Ratings based on 801 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Great, very charming place. We enjoyed the restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

Boutique hotel in heart of San Jose, Costa Rica.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Hotel was quaint, with much historical value. Some common areas in need of attention. Staff and management extremely attentive and welcoming. Manager left us personal note and departing gift! Restaurant food and service excellent, a tad pricey but we'll worth it. Room accommodations lovely. Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2017
We greatly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Grano de Oro.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Ivannia Pérez P. , Hotel Management
Thank you! Hope you can come back in the future :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uvita

Beautiful hotel within safe walking distance to a

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: Reminds me of New Orleans.
Location: Within walking distance to the San Juan de Dios Hospital where we visited a friend. Very close to the Brazilian Embassy where we needed to apply for
Beautiful hotel with a nice comfortable feel. Employees exceptionally kind and helpful.
5 out of 5
by Susan

Queen for 2 days

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
On a recent trip I found Hotel Grano Del Oro and had lunch, dinner, and breakfast in their amazing garden-restaurant. It has an old European feel and the food is beautifully presented, high quality, and makes you want to come back soon for more. The wait-staff makes the diner feel like a king or queen. So this time I booked two nights at the hotel to further enjoy the ambiance and amenities. I'm sure I will return!
5 out of 5
by Cynthia

Wonderful stay in San Jose

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay here. The staff in the hotel and restaurant were extremely attentive and accommodating. The hotel is beautiful and we enjoyed two breakfasts and one dinner in the restaurant. We highly recommend Hotel Grano de Oro!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
This is a beautiful hotel. Historic mansion in great condition. Close walk to local attractions. The restaurant had a great breakfast. Dinner was nice but the use of foams was a little heavy. Take a walk to the theatre and have a coffee in the cafe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lots of Character

Posted May 13, 2017
Cool building. Friendly staff. Very good food. Rooms small with sliding bathroom door so no privacy. Was fine for short stay but wouldn't do more than day or two.
4 out of 5
by Jagdesh

Short and nice

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
It was too short
5 out of 5
by Leesa

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
Perfect hotel for a visit to San Jose. Lovely room, welcoming staff and delicious meals.