Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2018
Very nice staff they were helpful when ever i needed something ,food was good..
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2018 by Hotel Vesuvio, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: First of all I want to thank you for choosing Hotel Vesuvio for your hotel accommodation. Thanks for your review and for sharing your good experience at Hotel Vesuvio with expedia readers. I am glad to hear that the hotel staff was helpful during your stay with us. The guest satisfaction is our highest priority, we are constantly evaluating our staff to provide the best possible service. I hope you would stay with us next time you come to Costa Rica. Hope to see you soon! P.S. Next time you visit San Jose, Costa Rica book directly at www.hotelvesuvio.com for our best rates. Regards, Laura Jimenez General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Accommodating friendly staff in a safe environment . Juan Carlos prepared fine meals both for Breakfast and specifically dinner
4 out of 5
by Brian

Affordable Basic Hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2017 on Hotels
Basic hotel room , good for a economical stay in San Jose
4 out of 5
by Eddie

Good little hotel

Posted Nov 11, 2017 on Hotels
The staff is great. The restaurant is very good, chef is wonderful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

cheap and comforts.

Posted Jul 4, 2017 on CheapTickets
We chose this hotel because we needed a cheap hotel for 1 night before we drove to our vacation house. Our expectations were low due to the price( $70 for a family of 5). I was pleasantly surprised with the room and the friendly staff. The breakfast was decent and also included cooked to order eggs. This is not a Marriott but it is a decent hotel for the price if your stick in San Jose for the night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your comment about our staff and for sharing your experience with the Expedia readers. The guest satisfaction is our highest priority in Hotel Vesuvio, we are constantly evaluating our staff to provide the best possible service and try to improve it, so for this, we appreciated very much your comment. We agree with you about Hotel Vesuvio being the perfect location, very near to the zoo, shopping, museums, banks, restaurants, since we are located in a safe and quiet residential area just 5 minutes walk to the center. I hope you would stay with us next time you come to San Jose. We hope to see you in your next visit to Costa Rica. Kind Regards, Laura Jimenez General Manager
4 out of 5
by Matthew

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
Overall pretty good! The $40 deposit for the TV remote was strange and unsettling. If I was going to steal a TV remote, why not just steal the flatscreen TV that went with it and wasn't even bolted down to anything?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Safe hotel near Central San Jose

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Reception was amazing- thoughtful and helpful. It was welcoming and safe. Hotel was about a 20 minute walk to anything and everything of interest in San Jose. And we felt safe doing it (single mom with 3 kids aged 9, 7 and 5). Lots of food choices nearby. Hotel also has restaurant, but it was pricey and limited in its Costa Rican food. Definitely recommend!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Safe and Spacious

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
Very helpful and pleasant staff. Very safe hotel. Rooms are quite spacious for location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
Affordable shuttle service from the airport. Cheaper than a cab I think. Wifi connection was good. Could hear trains early in the morning but overall not too bad
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convienent, Inexpensive Stay

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
Located in the downtown area, value 2.5 star hotel, good for an inexpensive stay for people in transit through the country