Ratings based on 189 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
42% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydbey australia

Excellent hotel near downtown

Posted Jan 29, 2018
I had a great experience in particular with reception and the breakfast bar staff. The breakfast included eggs made to order and was delicious! I would definitely recommend this hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid!

Posted Jan 26, 2018 on Hotels
Dirty place!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Do not stay here

Posted Dec 16, 2017
We were placed in a room that smelled like sewage. When we complained, the front desk guy said "oh yeah that room has always had a problem with mold." We did not stay there and they refused to refund the money. Spend a little extra and stay somewhere clean .
4 out of 5
by Berlanie

Location location!

Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels
It was nice except for the new guy at the front desk giving away my room to someone else while all my luggage was still in the room the first night of my stay. Other than that it was a great location, close to everything and Uber was extremely cheap from there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Panama City, Panama

Pleasant staff but substandard facility

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: See above.
Location: It's located in Barrio Amon, so you are within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants, cafes, supermarkets, the gold museum, old opera house, etc
I keep going back because of the location and the price. The staff is pleasant, and I like that they have free breakfast included. The WiFi had been very weak prior to my previous visit, but they seemed to have improved this on my most recent stay. However, the guest computer was broken. The bathrooms are not in the best conditions. There was mold in the shower and problems with the water draining. If the hotel would attend to some structural improvements, and attended to the mold problem, it would make a huge difference, and make the price they charge truly worth the experience.
1 out of 5
by Nazneen

Horrible hotel to stay

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
Horrible condition hotel, the worst hotel we have stayed. The TV and shower drain does not work. The breakfast was a joke. The worst maintained hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wimbledon, London, UK

Never again!

Posted Apr 16, 2017
We booked this hotel through the advice of the Expedia advisor, we specifically asked for a hotel to be in close proximity to the airport, it was in fact further away, in the middle of San Jose, a half hour trip. When we arrived we thought that it was closed as there was a metal grill and the door was locked, we had to ring the bell to be admitted. There was no hot water it was dusty and grubby and had seen much better days, fortunately as we had to be up so early to get to the airport, we missed breakfast! It spoilt our last night in Costa Rica.We would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Nice hotel good location

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Only problem cold showers in the night , the hotel had good location close to center of San Jose.
1 out of 5
by Leonida

It was realy dirty, bad small, wi fi does not work

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
WE stay because we did not have any choise, because we pay.