not giving us enough beds for our reservation. I do think breakfast should be included. We had to pay extra for breakfast and then they ran out and we had to buy breakfast again at another location. We were there for a work event, so our main purpose was to sleep there. There was not a usable safe in our room, but I felt the hotel itself was very secure. I would not want to hang out long in the small rooms, but it served our purpose and the price was good for what we got.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017
Thanks for your feed back, we appreciate. Excuse us, the time out for breakfast alwais is 10:00 am., all days 6:30am to 10:00am. Please print this answer or take an screen shot for a free special breakfast next time you come. Att Juan Coto. Thanks and best regards.
4 out of 5
by Erika

Unfriendly owner

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
I had the pleasure to meet the owners and Maritzza was an Angel but her husband is not nice at all and for that reason provably will not stay there and will not recommend this hotel, Zoila and Jorge were very nice people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017
Excuse us, normally Marissa's husband is not in the Hotel, He is an elderly man.
4 out of 5
by Stephanie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a safe area of the city.

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: The structure of the property.
Location: Good restaurants around the area.
This trip was a vacation and stayed at this hotel on our last night in San Jose before returning back home. Great restaurants within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Friendly staff. Good location to the attractions. Good breakfast at a reasonable rate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small hotel with great staff

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Great Staff, very safe and close to many nice restaurants.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to many nice restaurants, but too far out of city center for me
Hotel 1492 is a nice place to stay with great staff. Rooms are small but quite nice. Very good price!! It is a bit far out to walk places, but with Uber or their cab connection, easy to get wherever you want to go.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2016
We stayed only a night and it was very loud: there is the train just behind the hotel. There are lot of restaurants and bars around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for the price

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Cons: Don't use expedia.once they have your cc number they'r impossible to deal with
good location for restaurants,a little far but walking distance to center of town
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fine traditonal and great value.

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly. Train made some noise. Shower was not working but they fixed it. They are replcing old small TV's soon.