Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saginaw, TX

The hotel staff was great going above and beyond

Posted Feb 16, 2017
The hotel staff is great! They went above and beyond to make our stay in Costa Rica one to remember. We checked in in my birthday and they surprised me with sending a birthday cake to the room. Made us fell very welcome. Thanks to the entire staff for making our stay such a pleasure!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2017
First time in my life experience we had to change the dirty linen for our beds. It was dirty, they did not changed it from the previous guests! INCREDIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! the most terrible hotel I've ever seen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice respite before leaving the country

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Food, service, airport shuttle and room appointed nicely.
This was my first stay at the hotel and mostly it was a pleasant surprise. They were doing a bit of repainting but it's a lovely, well-maintained hotel. Restaurant was fine (try the lunch buffet option, very tasty and a great value), wait staff very good. My room was peaceful and clean. There is a casino in the hotel but I didn't visit it. I only knew the casino was there by signage... it's not intrusive to the rest of the venue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Hotel has great location, its next to la sabana park, and its very quiet
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Do Not stay....

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Listing is completely wrong....it is not close to the airport us listed. It will take 1 hours to get the the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice staff, soft towels, decent location

Posted Nov 19, 2016
My experience was not great, but I tried to make the best of it. Starting with my arrival, I was suppose to be met by a shuttle. I searched through the mob of people trying to find a person with a placard containing my name ir at least find a vehicle marked with my hotel name. Neither of those things happened. I waited and waited. I emailed the hotel, got a response that they received the email and would get back to me, but never did. I tried calling but my phone didn't work or they weren't answering. After 3 hours, a taxi driver tried to help me and called multiple times from his cell phone. He could not get an answer either. I finally decided that I had better just pay the outrageous cab fare - $28 is for an 8 mi drive. The hotel said they would look into it, but never told me what went wrong. I found out they use a service that has a bame on the van unaffiliated with the hotel. Information thst would have probably saved me hours of time as I had seen one of their vehicles at least once while waiting. I am apalled at the lack of service here since I was a female traveling alone in a foreign country with no instructions as to where to meet my ride or what to look for. The hotel was decent, not great, but the price was reasonable. I thought I saw a pool when I booked, but there was not one. A staff member was waiting by my door at the time I had to leave to inventory the mini bar. The wine I had seemed previously opened and was sour.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Room Meh, Breakfast Oustanding

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: The included breakfast was one of the best I have had anywhere, especially given the price of the hotel.
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: No idea, arrived late at night and left early in the morning
The images of the hotel were definitely better than the real thing. The staff was very nice; however, the hotel room was less than I anticipated complete with dirty rug between the two beds. The hotel room was adequate for the one night we were in San Jose and actually in very good condition for Costa Rica; however, the images led me to believe a bit more. However, the included breakfast was one of the best I have had anywhere, especially given the price of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica, Playa Matapalo

Very nice hotel experience. Clean and comfortable

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness. Comfort, and great helpful staff
Cons: We would have liked our room to have a microwave
Location: We only stayed overnight, so we didn't have time to experience the things to do around the hotel
The hotel, room, and staff were very nice. We would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Main thing I like about the Palma Real Hotel is quality for a good price. You can find cheaper but with much less quality. Many times I have actually paid more for a hotel in similar areas of San Jose and have not received the overall experience I do at Palma Real. Easy access to the airport...easy access to downtown...nice breakfasts. The staff is very friendly too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Misleading location

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Price
Cons: Location, casino
Hotel is NOT 0.13miles from San Jose Airport but almost 10 miles (about a 20 minute drive)! There is a casino attached to hotel making is quite noisy