Ratings based on 443 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice staff, soft towels, decent location

Posted Nov 19, 2016
My experience was not great, but I tried to make the best of it. Starting with my arrival, I was suppose to be met by a shuttle. I searched through the mob of people trying to find a person with a placard containing my name ir at least find a vehicle marked with my hotel name. Neither of those things happened. I waited and waited. I emailed the hotel, got a response that they received the email and would get back to me, but never did. I tried calling but my phone didn't work or they weren't answering. After 3 hours, a taxi driver tried to help me and called multiple times from his cell phone. He could not get an answer either. I finally decided that I had better just pay the outrageous cab fare - $28 is for an 8 mi drive. The hotel said they would look into it, but never told me what went wrong. I found out they use a service that has a bame on the van unaffiliated with the hotel. Information thst would have probably saved me hours of time as I had seen one of their vehicles at least once while waiting. I am apalled at the lack of service here since I was a female traveling alone in a foreign country with no instructions as to where to meet my ride or what to look for. The hotel was decent, not great, but the price was reasonable. I thought I saw a pool when I booked, but there was not one. A staff member was waiting by my door at the time I had to leave to inventory the mini bar. The wine I had seemed previously opened and was sour.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Room Meh, Breakfast Oustanding

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: The included breakfast was one of the best I have had anywhere, especially given the price of the hotel.
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: No idea, arrived late at night and left early in the morning
The images of the hotel were definitely better than the real thing. The staff was very nice; however, the hotel room was less than I anticipated complete with dirty rug between the two beds. The hotel room was adequate for the one night we were in San Jose and actually in very good condition for Costa Rica; however, the images led me to believe a bit more. However, the included breakfast was one of the best I have had anywhere, especially given the price of the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica, Playa Matapalo

Very nice hotel experience. Clean and comfortable

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness. Comfort, and great helpful staff
Cons: We would have liked our room to have a microwave
Location: We only stayed overnight, so we didn't have time to experience the things to do around the hotel
The hotel, room, and staff were very nice. We would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to friends.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Main thing I like about the Palma Real Hotel is quality for a good price. You can find cheaper but with much less quality. Many times I have actually paid more for a hotel in similar areas of San Jose and have not received the overall experience I do at Palma Real. Easy access to the airport...easy access to downtown...nice breakfasts. The staff is very friendly too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Misleading location

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Price
Cons: Location, casino
Hotel is NOT 0.13miles from San Jose Airport but almost 10 miles (about a 20 minute drive)! There is a casino attached to hotel making is quite noisy
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa, USA

Noisy Room with a leaky roof

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: The concierge was great. He helped me to schedule excursions and had great recommendations.
Cons: My rooms were not satisfactory and there was no refund or discount given for the state of the rooms.
Location: This hotel has a casino inside. There is a lovely italian restaurant next door. The stadium and Sabana Park are about a block away.
I stayed one night on the third floor at the Palma Real. The noise from the lobby bar was quite loud until after 10. I stayed in October, which is during the rainy season and woke to a wet bathroom floor and counter. The ceiling was leaking and there were pieces falling into the tub and sink. When I brought it up to the front desk, they sent someone to inspect and moved me to another room. That room had no lights in the bathroom or entry. There was no discount or refund given for my stay. I was not able to shower or get ready in the morning from either of these rooms. I would not recommend staying here.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach, VA, U S A

Here on vacation.

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Very nice hotel, clean and excellent staff. Responsive to anything to make your day better.
Cons: Location could have been closer to town, they could have more information on tours.
Location: Have already told you about the lack of options close by the hotel. There is a Brazilian Restaurant fairly close that is excellent but you need transp
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dirty

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Room was dirty counters sticky and not cleaned, wallpaper coming off walls. Does not appear to be a safe area. Appeared to of gotten gas siphoned from out tank.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach, VA, U S A

Great hotel in San Jose. Thanks

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Very upscale, great breakfast, staff very accomidating.
Cons: Location is not the greatest, buses are a little away, not walkable.
Location: Again, hotel is not near downtown, busses have few people who speak English.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from atlants, GA

Nice hotel.

Posted Sep 30, 2016
I'm in a hurry. Hotel was great. Needs new towels.