Ratings based on 309 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gadsden, AL

Best hotel ever.

Posted Jun 14, 2017
Pros: staff and facility
Location: close to San Rafael and a short drive to San Jose city center. Great grocery stores.
Good food, good drinks, great pool, great botanical garden. It is like staying at the Garden of Eden. I spent 10 days here in June and loved it. Great bed, I requested a bath tub and was upgraded to a garden view unit with a bath tub. I left most days at 9 and came back about 4, and was always greeted with a smile. Most folks didn't stay as long and there were numerous groups, seminars, and events held at this incredible venue. They did not bather me at all. I haven't mentioned the breakfast. Es muy bueno.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Very nice people, the ro was cleaned everyday and things were always stocked. Cozy rooms and a very luxurious facility.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Great gardens first class dining great staff very courteous and classy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on CheapTickets
The hotel is an oasis and a marvelous place to stay. It is like staying in a botanical garden. Food, staff, and surroundings were perfect. Thanks for a wonderful stay. CV
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FLORIDA

beautiful nature hotel over looking the city

Posted Mar 12, 2017
coming to the Bouganvillea for the last 5 years every 6 months,10 acres of beautiful nature gardens,best relaxing atmosphere,greatest staff and service from everybody in the hotel that make you feel like family,excellent food specially breakfast to start your day and the bar to finish your day .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

San Jose Costa Rica

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Awesome place! Wonderful garden, food and people !! Was a place to decompress for me. I was not looking for adventure and nightlife. Simple comfort and a tranquil environment. Just what I got.
5 out of 5
by dorothea

Don't miss this hotel!

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful setting. Helpful people
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2016
With a marvelous breakfast. Mountainview was excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Splendid gardens and pool

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable room. Terrific free breakfast buffet. Absolutely exquisite grounds, gardens, pool and exercise room. There are probably 10 acres of grounds that are available to wander. The hotel is not in walking distance of restaurants and shopping. Rooms facing the street have early morning traffic noise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

Beautiful place, unforgettable botanical garden!

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Location: Very close to San Jose and Heredia, about 25 minutes to the international airport. Convenient to both the city and nearby national parks.
Amazing garden and friendly staff, comfortable room at a reasonable price for our 7 day stay. A little loud on weekday mornings if you like your windows open with a primary school next door that gets started at roughly 0630-0700 and lots of neighborhood dogs barking at random intervals. But the garden is worth it. Food in the restaurant is genuinely excellent, perhaps a little pricey for the region. We would go back.