Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Central to shopping and all museums.

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: Exceptionally clean and charming. Decor is well worth visiting. Very accommodating staff.wi
Cons: Wi-Fi in rooms.
Location: This is central to everything. No need for taxis. Best museums are walking distance - Jade Museum, Gold Museum, National Theatre & restaurants.
Right around the corner from favorite gallery - Namu Gallery. Just a couple of blocks from the zoo and a favorite restaurant called Cafe Mundo. Hotel has oodles of charm and decor is quite unique - lots of antiques and hand-painted tiles. Good gift shop and excellent little restaurant open for lunch and supper. I will definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

True Costa Rica

Posted Sep 15, 2015
If you want a truly authentic Costa Rican experience, this is the place to stay. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. We had to leave very early in the morning, and they had fresh coffee ready at 3:30 am! If you are expecting shiny-new, Marriott-style accommodations, stay elsewhere. This is an older, unique building, but the rooms are very clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Beautiful boutique hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Pros: It's overall comfort. It is a unique hotel and I hate to recommend it because I want to keep it to myself.
This hotel is Costa Rican to the core! Friendly doorman, receptionist, and staff made the stqy very pleasant. There was air conditioning (if needed, which is seldom in San José), good TV reception, a good safe in the room, walk-in shower, and comfortable beds. I liked the location which is on the edge of the old part of the city. Nearby Plaza Espagna is a good introduction to the various trees you will encounter in the countryside. The restaurant in the hotel is very good. In fact, I preferred to dine there and they make their own desserts (the coconut flan was outstanding). It is only two stories, but a series of adjoined former homes with a series of patios filled with Pre-Columbian copies and Peruvian (Costa Rican?) Spanish Colonial Oil paintings. There is an excellent souvenir store. Within walking distance of the beautiful art houveau Teatro Nacional and Gold Museum (in the same Plaza), and also to the brand new spectacular Jade Museum and its neighboring National Museum located in a former fortress (you enter through a butterfly conservatory with the neon royal blue butterflies. This museum also has a great Pre-Columbian collection. For anyone interested in archeology, these museums are definitely a must. Between the two museums is an arts and crafts market where you can bargain for some fine artwork. Only recently has the city put in some street signage, still not sufficient. I continually got lost, but in the process discovered some interesting plazas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Super friendly helpful courteous staff. Easy walk to downtown main square
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: Clean rooms and great staff.
Great experience! Would recommend this to others. Clean and great staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

very accomadating close to everything in the city.

Posted Jun 30, 2015
A great little place if u need to stay in the city. They have access to a computer a restaurant that has a delicious breakfast, dinner not so much. I will warn at night you will see some prostituttion going on out side of the hotel on the same street. I wasn't prepared for that so if you have small children keep them inside so they don't see it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Nice hotel clean hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Located on a smaller road in San Jose so not crazy crowded with people and cars. Not too far from places to eat and shop. Room was basic but clean. They say they have a pool but it is tiny! It's more like a cold jacuzzi. Breakfast was included in our room rate and it was delicious! Overall great bang for your buck! I would go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Nice feel for Costa Rican Culture

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Location Character Safety
Cons: The beds maybe a little moe comfortable
Location: You can walk to the local shops and sites. The local bars were nice too
The hotel is close to almost everything. So we took an afternoon stroll and enjoyed some sites. The place was clean and the breakfast very good. Helpful kind people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

What a wonderful surprise!

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Five weary travelers arrived at Hotel Don Carlos on the last night of their Costa Rica vacation. The friendly and helpful staff got us settled into our rooms and another adventure began. The interior hallways, as well as guest rooms are decorated with beautiful art. Even the exterior walls hold art treasures. We were surrounded by beauty and history on every side. The guest rooms are clean and comfortable, not plush by most standards. It is hard to explain, but you don't visit Hotel Don Carlos, you experience it's old world charm. If you're in San Jose, don't miss it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Louis, MO

Charming hotel in downtown

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: The decor, the history, the layout.
Cons: Showers
Location: Downtown San Jose turned out not to be appealing to our group. Cafe el Mundo was around the corner and was very good.
My family stayed here the night before we left Costa Rica. We chose the hotel because it was unique and was a walkable distance to various good restaurants and tourist attractions in San Jose. We loved the charm of the place. We would stay there again if ever in San Jose. It had a neat history and many interesting decorations. The rooms were clean and comfortable. No AC, though, and it's too loud to open the windows. This was not a problem during out stay as weather was comfortable. My only complaint was the shower. Mine did not work. When I decided to just make do with the faucet in the shower, the bathroom got flooded as the water was not draining. Of the three rooms we had, however, mine was the only one with a problem. The others did have low water pressure but it's an older place and we did not mind. Breakfast was adequate. Two of our party had dinner at the restaurant and enjoyed it.