Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great service in excellent kept grounds

Posted May 1, 2016
Was more relaxing and beautiful than expected. Extremely clean throughout. The entire facility is kept immaculate; from the rooms to the gardens, trees and pools. The views are amazing especially at night. The service from the staff was incredible and very much appreciated. Very good food, cold drinks, and prompt service with a smile. Being in a very remote area forced us to stay within the resort during our stay and relax while being pampered by the attentive staff. I know there are options to explore outside of the resort, but we chose to stay put during our stay. We enjoyed a very much needed romantic vacation with nothing to worry about. We really enjoyed the freedom and quietness as well as the opportunity to enjoy nature nude when we felt like it. Thank you to Laura, Angela, Luis, and the rest of the staff for making this vacation an unforgettable one.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from costa rica

adult hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: the staff was a very good people and the breakfast was good
Cons: change the name of catalinas suites and put the real name hotel desiere so people does not make the mistake and buy it.
my experience was nice , but you have to tell the people that the hotel is for swingers couples because the real name of the hotel is hotel desiere, and people are walking in bathsrope, and the presidential suite that we buy, the carpet smells, the courtain did not work and it was a little disapointment. We ask for a room change and it was very nice near tennis court.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

hard to get to and find

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Friendly Personal and atmosphere
Cons: transportation back and fourth to the hotel
Location: nothing
with our rented car and directions that were supposed to be their in 30 minuted from the airport....took us 5 hours. We finally found someone whe lived there and we followed them. I never get lost while driving, but in Costa Rica the streets do not have names and sometimes come to dead end . We were going so much in circles that I seen the same person selling lottery ticket by the street. The place is like a guarded palace on the side of the mountain. The place does not have heat in the rooms. food excellent. grounds excellent. It overlooks San Jose at night and view is great. The Hot tub had a malfunction .... and the pool was shallow and cool. We got there at night and it was cool. We really could have used a blanket. Oh by the way the road to this place was really bad.. Would I go back... no.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by meme from texas

Great hotel in the mountains over looking the city

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Staff, location, nature, and the beautiful wood furnishings and interiors.
First time at this hotel and was a great surprise. There are two swimming pools and one is clothing optional. We had a great room in front of the pool, the room also had a full kitchen,living area, comfortable bed, and the property is located in a quiet area with plenty of nature. Also the nightly concert performed by the frogs in the pools by the main building.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Questionable near San Jose

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Leaving
Cons: N/A
Location: N/A
This hotel was so creepy we had to leave and find another hotel. Staff couldn't get our "room" unlocked after our efforts. Had a hard time getting anyone to let us in through the gate at dark. Expected an Adam's family member to appear. I was actually shocked that this hotel was offered through Expedia. Charge was non-refundable. Now I know why.
1 out of 5
by Nancy Williams from Roseville CA USA

Not as represented!

Posted Apr 4, 2014 on Hotels
The pictures on hotels.com did NOT represent the room we stayed in. We arrived at the beautiful place (apparently called the "Desire" Hotel), checked in, and then had to drove down a road to a completely different building that looked like a run-down house that had been converted to rooms. This is the Catalina. No wifi, no a/c, handle of hair dryer all taped up, one small soap at sink (none in shower), one shampoo, no coffee for coffee-maker, and generally in very poor condition. It was clean and the view was beautiful. It's not right, however, that we were mislead by pictures and description on hotels.com website.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful staff, helpful; very positive experience

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Very nice hotel, wonderful location: flowers, pool, jacuzzi- not in town, about 20 mn from Heredia. Very nice staff (especially Angela :), good food.
3 out of 5
by dave from england

Posted Mar 13, 2013 on Hotels
date feb 2013 sun night - friu morning. if you want a get away from it all for a couple of days this could be it. very quiet location and peaceful but be aware it is remote and you will nee transport otherwise. nice friendly staff. dinner is available and is edible but not adventurous. we did a 20 minute walkdown the dirt road to the el tigre restaurant one night - pleasant surroundings, better food but a lot more expensive. we stayed for five nights inc arrival late sunday and despite its well worn chalet rooms it was clean and quiet but i had hired a car for the days. beware state of roads (except a few toll roads) - typical average speeds i estimate at 15-20mph over a distance of say 60 miles to fortuna town thats 4 hrs !!!!!!!!!!! each way. back to hotel i had no complaints but it is not european standard even b&b but very nice grounds. hotel arrange taxi airport to hotel late sun night fo $25 dollars paid to driver. we are couple late fifties and easy going. we also stayed at the hotel europa after and then hotel luisiana
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pablo from San Jose, Costa Rica

Great hotel for couples

Posted Feb 16, 2013
Great for couples, privacy and no restrictions. Really clean, nice staff. Good location with amazing views of Central Valley
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dan and Lois from Northern Canada

a quiet romantic getaway

Posted Jan 19, 2013
Pros: the open space and privacy
Cons: cool shower. some housekeeping issues.
Location: great view but hard to get to. they do provide shuttle if requested.
Great view of San Jose. Lots of open space and gardens/flowers. A little off the beaten path and you need good directions and a gps to get there on your own but we did it with little problems and it was dark. A taxi might be better. Good food, included breakfast and basic kitchenettes available. Great for relaxed clothing optional vacation.