Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Solid hotel

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: The room,the breakfast and the staff.
Cons: WiFi could be stronger.
Location: There is a zoo/animal sanctuary within 200 metres of the resort.
I stayed for two nights in a Junior Suite. The room was quite spacious for two people. The staff at the front desk and in the dining area were very accommodating. The breakfast Buffet was very good. The pool was also very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2017 by Adriano, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north carolina

False advertisement

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Booked this place because the pictures and amenities looked awesome. Get to the hotel and quickly realize there is no casino, no gym, and a deserted spa. You can obviously tell this hotel used to be very nice based off of the architecture and design - once upon a time. The buildings in the back are delapidated and no one has occupied them in years. The paint in our room was chipping off the walls. The bathroom shower had not had a true cleaning in years (scum and mold in the corners of the shower and shower head). The A/C did not work. Literally a bat flew through the restaurant one night while we were eating dinner. This hotel was shown as beautiful and clean; however, no one has kept up with the place and that is apparent. On the up side, the pool was nice and the restaurant was good. Its also a quiet place which is great if that's the kind of stay you're looking for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2017 by Adriano Martino, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your reviews. I hope you will have a better experience next time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica.

Nice hotel, Italian style.

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Nice hotel although a bit old The bathroom smells bad. Not because it was dirty, but because of little rotation of water. It smelled like stagnant water. The Italian restaurant very good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

I didn't not stay went and got another hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Scary dangerous wasn't there 20 minutes before I left
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2017 by Adriano Martino, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. I hope you can come back to change your opinion.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Awesome Hotel!

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: We like the location, the old world ambiance, the price, the huge pool, the gardens and most of all the awesome staff!
Cons: A coffee maker in the room would be awesome instead of the shared one for a whole floor!
Location: Zoo Ave Rescue Centre is right across the street and you are close to a ton of green houses! It's only 15 minutes to the international airport.
Resort Martino is one of our favourite hotels. We live in Costa Rica and often stay here when we want to be near the airport or have things to do in Alajuela. It's an Italian family run hotel, all of the doors are hand carved wood, each one unique, and the rooms have king sized beds with all matching upholstery. The restaurant is awesome, we appreciate the fridge, and the pool is huge! Each room has a private balcony/patio. On our last visit, however, we noticed that it's not as well kept as it has been in the past and the book in the room seriously needs updating, there is a lot of information that is not correct. And although we don't care, there are signs for a casino but there isn't one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2017 by Adriano, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz, CA

Beautiful resort but some basic fixes needed

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: Staff, premises
Cons: See above
Location: Close to tourist attractions
Hotel is beautfiul, staff is great, food wonderful however no internet reception in room, air conditioning stops working after a while, hot water is cuts out, and alarm clocks go off at 12am in empty rooms....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Convenient to airport and attractions

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: quiet and convenient
Cons: Internet service was not consistent and faded out in room away from main building. Hotel is not on main bus route for tours, so a car was needed
Location: Local zoo, town of Alejuela
Nice property, easy to find while driving, food was delicious, rooms very comfortable and quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

couldnt keep daughter out of the pool

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Pool is very nice
Cons: could use some updating
Location: Bird Zoo is across the street... (walking)..very nice
Nice place....bit dated...11yr old daughter didnt care much for the many "naked" greek type statues
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We just. Slept there nice and comfort

Posted May 2, 2016
The hotel is beautiful Staff is friendly. Food is below average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Oasis

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Pros: Grounds, food, staff
Cons: Not much!
Location: This is a jumping off point. The national zoo is across the street and there are lots of local food places nearby.
The Martino is an excellent welcome to Costa Rica. Start your trip here for good food, great staff an an Olympic pool.