Ratings based on 351 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great place to stay to see San Jose

Posted May 8, 2016
Pros: The hotel has been renovated to imitate the original colonial style. Beautifully done.
Cons: Nothing I can think of
Location: In west end of San Jose, need a taxi to get most places but that is no problem and safer
All staff very friendly, helpful and experienced. Very comfortable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Highly recommend! Very unique place with very attentive staff and the overall experience was wonderful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kona, Hawaii

Classic building in San Jose

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: Pretty and nice staff
Location: It is a 20 minute walk to downtown and on a late Saturday afternoon a bit scary for 2 women, we had to make sure we were alert.
This was an elegant hotel for one night in San Jose. It is a small boutique, with a beautiful restaurant. We had a great dinner and nice breakfast. Staff was helpful. Our room was small but cute. Only complaint was that is was at the base of the steps that led to the rooftop jacuzzi so the spring break guests were noisy. Bose headphones to the rescue. I would go back if I had to stay in San Jose.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, ontario Canada

nice hotel in San Jose

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: Patio was amazing
Cons: nothing!!!
Location: We were in Ojachal for one week so not much to do in San Jose compared to driving around to beaches waterfalls etc, but if you need to be in the city
Hi, only stayed here one night prior to going home, only disappointed we couldn't stay longer, hotel is lovely, very welcoming, amazing vibe, rooms were really nice and comfortable. We had a room with a patio, fountain noise was so nice and calming. Would highly recommend this hotel. had dinner in dining room that was very nice as well. Service was great. I am in the food and beverage industry so i am a picky traveller and this place did not disappoint
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from connecticut

This was our first stop in Costa Rica.

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Pros: Quiet , clean, beautifully decorated with a gorgeous dining area.
Location: Walked to the museum area in downtown
We only stayed one night after arriving in Costa Rica late. It was quiet and peaceful had a good breakfast in their open court dining area. Took a hot soak in their jacuzzi before setting off on our next destination. Wished we were staying longer. Walked to the museum area downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location, nice building

Posted Mar 12, 2016
Set in a lovely old colonial building and convenient for San Jose airport, it's a nice hotel. The restaurant is overpriced, and the room was comparatively noisy. Sun terrace and jacuzzi was nice. Would recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

JUST FANTASTIC!!!

Posted Mar 12, 2016
Pablo, and the entire staff make this hotel....Home!! Just perfect!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Best spot in San Jose to stay before you go home

Posted Mar 4, 2016
We came into San Jose on a Tuesday and left the following Wednesday. We got a rental car and were driving around the country for our trip. So we used hotel Grano de Oro as the first nights stay after we landed, and last spot the night before we flew home. It is the nicest hotel you will find. Only 15km from the airport...it literally took maybe 10-15 mins to get the car back to the rental return lot. The hotel is beyond luxurious and the restaurant is amazing. Very clean and upscale. They have a private gated in parking lot too so if you have a rental car, its totally safe. They gave us a free upgrade to a suite for our last night before we flew home. that was awesome and relaxing considering we were in the wilderness for the past 7-8 days. If you need a nice spot to stay, definitely stay here. It is the best. Staff was great...and they will convert your dollars to colones for you also, so you don't need to hit a bank.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Last Night of Vacation

Posted Feb 13, 2016
This is a beautiful hotel. The restaurant was great...the staff was fun and attentive and the food was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

An Oasis Of Comfort

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Very nice hotel in a very touristy San Jose. It's quaint, comfortable and very clean. The Restaurent area is so nice you don't want to leave.