Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minneapolis,mn

Great deal on hotel near downtown

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Pros: Location, quietness and staff
Cons: Perhaps a slight modernization, but not if it spoils the charm
Location: Good restaurants of many types and grocery stores nearby. Walking distance to historical part of San Jose.
Nice, comfortable hotel in quiet neighborhood west of Downtown San Jose. Comfortable, in a residential area within walking distance of the city, and helpful staff. Well located with a perhaps a dozen varied and good quality restaurants within a couple of blocks. Two grocery stores within easy walk. Great deal overall.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad.

Posted Jan 16, 2018
No water for shower in am. But other than that, not so bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2018 by Sam shah, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your concern. There was a rupture of incoming water pipe in the property. We shut the water and repaired it at the same time. During that period for couple of hours,water was not available in the rooms. We apologize for your inconvenience. Thanks again. Managements
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Safe, clean, conveniently located, friendly staff.

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Clean, safe, convenient location, friendly staff
Cons: The breakfast is exactly the same each day. Some variety would be nice.
Location: Good location. Many restaurants closeby
Overall, good value for money. Breakfast ok but needs to be changed a bit each day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Sam shah, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks for your honest review and remarks. We appreciate your business. We will consider your remarks for breackfast and will do necessary for the same. We welcome our loyal guest like you. Thanks again. Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 9, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Harry

Nice boutique hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
Close to some great restaurants on Calle 33. Easy to walk to museums and parks. Breakfast was horrible. Go up the street for a good location breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2017
Dear valued customer, Thanks for your honest review. We serve traditional breack fast as usual. But we also serve American breackfast on request. We will try to add some more variety in our breackfast. I hope next time you will enjoye it of your choice. Thanks again. Management
2 out of 5
by Nelly

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was not I expected.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will not stay at that hotel again.

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
Room had no A/C and the toilet had a defective flap and was running all night. It was difficult to get a good night's sleep. Hotel was located in an area with no restaurants in close proximity.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2017
Dear Guest, Thanks for your comment and your concerns. Costorica is tropical country and visitors come here to enjoy it. We do not have not aircondition in room. We have not mentioned anywhere about it but in near future we are going to keep aircondition in some rooms for our guest like you. For issue for your toilet, you should have notified to front desk when you found it during your stay so that we could fix your issue. I am sorry about it . For your third issue about the restaurant, we have full of restaurant place known as Bario Escalante just one block away from our hotel.Next time if you come, we will give you direction for it and you will enjoy all those restaurant s. Thanks. Management.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Location: Near a street filled with wonderful small restaurants!
Loved the atmosphere in this hotel. Had a room with a patio surrounded by plants. Had to leave hotel early and were served coffee and toast. Would return to this spot, were we to return to San Jose.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by Sam, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks for your honest review. We appreciate your business. We try hard to give satisfactory stay for our guest. We always welcome to our loyal guests. Thanks again. Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Safe, nice hotel close to museums and shopping.

Posted Feb 24, 2017
I had a very pleasant stay at Hotel Le bergerac. Very friendly staff. It is located in a safe, quiet neighborhood. It isn't in a busy area, but, a short car ride to museums, multi-plazas and Veritas University.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by Sam, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thanks for your honest review. We appreciate your business. We always welcome to our loyal guests. Management
4 out of 5
by Martin

Solid, but need better wifi

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
I have stayed at this hotel before and liked it. There were a few changes since I last stayed here due to a change of owner. I was disappointed to find that the restaurant and bar, which has a nice interior patio, was closed except for breakfasts. But I was told that this was temporary, as the new owners had to get new permits and that this would take a couple of months. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. I had a very nice large room with wooden floors and a small private patio. Although it was not air conditioned, it had a fan and was very comfortable even on hot days. The wifi connection was very slow and a bit frustrating, and the phone in the room did not work (but who needs that these days). Over all ok. The key for me was the wifi. I hope they improve that. A coffee/tea maker in the room would also be nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks for your review. We appreciate your business. We always welcome our loyal customers. We work hard to give maximum services and satisfaction to our guests. Thanks again. Management