Ratings based on 859 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great location, Great Staff

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Hotel Staff, and location
Cons: Presently they are in the process of renovating, therefore I will have to wait to make recommendations if any.
Location: Location is Prime. Within safe walking distance to museums, theater, parks, banks, shops, and all kinds of food.
We stood at Hotel Presidente during Oct. 18 – 25, 2016. The hotel is situated at the corner of a pedestrian walk within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. We actually visited The National Museum, Jade Museum, Gold Museum, National Theater, Zoo (Zoológico y Jardín Botancio), all within safe walking distance. We took a taxis to Museo de Arte Costarricense, but we did walk back to the hotel, stopping to have an early dinner at “ La Bodeguita Del Medio”. Now about the hotel. I selected Hotel Presidente based on location and on-line review. Location is Prime, and the Hotel is 5 Stars for its staff. I have travelled many places and very few has a staff as friendly, courteous, and polite as the people I met here, from front desk, restaurant, room service, bell person that greet you upon arriving at the entrance, all were great. My room was a standard 2 queen beds on the seventh floor. The size of the room, and bathroom was comfortable for a seven nights stay, and the T.V., Internet, and air conditioner worked fine. I didn’t experience any problem with noise during my entire stay. The room as well as the entire hotel is very clean, and I have to mention that the breakfast was delicious with so many options to choose from. I wish to thank the entire staff of Hotel Presidente for an enjoyable and memorable stay. Also my thanks to owner Mario M. for maintaining such a wonderful team.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atl.Ga

Upon my arrival I was greeted with a warm welcome

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: Hotel is primarily in the center of the city. Great views. Restaurants,banks and shopping all in the area.
The rooms were very comfortable, spacious and neat. Room service was very timely. Great city views; hotel was very clean. And "NO" I don't work for the hotel!!!..honest review.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Buen Hotel en el centro de San Jose

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Su ubicación ya que me interesaba conocer los atractivos del centro de San Jose. También me gusto su diseño, instalaciones, calidad y servicio.
Cons: El trafico en la zona en ciertos horarios puede ser complicado. Es una zona muy bulliciosa y congestionada.
Location: Hotel ubicado en el centro de San Jose a pocas cuadras de la catedral, asi como de varios museos y parques, rodeado de muchas tiendas y restaurants.
Moderno y agradable hotel ubicado en el corazón mismo de la ciudad de San Jose, en una zona bulliciosa rodeado de tiendas, restaurants, oficinas, museos, iglesias, parques, edificios, etc. Ideal para turistas interesados en explorar caminando el centro de la ciudad y hospedarse en un hotel de buena calidad, con habitaciones limpias, confortables y en muy buen estado, además de un buen servicio del personal en general.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only come here if your spending more than one nigh

Posted Oct 14, 2016
If you need a hotel for the night before you catch a flight then I would recommend staying in Alajuela. It's closer cheaper and more convenient to the airport. Downtown San Jose is about 30-45 min drive depending on traffic, and there will always be traffic. On top of that the hotel charges $35 each way to shuttle. You could prob get a cab cheaper I found one for $20 but on the way out I couldn't. Another option is the bus which is super cheap if your more adventurous. Hotel is modern, nice and close to everything. The beds were not great, I had a hard time sleeping, and I like a hard mattress but when you can't get your pillow to conform it's going to be very uncomfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Very good hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: Location is great to see the city center and with the pedestrian walk ways just out the front door makes walking, shopping great.
I have stay here before and it was very nice before but it is even better now. I know they were going through renovation in the last year but it seems that night they also got new beds and linens, not sure what it was but I was impressed. The staff is always pleasant and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location in downtown San Jose.

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Excellent & friendly staff, quirky reception areas and comfortable room
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colombia

Kind of nice hotel Not so good zone

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Common zones architecture is amazing but rooms are not that nice. i didn,t feel very safe in the neighbourhood.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Great hotel in the heart San Jose

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Staff, cleanliness, room size, comfort, parking, free and delicious breakfast.
Location: Walking distance to all historic sites in center city San Jose, museums etc.
Modern hotel, large rooms, comfy beds, really friendly and helpful staff in the heart of center city San Jose and easy walking distance to all of the city's sights. Parking for my rental was a huge plus and free and delicious breakfast every morning was icing on the cake! In particular Oscar was exceptionally helpful with places to go and requests and Andrea, who hosts the breakfasts every morning, was always welcoming with a big smile! Thank you guys, I will be back :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fr Miami Fl

Wonderful hotel conditions. Wonderful service

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Could not say enough. Highly recommended. All arrangements for pick up ftom airport and within city to Ticabus on time and perfect. Courteous friendly and centric. Good price.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very professional staff

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Perfect location in the middle of the town. Very safe hotel with private (and free) parking for your car. Excellent breakfast. There was an issue with the A/C in our room. The staff reacted very professional about our complaint and reduced our room rate by 50%. In addition we were invited for dinner. Pefect!