Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our favorite hotel in CR

Posted Jan 10, 2017
The facility, staff, location and cleanliness made for a wonderful experience. The attention to detail including the Coffee Trail gardens made the stay memorable. Ed tray the owner is a wonderful host who welcomes you into his world and assures your pleasant stay. I will visit again often.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles California

Wonderful hotel, just 20 minutes away from airport

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Villa rooms are extremely spacious with high ceilings, a large balcony and a terrific view. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Features a jungle like short hiking path. Has free transportation from and to the airport. Includes breakfast which is good. Very nice owner who cares about the property. Extremely good deal for the price. Would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Amazing hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: The kindness of the staff!
Cons: It's great just the way it is.
Location: having a cup of coffee first thing in the morning, while sitting in the sun looking at the view of the mountains with the city below.
I can't say enough about how wonderful the staff and hotel are!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Absolutely nice Hotel- close to San Jose

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Beautiful room Wonderful staff Not to far from San José airport Yummy breakfast Great restaurants close to hotel Beautiful view to the city, but middle in the nature
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and quiet stay

Posted Oct 3, 2016
I wasn't so sure about the location of the hotel but my husband and I loved it. The room was very spacious and we had a great view of the volcano. The staff were very nice especially our driver/waiter/tour guide, Diego. My husband and I would definitely come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Breathtaking view!

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Beautiful hotel with immaculate grounds overlooking the city. Wonderful staff and terrific food. Only 35 rooms! Well worth the trip up the mountain but only 20 minutes from the airport and they have a free shuttle. Don't miss this gem!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Smelly room, small room poor breakfast and limited every other is extra.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Grand Terrace, CA

a drive away from the city. make it an adventure

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: simple. nice. the owner is a an old man. and he comes down and greets the guest.
Cons: perhaps a convenient store or a snack machine in the lobby. once it is 10pm, there is nothing for miles around.
Location: good location for those landing in San Jose. good starting point.
we chose this hotel because of the picture. Only knowing that we wanted to see Volcan Poas, we knew it was close. so we arrived and it was a long drive but a perfect starting point. if i were to plan again, I would drive to La Fortuna from here and book a hotel near the North west coast (playa hermosa), and then move down the pacific coast to Jaco or Manuel Antonio to Bahia Uvita. when traveling to costa rica, you either choose a "stay in one place" vacation or travel. And if I were to do it again, I would defeintely stay on the Carribean side even though most of the tourist attraction is the list i just detailed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Clients really liked the hotel.

Posted Apr 1, 2016
Location: nice and close to La Paz, awesome
Large group was in the restaurant so clients were advised to walk to another resturant nearby. It was downhill all the way and a hike. Other than that the clients were very pleased with this hotel, location and view.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Close to Poas

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Cons: Improve breakfast.
Location: Poas Volcano
Warning: this is a GREEN hotel. The grounds are very nice; the hotel is nice. We chose to stay here because it was near the Poas volcano (25 min ride). Rooms have no AC no coffee pot much less a fridge or microwave. We were not hot at night but only because we slept with the window open and the fan at "high" speed. That was my fault for not double checking the amenities. Our bed had 2 strands of hairs in the sheets and the shower handle was not placed correctly so I took a shower with very cold water and then when we sort of figured it out my daughter took a shower with HOT water. I mentioned those 2 things to the staff. Plus, it seems like they rely only on natural light so everything can be real dim. I have had better breakfast than the one I was served but I enjoyed it anyway. They only have 1 option which includes eggs. No pancakes which can be a child's fav. Nice hotel but pricey for what I received in return at $189 a night with all fess/taxes included. I would think twice next time around.