Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uvita

Was a great reasonably priced hotel

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Trip returning from Nicaragua took way longer than it should have and we missed the last bus out of San Jose. Needed a place near the station and not too pricey. We found this place and it was a miracle. Super hot shower(big deal I live in a far less populated part of CR no hot water) after 11 hours on a bus, spotless sheets soft and comfy. It was a very short stay we took the 5am bus out(concierge got us a cab at 445am) but it was exactly what we needed after the stress of the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Close to the Museum and walking street

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Close to the attractions and safe
Cons: Sound proofing
Location: Near the museum and the walking street.
Good hotel for a short stop over as close to the San Jose attractions. Just a bit noisy with the railroad nearby and the train hooting starting at 5am.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Always an enjoyable experience

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Its location and the unique character.
Location: A short walk to the Mercado Central, our favorite restaurant, Tenedor Argentina, and the artisan's market just down the street.
We have always enjoyed staying at Hotel Flor de Lys, however this last time we were on the 3rd floor which was difficult for my husband who has a little hip pain, but since it was for just a few days we did not request a room change. The staff here is always excellent -- very helpful and always very friendly, will go out of their way to assist in any way, and the rooms are always very clean. We like the location because we always like to walk around central San Jose and go to the Mercado Central and our favorite restaurant, Tenedor Argentina. We go to Costa Rica every few months and always stay at Hotel Flor de Lys and go to the Mercado Central and Tenedor Argentina.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great European-style hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Cons: The only thing I can think of in the way of improvement would be the timing of the automatic lighting.
Location: Hotel Fleur de Lys is located in central San Jose, so it is near the museums, the central market and the national theater (Teatro Nacional).
My husband & I prefer small hotels with character over the impersonal and overpriced hotels. Hotel Fleur de Lys was recommended to us by a British couple we met while in Costa Rica. They raved about its original hard-wood floors and the hand-carved details. We have always been impressed with the service, and some of the best meals we have eaten in Costa Rica have been in the hotel's restaurant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bedbugs

Posted Jun 28, 2016
it was a correct place for the price and nice location and correct staff, too, big bed and clean bathroom...but there were bedbugs. Bad luck, and I can't notify to the Hotel cause I leave in the morning and I don't understand the point at the moment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in downtown

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: Nice bar, nice restaurant, nice staff.
We have stayed here before and like it. However, our cheap room via expedia did turn out to be in the lobby area and was very noisy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Location is convenient to downtown, very friendly

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Pros: 1. Inexpensive 2. Great staff, very friendly and accommodating
Cons: Improve cleanliness of the room
Ran into problems with this stay 1. The room seemed to have "bug" issues, were bitten several times 2. Location is next to train track, the train horn is rather constant starting at 4am 3. Noise insulation is not very good - especially for light sleepers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Very satisfied

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Pros: Very homely. Good hot breakfast. All staff very helpful and knowledgeable.
Cons: This hotel does not have elevators. We were lucky we had only carrying on bags.
Location: Location is excellent, very central, in downtown San Jose.
Reception very pleasant and courteous. Room was small but clean and quiet. Excellent shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Lovely hotel near centre

Posted Nov 5, 2015
Pros: Location, friendly staff and comfortable room
Cons: Perhaps the decor of the rooms.
Location: The Argentinian restaurant one block away is great.
My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel both at beginning and end of our Costa Rica trip and I am glad we did. The entrance area of the hotel has recently been renovated and is very nice. The first room we stayed in was on the small side but the second room was considerably larger. Although the decor may be a little dated, the room was very comfortable. Breakfast was simple but good. The location of the hotel we found to be good, being only a short walk from many attractions and the centre. There are also numerous restaurants within a very short walk to choose from. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel when staying in San Jose.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Centrally located

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Very uncomfortable bed, no cable tv. Location is good