Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Terrace, CA

a drive away from the city. make it an adventure

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: simple. nice. the owner is a an old man. and he comes down and greets the guest.
Cons: perhaps a convenient store or a snack machine in the lobby. once it is 10pm, there is nothing for miles around.
Location: good location for those landing in San Jose. good starting point.
we chose this hotel because of the picture. Only knowing that we wanted to see Volcan Poas, we knew it was close. so we arrived and it was a long drive but a perfect starting point. if i were to plan again, I would drive to La Fortuna from here and book a hotel near the North west coast (playa hermosa), and then move down the pacific coast to Jaco or Manuel Antonio to Bahia Uvita. when traveling to costa rica, you either choose a "stay in one place" vacation or travel. And if I were to do it again, I would defeintely stay on the Carribean side even though most of the tourist attraction is the list i just detailed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Clients really liked the hotel.

Posted Apr 1, 2016
Location: nice and close to La Paz, awesome
Large group was in the restaurant so clients were advised to walk to another resturant nearby. It was downhill all the way and a hike. Other than that the clients were very pleased with this hotel, location and view.
5 out of 5
by Jeremy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 25, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Close to Poas

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Cons: Improve breakfast.
Location: Poas Volcano
Warning: this is a GREEN hotel. The grounds are very nice; the hotel is nice. We chose to stay here because it was near the Poas volcano (25 min ride). Rooms have no AC no coffee pot much less a fridge or microwave. We were not hot at night but only because we slept with the window open and the fan at "high" speed. That was my fault for not double checking the amenities. Our bed had 2 strands of hairs in the sheets and the shower handle was not placed correctly so I took a shower with very cold water and then when we sort of figured it out my daughter took a shower with HOT water. I mentioned those 2 things to the staff. Plus, it seems like they rely only on natural light so everything can be real dim. I have had better breakfast than the one I was served but I enjoyed it anyway. They only have 1 option which includes eggs. No pancakes which can be a child's fav. Nice hotel but pricey for what I received in return at $189 a night with all fess/taxes included. I would think twice next time around.
5 out of 5
by Rehanna from Boca Raton FL

Nice Spot in the hills!

Posted Feb 11, 2016 on Hotels
Talk about lush garden - that's an understatement. The grounds are well kept and the facility is spotless. The staff were very helpful - this is the only hotel during our stay (at 3 other hotels) that offered to help with bags. The breakfast was well organized. I didn't miss anything on my stay here - only got much much more than I banked on. The view of the central valley was just breath taking. 30 minutes drive to Poas Volcano. I will definitely go back here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for brief stay

Posted Jan 22, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel has a lovely view and a pretty garden with a lot of different birds. The beds and linens were very comfortable. Restaurant was decent but you are in close drive to other restaurants as well. Good location to stay for day or 2 for sightseeing on way into or out of the San jose airport.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very average, dated hotel

Posted Jan 18, 2016 on Hotels
note this hotel does not have air conditioning, and our room had no fridge, safe or clothes hangers. The bathroom was tiny.
3 out of 5
by Michel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 11, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Valerie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels