Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Great place!

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: We booked this hotel because it was within 25 minutes of San Jose international airport. We didn't want to do anything nearby except eat dinner.
Had a hard time finding this place because the online directions were wrong. However, the difficulty finding it was more than outweighed by our experience with the hotel itself. Definitely not your average American sterile, all-look-the-same hotel: the hotel was full of paintings purchased by the owner along with other art work. Polished wood, tile floors, multiple seating areas, extremely helpful staff, beautiful room with seating area, clean, comfortable. Everything was perfect. An amazing breakfast was included all for $118 for 2 adults & 2 teenagers. Definitely recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Agradablemente sorprendida!

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Hotel muy acogedor, lleno de obras de arte, parece una galería! Camas cómodas, buena presión de agua en la ducha y personal muy simpático!
4 out of 5
by Alison from Falls Church, VA

Loved Our Short Time There

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
We were visiting family for two nights and needed a nice comfortable place to stay. This fit the bill perfectly. I only wish there were an elevator, I had a 50 pound suitcase! I especially loved the porch in the morning with coffee. Casa Roland is like staying at a friend's elegant mansion n
5 out of 5
by Rafael from Miami, FL

Happy in San Jose

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
The free breakfast was excellent. The neighborhood looked a bit sketchy, but the hotel offers a secure, gated parking lot to keep our rental cars overnight. The staff was very helpful, too. Keep up the good work.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WI

Nice hotel not in city center

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Beautiful boutique hotel, hidden away in Pavas. The staff was great. They helped us navigate our first trip to San Jose and made sure we got where we needed to be. Only reason I gave 4 stars is because it isn't close to the airport or city center, so taxi and shuttle rides were quite long to get anywhere.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

This is a nice hotel, with some beautiful artwork.

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: It was clean and comfortable.
Cons: The breakfast doesn't have a lot of options, but it is included in the room rate.
Location: Not a lot of eateries nearby.
We were able to check in early, which was great. The room was very clean. The hotel is not super close to many restaurants, so be prepared to take a cab.
5 out of 5
by lucia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecicut

Pure Peace!!

Posted Aug 1, 2016
One of the nicest, homiest hotels I have stayed at!!
4 out of 5
by Dan from Panama

Aventura Extraordinaria en Costa Rica

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
Este hotel fué prácticamente perfecto. Iniciaré mencionando lo que no nos gustó pues es lo menos, para luego pasar a mencionar todo lo demás. CON: El desayuno no es totalmente gratis como mencionan. Si deseas poner un poco de tocineta, o leche o extras que todo el mundo supone que debe estar en un desayuno normal, entonces te cobran. Si hubieramos sabido esto de antemano, es muy posible que hubiera afectado nuestra decisión de elegir el hotel. PROS: La habitación que nos tocó estaba impecable. Personal extremadamente atento y servicial. Nos hicieron sentir como de la familia. Por ejemplo, la ultima noche teníamos algunas sobras de todas las cenas de otros días, pero no teniamos como calentarlos o vajillas para comer. El personal del hotel fué tan amable de dejarnos usar sus hornos y de usar sets de vajillas suficientes para poder comer. Realmente hacían todo lo que estaba a su alcance para que tuviéramos una buena estadía. Gracias a todos por sus esfuerzos!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A gem of a place with Funk

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Staff, architecture, art and location
Wonderful little place with a very friendly staff, great breakfast, beautiful art of all sorts in every corner, unique architecture and comfortable rooms. Loved the restaurant next door "Vital" Will definitely use this hotel again when in San Jose.