Ratings based on 193 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

3rd Time around

Posted Sep 20, 2017
I love this hotel it's my 3rd time staying here and it's still the same. .Not you 5 star hotel but it's not what I care for. It's clean and very traditional hotel. .Friendly staff and good breakfast. Close in walking distance to a lot of the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Darling hotel, wonderful staff, great location!

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Everything! Beautiful Victorian mansion, lovely decorations, wonderful staff, delicious dinner!
Location: Close to museums, restaurants and around the corner from tourist market
This little hotel is a gem! Absolutely darling, clean, and with a very warm, friendly staff. Nicely decorated to make you feel like an invited guest into a grand Victorian home. The location to museums, city squares, the mercado de artesanías and some really good restaurants (although we LOVED the hotel restaurant) makes this place perfect! Breakfast was good and basic. What we loved the most was the little restaurant in the front of the hotel, as it was the perfect place to meet both hotel guests and locals alike and enjoy a wonderful meal! Yes, it has creaky wood floors (added to the character!!) and a train goes by fairly often, neither of which bothered us at all. We read about the train, so were prepared (turns out it was not nearly as loud as we had read!). My one piece of advice: Make sure you keep the address and phone number with you; San Jose addresses can be a bit complicated, and not many taxi drivers knew where the hotel is.
5 out of 5
by Pawel w

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
A very clean place with nice staff. Close to the center is a huge plus. I would definitely recommend it.
3 out of 5
by Xiaquan

Good location, ok service.

Posted Jul 1, 2017 on Hotels
Location is good. The rest is mediocre.
4 out of 5
by Johann

Great place in San Jose

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel Fleur de Lys is in a very good location. Lots of points of interest are in walking distance. It is very popular with tour groups also.A clean,charming hotel with great style.
5 out of 5
by Rob & Connie from Romantic Little Town, Canada

Romantic San Jose Stopover

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
This is the clearly the most beautiful and romantic little hotels we've stayed in all of Central America. Just an incredible showcase of details being looked after, cared for and the staff and management filling the property with every bit of attention to those details with joy and understanding. Have you ever wanted to travel on a luxury romantic train like the Orient Express... well this it... Climb Aboard this dream hotel in the heart of San Juan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming

Posted Apr 26, 2017
The hotel was small and lovely. It was very clean and comfortable although my room did get a little warm late in the afternoon. The location was great. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. It's a short 5 minute walk to several major museums, park, restaurants and souvenir market. The hotel has a delicious breakfast buffet included and lovely patio cafe bar. My only negative comments would be the bed was a little hard for my taste and very limited English tv.
4 out of 5
by Gayle

Convenient to Museums and other points of interest

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
Pros: Very clean hotel and room. Great food at reasonable prices. Friendly, helpful, and professional staff. Easy to walk to National Museum, Theater, Jade Museum, and other places of interest. Cons: Chipped porcelain in tub and sink. Bed not very comfortable. Train whistles loud from our room on 3rd floor. No elevator. The cons would not stop us from staying again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uvita

Was a great reasonably priced hotel

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Trip returning from Nicaragua took way longer than it should have and we missed the last bus out of San Jose. Needed a place near the station and not too pricey. We found this place and it was a miracle. Super hot shower(big deal I live in a far less populated part of CR no hot water) after 11 hours on a bus, spotless sheets soft and comfy. It was a very short stay we took the 5am bus out(concierge got us a cab at 445am) but it was exactly what we needed after the stress of the day.
5 out of 5
by Brian

Character and location!

Posted Feb 2, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful old building (104 years!) with lots of character. The rooms are a tad small, but that was not a real problem. The wifi is spotty in the room, but good elsewhere. Wonderful food in the restaurant!