Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Panama City, Panama

Pleasant staff but substandard facility

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: See above.
Location: It's located in Barrio Amon, so you are within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants, cafes, supermarkets, the gold museum, old opera house, etc
I keep going back because of the location and the price. The staff is pleasant, and I like that they have free breakfast included. The WiFi had been very weak prior to my previous visit, but they seemed to have improved this on my most recent stay. However, the guest computer was broken. The bathrooms are not in the best conditions. There was mold in the shower and problems with the water draining. If the hotel would attend to some structural improvements, and attended to the mold problem, it would make a huge difference, and make the price they charge truly worth the experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wimbledon, London, UK

Never again!

Posted Apr 16, 2017
We booked this hotel through the advice of the Expedia advisor, we specifically asked for a hotel to be in close proximity to the airport, it was in fact further away, in the middle of San Jose, a half hour trip. When we arrived we thought that it was closed as there was a metal grill and the door was locked, we had to ring the bell to be admitted. There was no hot water it was dusty and grubby and had seen much better days, fortunately as we had to be up so early to get to the airport, we missed breakfast! It spoilt our last night in Costa Rica.We would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Nice hotel good location

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Only problem cold showers in the night , the hotel had good location close to center of San Jose.
1 out of 5
by Leonida

It was realy dirty, bad small, wi fi does not work

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
WE stay because we did not have any choise, because we pay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Rude staff

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Orbitz
Kitchen staff is rude. The receptionist is lazy and not helpful. The hotel is overpriced. It was not a pleasant experience. Usually people in Costa Rica are very friendly and helpful. This hotel does not represent these traditional values of this beautiful country.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Don't stay in San Jose, explore...

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Orbitz
No AC Light is blinking. Some cob webs under the table. Staff very polite and friendly If you're traveling to Acosta Rica don't book your whole trip in the city. Tourist destinations are too far out about 3-4 hours drive. So one night is enough and just book your stay where you will have your adventures. Don't get me wrong Costa Rica is still one of the places you should not miss! Restrooms are all super clean. Locals are so friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2017
The staff hotel are very great and respectful. It's a nice local hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Orbitz
Location: The worst thing about this hotel was location. It was advertised as within 2 miles of the airport, but turns out it was 26 kilometers from the airport
This hotel was advertised within 2 miles of the airport, but was 26 kilometers away. We spent about 30 dollars us traveling to and from the airport. I complained to the hotel and orbitz but of course got no refund or service whatsoever.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Clean old style hotel close to the Center of town.

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: The old character and location.
Cons: Updating some of the bathrooms.
Location: Walking distance to the Center of town which we did in the evening and we felt safe.
We chose this hotel to just stay the night in a central location close to the bus terminals. I liked the old style character of the hotel, but it could use a little updating. The front desk staff was very helpful. Breakfast was very basic. Toast and jam, one cereal, coffee, but fresh fruit.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Worst experience

Posted Dec 3, 2016
I am very disappointed in this hotel. It had dirty carpet, broken/missing glass on all windows and unable to close all the way causing wind rain and loud noise coming in throughout night, old & rusty leaking faucet and shower, rude staff, smelly-old enclosed and unkept room, night lamps did not have knobs to turn on, no elevator to 3rd floor, no hand/face towel, no amenities, and continental breakfast was poor.