Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico DF

Trato excelente

Posted Aug 16, 2015
El trato del personal es excelente, habitaciones comidas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Playa del Coco, Costa Rica

Pleasant surprise!

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pros: The Art work and friendly staff.
Cons: Wash clothes. I know a lot of hotels in Costa Rica don't provide them but, it would be nice for those out of the country coming in.
Location: Not in the best location but the inside was fabulous.
The Casa Roland is like no other place I've stayed. It is obviously built in several stages but with good taste. The interior is very clean and the wall paintings will keep you busy for sometime just admiring the wonderful talent that placed it on just about every wall in the house. The staff were very attentive and friendly. We had car trouble when we arrived and they helped us find a mechanic to take a look at the car. I would without a doubt go back and visit this Jewel of a Hotel. Also, the young lady at the counter and the bar, Thank You so much for such a wonderful time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent homy feeling!

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Casa Roland is a confortable, cozy, and charming place to be in. A mix of tropical atmosphere embedded in an art gallery, swirly stairs like a laberinth. Great beds. Cozy breakfast place. A very authentique place in a quiet neighborhood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CR

Grata sorpresa!

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Ubicación (si vas en auto), la decoración, el servicio y la relación calidad-precio.
Este hotel superó mis expectativas, el lugar es acogedor, las habitaciones bien acabadas e impecables. El servicio al cliente es muy bueno en la recepción, en el bar del lobby y en el restaurante. En el desayuno no fuimos atendidos con el mismo esmero y simpatía que los huéspedes extranjeros, cosa que es muy mal vista, pero en general el servicio estuvo bien. En este lugar está garantizado el buen descanso. En general un lugar con una excelente relación de calidad-precio.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Axel from Orlando, FL

Great GEM place

Posted May 10, 2015 on Hotels
Just like others have described .... small Gem away from all the noise downtown San Jose....but is NOT that far 10 -15 min taxi drive to most places you want to go to. The STAFF is great....your home away from home!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by James from Atlanta

Nice Hotel, Nice People

Posted May 8, 2015 on Hotels
I always stay in this hotel when I go to San Jose. The people are very friendly and the hotel has a lot of character. All the artwork is great and the plants on the patio, I always enjoy this hotel. Good value and a good location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2015
The staff is very friendly and helpful. Very well kept hotel and very comfortable room. We liked the decor and paintings very much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from over there

The staff is awsome

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: THE STAFF!!!!
Cons: move some of the adult paintings down the hallways away from small underage eyes
Location: good for overnighting at san jose. grocery store for things you forgot/might need. pharmacy for the same.
two things you need to know... number one not for children. number two THE STAFF IS AMAZING! when you first enter the hotel even in the lobby there are several adult paintings so don't bring your kids. there is a bar in the lobby and the neiberhood isn't the most friendly at first sight... BUT this is a great stop over place for inbetween flights in and out of san jose. THE STAFF WILL TAKE CARE OF YOU! by the time I arrived after my flight and got my rental car it was 10:30pm ish... maybe later... by the time I was settled in (including delivery from a local restaurant!) it was 12:30am ish... then in the morning they helped me print out my itinerary that I had forgotten to print. also there is a local grocery/pharmacy down the street to help you get the things that make vacas go smoothly (like garbage bags, bottled water, and ciproflaxen for anti montizumas revenge) they also have room safes and a private locked parking lot to keep your stuff safe (because no matter how many stars or what country your in you will just have those people out to ruin your vaca).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good price a complimentary breakfast.

Posted Mar 28, 2015
I only slept there, and ate breakfast. Can't complain.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your nice comment. We are glad to know that enjoy staying with us. We hope to welcome you back soon. Best regards from Costa Rica.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

A lovely stay!

Posted Mar 27, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely hotel filled with art! Clean and comfortable rooms. The linens and towels were excellent. Looking forward to returning someday soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you! Your opinion has an enormous value to us. We feel proud that you have chosen us to be part of your experience. Seeing that you loved your visit at our hotel fills us with joy and drives us to continue exceeding our customer expectations. We hope to see you again soon. Best!