Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Reasonably priced hotel close to the airport.

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: The staff is excellent. The value is good. Wifi in room is good. Good hotel for a night stopover before moving on with your travels.
Cons: The gate to the hotel is always closed and at times it took a lot of ringing of door bell for the gate to be opened. Hot water is an issue.
Location: The location is not good for anything to do. The hotel is ideal only for a night stay to/from airport.
For the price, the value is good. The only (and biggest) issue we had was that there was no hot water in sink or in shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Ricardo , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. This help us improving our service every day! Just to make it clear to everyone else, we do have hot water in every of our rooms, but in Costa Rica sometimes the shower key is twisted and it is the opposite, may be that was what happened. Also, as you remark we are an airport hotel for a good night sleep, even tho, there are shopping centers, restaurants really close by and also daily tours available! Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Great little hotel close to the airport

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Love this place, small family run hotel with clean rooms and good service. Looks like the turned their house into a hotel. In the back there is a covered patio where they prepare and cook all the food from scratch... you literally see them chopping them veggies. Some of the best and freshest food that I've had in Costa Rica.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Ricardo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. Here at Santa Maria Inn we try to offer the best service possible on an airport hotel. We are glad to know that your stay with us was full of satisfaction. This motivates us to keep the hard work going! Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Countryside inn

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Friendly staff, nice free breakfast, gated property, and yummy coffee candies.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great people, great place

Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Orbitz
good value shuttle included, great hot showers kh skh sdkasjh faskfhs kjhas kjsh fskjhskjfhsdjkfysysysiss
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with free airport shuttle

Posted Dec 29, 2016
It's a nice old hotel with free airport shuttle in addition you can return your rental car while you in the hotel and the rental company drop you at this hotel for free
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by Ricardo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We hope that your stay at our hotel was full of pleaseantness! Hope to see you soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Underwhelming

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Shower, internet.
Cons: Lighting, get rid of the bugs, better mattress, bedspread for people taller than 5'
Stayed here two nights. The staff was courteous, but not always around. There was no airport shuttle, but they offered to call a cab for me. Unfortunately, the morning I left, they were not around, so I walked down to the road, about 800m and hailed a cab there. The bed was uncomfortable and the cover was too short to cover my feet. There was only one dim light in the ceiling, no bedside lamp, so it was impossible to read in the room. There were noseeums in the room and they bit me for hours until I killed them all. That cost me most of a nights sleep. The shower was good, water was hot. The internet was good for Costa Rica. I did not get to try the breakfast as I left each day bedore they started serving at 7. I will not stay there again. There are better options nearby in the same price range.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tulsa

comfortable but not close to center of town

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Cons: transport
Location: nothing close, buses available
well there is no free ride to airport this is confusing from webpage, but info in room advises that transport is available for fee.
5 out of 5
by Kenya from Napa California

Perfect gem near airport

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
Arrived late because we were leaving for the airport early next day. Check in was fast and the guy who Che led us in was very friendly and proficient. They also offer free airport transfer which we took advantage of. Have attend here 4 times now and love it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Simple

Posted Apr 10, 2016
We got there late in the evening for a overnight stay. Over the phone we had prearranged a pick up from the nearby airport, which is advertised as one of their services. Unfortunately nobody came to pick us up. We had to take a taxi and find our own way. The host at the desk was very friendly, when we finally got there. The room was clean and extremely basic. The transport to the airport the next morning was taken care of by the hotel as promised.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2016
A great little place to stay when you want to be close to the airport! The staff is very friendly, and can usually drive you to the airport themselves, no matter what time your flight is at. I find it quiet here, and having a little community kitchen area is great too!