Ratings based on 166 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Close to the Museum and walking street

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Close to the attractions and safe
Cons: Sound proofing
Location: Near the museum and the walking street.
Good hotel for a short stop over as close to the San Jose attractions. Just a bit noisy with the railroad nearby and the train hooting starting at 5am.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

UNPROFESSIONAL STAFF

Posted Oct 4, 2016
The personnel at this hotel refused to communicate with me directly when I needed to change my reservation due to a flight delay, and they charged me for the night that I did not stay there anyway. They are horribly unprofessional. I would never recommend them. I followed the policy put forth by Expedia and emailed and called directly and they would not change my reservation to the following night. I'm very displeased. Expensive lesson I had to learn.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Always an enjoyable experience

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Its location and the unique character.
Location: A short walk to the Mercado Central, our favorite restaurant, Tenedor Argentina, and the artisan's market just down the street.
We have always enjoyed staying at Hotel Flor de Lys, however this last time we were on the 3rd floor which was difficult for my husband who has a little hip pain, but since it was for just a few days we did not request a room change. The staff here is always excellent -- very helpful and always very friendly, will go out of their way to assist in any way, and the rooms are always very clean. We like the location because we always like to walk around central San Jose and go to the Mercado Central and our favorite restaurant, Tenedor Argentina. We go to Costa Rica every few months and always stay at Hotel Flor de Lys and go to the Mercado Central and Tenedor Argentina.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Moscow

Old-fashioned and outdated hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on CheapTickets
Pros: The only pro is the breakfast. Nice lady helps you around and it is abundant and tasty.
Cons: Everything! Train staff, repair internet, put garbage bin into the rooms, put AC or do something about the ventilation
Location: We went to Museo de Oro. It's small, but nice.
Booked 2 nights for a week-end. After reading the good reviews we were absolutely disappointed upon arrival. Check-in took more than 20 minutes as receptionist couldn't find the reservation. The rooms have no numbers, but names, so the staff has no idea where they are located - he sent us upstairs, while the key gave from downstairs room. We had to walk upstairs to check all doors, and believe me it's not fun. When we return with the bags and claim, he still haven't moved from his desk to apologies or to show the room! The first room we were given looked like a student hostel, very unwelcoming, metal beds. We asked to see an alternative and after 5 minutes of arguing finally got a decent room upstairs. Decent is the most modest evaluation I can give, cause, at least, it was clean. Still the facilities is like 1 star - they don't have even a garbage bin except for the small one in the bathroom for toilet paper. Sleeping is difficult cause the walls a thin and you hear your neighbors, the kitchen from downstairs, steps from corridor. No AC+small windows means no chance to get a bit of fresh air. And the room was stiff, it is an old building! Wi-fi was horrible, it was falling off several times a day and despite our claims, the staff didn't do anything about it - in San Jose, internet is quite fast and reliable everywhere - we haven't had a problem, except for this hotel. Never again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great European-style hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Cons: The only thing I can think of in the way of improvement would be the timing of the automatic lighting.
Location: Hotel Fleur de Lys is located in central San Jose, so it is near the museums, the central market and the national theater (Teatro Nacional).
My husband & I prefer small hotels with character over the impersonal and overpriced hotels. Hotel Fleur de Lys was recommended to us by a British couple we met while in Costa Rica. They raved about its original hard-wood floors and the hand-carved details. We have always been impressed with the service, and some of the best meals we have eaten in Costa Rica have been in the hotel's restaurant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bedbugs

Posted Jun 28, 2016
it was a correct place for the price and nice location and correct staff, too, big bed and clean bathroom...but there were bedbugs. Bad luck, and I can't notify to the Hotel cause I leave in the morning and I don't understand the point at the moment.
5 out of 5
by Brenda M

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Chris

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Sandra

Quiet and calm atmosphere in the heart of San Jose

Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
Smooth check in. Nice breakfast
4 out of 5
by ira

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
One day layover meet all our needs. The staff was very helpful, and the breakfast was fine The train is loud but no deal breaker. I would recommend it for short stays.