Ratings based on 856 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2018
Lovely hotel, full of old world charm. Rooms are a good size and the beds comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2018 by Ivannia Pérez P. , Hotel Management
Hi!! Thank you so much for your survey. We are glad to know you had a great stay with us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Excellent boutique hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2018
We stayed here for just one night and had an amazing experience. Prior to our arrival, the staff emailed us to ask what time we would arrive and answered our questions right away (they have complimentary parking if anyone is wondering). Upon arrival, we were greeted with glasses of OJ, information which covered all our needs, and the staff were happy to assist when we asked about what to explore and eat in the area. We also made a dinner reservation at the hotel restaurant to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday later that evening. The restaurant had a great ambiance, the decor was elegant and lovely, and the service was impeccable as was the food. We received complimentary appetizers and dessert, and I didn't even notify the hotel of my bf's birthday but they figured it out and sent over a large slice of chocolate truffle cake on the house as well! We later had drinks on the beautiful courtyard (delicious drinks btw) and later went up to the terrace to hangout by the jaccuzi. We felt well taken care of the entire time... truly an amazing experience -- we highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent service and comfort

Posted Apr 30, 2018
Wonderful old school hotel- elegant and classic, but updated in the right places. Warm, professional and attentive staff. Extraordinary restaurant - pleasent surprise and a lovely welcome to Costa Rica on our one night transition to an Osa trip. Neighborhood is safe but perhaps not what American tourists would picture surrounding this type of hotel. But we loved walking and found fantastic local diner style eats. We also understood it was close to markets and scenic downtown, just didn’t have time. Only suggestion I’d make to hotel is at some point update the common areas carpeting. Just seems a bit worn. Overall, highly recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2018
Would be nice to have included breakfast in the price
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2018
Great restaurant and friendly service. Free mini bar a plus. Rooms and hotel are very clean. On the downside, not much to do within walking distance. Room is older and somewhat dated. Air conditioner below average as was shower water pressure. Bath products average. Outlets for electronics are few and not convenient to the bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2018
Nicest hotel in the area. Not a great city to explore. Our roon wad quite small. Restaurant is top notch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malibu CA

Very clean and nice hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2018
Spotless rooms with beautiful architecture. Staff was great and quick check in
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet Comfort in the busy Capital

Posted Mar 22, 2018
The food, service and exquisite comfort make this Hotel Grano one of the greatest values in all of Costa Rica! Highly Recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful experience!

Posted Mar 15, 2018
We had a wonderful experience at the Hotel Grano de Oro! Fantastic staff, beautiful room and facilities, great bar and restaurant. We hope to return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA

Oasis

Posted Feb 21, 2018
This hotel is expensive, but very nice. My room was small, comfortable, and pleasant. A negative- I got there at 3PM, and had to wait 30 minutes before my room was ready. The restaurant is very pretty; the food is a bit pretentious and expensive. Would I stay again? Not sure, because of the cost.