Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Expected more

Posted Jan 9, 2017
This is a very mediocre hotel for the area, there are much better options for a little bit more money. The facilities are not kept well, there is no parking, it is in a residential area, there is no staff (only the owners in pijamas). It all just feels wrong.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2015
Location is good and close to airport. Manager/owner was not very customer service oriented. Other than that, the place is good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hallandale Beach Florida

Nice Hotel in a good place

Posted Nov 27, 2015
I will like to go back soon, nice please to stay with confort
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The owner no with good mood

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: Pool
The owner open up the door and she was angry because I reserve by expedia
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Bonito, Limpio, Seguro, Comodo and priced well.

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: The staff and the room cleanliness. The free WiFi internet speed was good all over the property. I used Skype to make clear phone calls often.
Cons: The hotel is a little bit dated, but that is part of its charm frankly.
Location: The Cariari Mall and the Pedregal Event Plazas are nearby.
Pedro and Anita were very accommodating during our (3 family member) 5 night stay at Hotel Puerta del Sol. Shopping (for groceries and otherwise) at the Cariari Mall nearby was available. The hotel is near the airport and the room was very clean and comfortable. The A/C worked perfectly although was not really necessary at this time of year in the Costa-Rican Central Valley. The amply sized room had a wide variety of cable channels a ceiling fan as well. The Hard Rock Cafe was nearby too! Hotel Puerta del Sol is priced in a manner that is proper, unlike some of the hotels in the San Jose vicinity. I recommend the hotel wholeheartedly. Pura Vida!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2014
It was a good experience, the place is full of green zones which is very nice, the room is very nice and clean and i get a breakfast extremely delicius!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Josie from Florida, USA

Comfortable hotel with a great location

Posted Oct 22, 2012
Pros: The true Costa Rican feel, and they helped with the tours
Cons: Nothing comes to mind
Location: Upscale Alajuela, very close to the mall and the bus stop. Close enough to San Jose (bus ride is a US dollar). Absolutely no traffic
My sister and I wanted to experience Costa Rica for our birthday, so we chose a small hotel owned by locals. We had a great time!!! There was a Costa Rican breakfast awaiting us every morning, and Ana Maria (the owner) ensured that we signed up for the best tours. Thanks Hotel Puerta del Sol!!!!!!! This was indeed a vacation that we will remember for a lifetime!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Muy agradable

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Me gusto, volvería a ir, es muy facil de llegar y un ambiente muy acogedor
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

HOTEL MUY SENCILLO

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Los pasajeros llegaron en un vuelo muy noche y por obvias razones llegaron muy tarde al hotel y fueron regañados por las personas porque llegaron muy tarde incluso les gritaron y regañados les dieron la habitación muy sencilla y al día siguiente no había agua caliente para darse una ducha. El personal del hotel les comento que no pasaran por el lobby porque solo era para supervisor, siempre tenían que pasar por la reja para entrar. debido a que el hotel no fue del agrado de una persona (Sr. Arturo García), se vio en la necesidad de salirse, cediendo la habitación a un compañero de trabajo que compartía habitación con otra persona en ese mismo hotel, a lo que el personal del hotel no le gusto y los corrió antes de terminar su estancia.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Prima optie dichtbij het vliegveld

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Puerta del Sol ligt dichtbij het vliegveld en de autoverhuurbedrijven, daardoor is het een ideale plek om te overnachten na een lange vlucht. De kamers zijn eenvoudig maar de vriendelijke ontvangst en het ontbijt maken een hoop goed. Bovendien is er gratis parkeergelegenheid. In de buurt bevindt zich een supermarktje voor de nodige inkopen.