Ratings based on 931 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beaumont, TX

Centrally located gem.

Posted May 23, 2017
Centrally located, Hotel Presidente offer easy access to San Jose downtown. Within walking distance to downtown attractions, this serve as ideal base for anyone wishing to explore on foot. Interesting blend of contemporary industrial architecture and decors reminds visitors of the building's original purpose. Don't forget to take the spiral stairway to rooftop garden or the café upstairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Staff was the best! they go out of their way.

Posted May 23, 2017
I would stay there again next time we visit Costa Rica.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

So much fun! Rooms are awesome!

Posted May 19, 2017
Breakfast is amazing! Best breakfast I had the entire week I was in Costa Rica. The rooms are awesome, especially on the 8th Floor! Cool balcony with City view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel close to museums and restaurants

Posted May 19, 2017
Construction on Calle 7 made it difficult to access. We finally parked and walked. Great manager helped get the car to the hotel and made arrangements to have the rental company pick it up and provided a taxi to the airport in addition to a room upgrade. Other than a constant broken elevator, it was an outstanding hotel experience. The breakfast was great too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st petersburg fl

good walking

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: nothing
Location: museums and great restaurants
very friendly and nice staff good service very enjoyable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Respectable hotel in a good location

Posted May 17, 2017
Pro: location in shopping/tourist area, more upscale than most, breakfast buffet included, courteous staff Cons: cryptic and inadequate a/c, street noise could be a bit distracting Little knowledge and experience with San Jose, so nothing to compare against. Liked being able to walk out the door, into a shopping area that offers both the usual American chain options, and local offerings. Felt safe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Start and End

Posted May 8, 2017
Stayed here twice during my elopement to Costa Rica. We started our vacation here before traveling to Manuel Antonio and again on our way back. It isn't that close to the airport, but it's on the middle of downtown San Jose. Close to the museums and theater. The hotel is unique and clever. Not cookie cutter and the breakfast is a plus. The staff completely surprised us on our last stay with a special gift for our marriage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Unique hotel, tucked away right off a busy street like a little retreat from the hustle. Cool eclectic lobby, clean modern room with comfy bed, luxurious linens, and a great shower. Super friendly staff and a delicious breakfast that was included all for a great price means we will stay here again on our next stopover in San Jose.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Terrific weekend experience

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Hotel Presidente thought of everything. A shuttle was waiting for us at the airport, the front desk was extremely helpful booking last minute tours for us and set up a driver for an out of town trip at reasonable prices. Extra touches to this boutique hotel were appreciated: lobby computer with printer, hot tea and free breakfast items for those not able to make the regular breakfast at 6 am. There is a fresh breakfast buffet in the restaurant that was varies each morning. The rooms were large with free water, oversize showers and super comfortable beds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Palm Beach , Florida

Safe , clean hotel with excellent staff

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Definitely recommend. Clean room, helpful staff , great atmosphere. We'll be back .