Ratings based on 357 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: The cleanliness and friendliness of staff.
Cons: Selection of food items.
Location: A large park full of paths for walking and running. Several soccer fields, basketball and tennis courts, rollerblade track, large lake.
The staff was very friendly, bed was good, hotel was clean, and food was really good. Even though the service was very friendly, is was slow-which I found to be the norm throughout Costa Rica. Often you had to ask for check or another drink. The food was very good, just wish they had more selection. Not much nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ponoka Alberta, Canada

Hotel is close to parks and bus routes.

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Clean and well kept.
Cons: I liked hotel just the way it is - no need for change.
Location: Located close to large park - Sports, horse back riding, paddle boats, etc.
Excellent breakfast buffet in clean spacious surroundings with joining plateau. Very appealing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

LOCATION IS MISLEADING!!!

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Cons: NEEDS TO CORRECT THE MAP, AND GIVE ACCURATE ACCESS
We had booked this hotel on expedia prior to coming on our Costa Rica Trip. Since we were renting a car, we wanted to drive and staying in a few different areas. When we were searching on expedia for hotels in monteverde, it says this hotels only 9 miles from it. (only an hour from our previous hotel) But once we were down in Costa Rica- we found out there is no access there, in that direction. You have to drive 3 HOURS around the lake to get to that location. so NO, it is NOT 9 mile drive from monteverde. its several HOURS!!!! so not happy about that. we called expedia to cancel- stating it was very misleading- and we needed to stay IN/near Monteverde… It was very difficult- and they (expedia) kept saying we may still get charged (even though we were canceling 24 hours in advance) we explained the website is misleading- and untrue. she kept trying to cal the hotel to confirm- but could not reach anybody on the phone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Hotel Palma Real

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: Good value, clean, quiet.
Cons: Minor maintanance items, (malfunctioning door lock which was repaired) towles weren't replaced the first day ( got new ones as soon as I asked)
Location: It is near the city park and soccer stadium although we did not have time to go. The Italian restaurant Olivia is litterally 10 steps from the casino
We were very pleased with our stay at this hotel and felt that it was excellent value for the price. The staff were friendly and helpful and took care of any small issues we had quickly. Our flight arrived late and the shuttle we arranged had left but when I called they sent another shuttle in about ten minutes. Check in was quick and easy in spite of the fact that the hotel was booked solid with two large tour groups. Of course we were tired from our trip so we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant. we were having some trouble deciding what to order when the waiter suggested we try the pizza which is not on the menu... it was great and reasonable, do try it. The included breakfast was also very good with hot and cold items, fresh juice and good coffee. This hotel is not downtown but there is a taxi stand just outside and you can get to the museums shops etc. for around $6-$8. Finally in the hotel description on Expedia it says there is a butterfly garden right next door. This is wrong! In fact when we asked at the front desk no one knew anything about it. I looked up the address on internet and our cab driver knew where it was across town, we did go and it was worth the visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Good hotel

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: the staff and the breakfast
Cons: The free airport shuttle. It should be clear at the booking or reservations of the room to request for free shuttle service
Location: I only used this hotel, because it was advertised that it was near the airport and that there was free shuttle service. Not sure what there is to do.
Good hotel, nice staff and great breakfast. When I made reservations, free shuttle to the airport was advertised. When I checked in and asked for the free shuttle service the next day, they told me that the free shuttle bus needed to be booked 24 hours in advance. That was not clear when we made reservations. The shuttle bus was however available to take us to the airport for $30. I think that this is false advertising. Make sure when people make reservations that there is an option where you can request the shuttle service. Do not advertise that the hotel is close to the airport and that there is free shuttle service if that is not the case. When you are travelling whilst on holidays, you don't always have the chance to call a hotel to request for shuttle service the next day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

For the price, I think hotel was pretty good.

Posted Jan 19, 2016
The staff was very helpful. All my requests were met promptly. Really enjoyed the free buffet breakfast. Kept me full for the entire morning and afternoon. OVER-ALL service was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wayside GA

Holiday Stay

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Cons: Get some items fix in the room, in some room the relaxing tube does not work, in other room the A/C will not keep the room cool.
I spent 2 days at your hotel one at the being of my Vacation in CR because my flight was so late getting to CR and the other when I left. I become friends with a couple of the employee which makes it enjoyable to go there. The hotel employees are very nice and friendly and which makes it very easy to talk. I have used this hotel for the past 4 years and will keep using it. It is in a good and safe location and close to a park.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Opposite of Pura vida

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: We like that this hotel was so bad that it motivated us to get the heck out and go to a different hotel, which became our new favorite hotel.
Cons: There's no hope for this hotel. I'm sorry, but it was clear that nothing could be improved enough to make us want to come here again. Lesson learned.
Location: There was a giant park nearby, and it was nice because it gave us somewhere to go because the room was so uncomfortable, smelly, and gross.
I will never understand how this place has the ratings it has on Expedia. I question if they are from actual paid/confirmed guests. The photos online are not an honest representation. We paid for a Superior Room with a King bed, and we got a tiny shoe box-sized standard room with two queen beds shoved inside. Air conditioner didn't work, room was hot. The rug on the floor looked like a 20 year old doormat. The bathroom was dirty and dark and gross. Paint on walls chipped and stained. We left the room to go for a walk and decide if we should even bother staying. When we returned we noticed that the beds were disgusting, the sheets were stained beyond belief, and the pillows inside the dirty cases made our skin crawl. The person at the front desk didn't smile and staff looked miserable upon check-in. We spent 10 days in Costa Rica traveling the country and wanted to stay somewhere a little more reasonably priced and nearer to the airport so we could leave the following morning and get to the airport with little trouble. This was a terrible mistake. We took our bags, after being at the hotel for only a few hours, and we left and went to a new hotel. To put it in perspective, we wanted out so badly that we didn't even bother telling the staff why we were leaving, just that we had an emergency and had to get to the airport. We got in a cab, and they took us to a different hotel. We disliked it so much we didn't even try getting a refund, which we know would be impossible anyway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Oaxaca

Torneo de Ajedrez

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: La ubicación, el desayuno, el precio
Cons: Algunas amenidades de los cuartos se agradecerían
Location: esta cercano al Parque Nacional
Muy comodo el hotel, el personal atento para atender nuestras necesidadades, buena ubicación cercana a donde se realizaba nuestro evento
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Not recommended, not clean, bad location.

Posted Jan 8, 2016
November 2015 Bad location with only a couple of places around to eat. We booked a superior suite with a king bed and were given a standard room with a queen bed. The room was not clean - hair all over the sheets and bathroom. After calling down to the front desk for the cleaning staff to see the room, the staff didn't think the room needed to be any cleaner. Would not recommend or stay here again.