Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Warm, cozy and very helpful!

Posted Nov 24, 2016
We loved the feel of the lodge with the warmth of the fireplaces filling the rooms. The staff was wonderful in helping us rearrange our travel plans due to incoming weather. Sadly we had to leave a day early and didn't get to explore the area as planned, but staff made sure we had a bagged breakfast for our early departure. Definitely will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Heaven!!!!

Posted Sep 5, 2016
One of the nicest places we have ever stayed at. Everything was perfect from the start! First we got upgraded as we were on our honeymoon to the most amazing room! Clean and big but still cozy. Everything is though over and hand picked. Staff are super proffesional and possibly the nicest people I've met! The food was unbelievable!! Both breakfast which was included plus dinner that we ate at the lodge restaurant was also great. We had a wonderful time and would definitely recommend anyone coming to this area to not miss out on this peice of paradise!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

If it feels like a well let home.....

Posted Jul 11, 2016
What a wonderful two night experience for our family. The rooms were very comfortable - excellent beds. Very nice sitting rooms with fireplaces to keep warm, books to read and coffee/tea to enjoy the view. Great breakfast with fresh fruits from the local area. Very kind management. We will definitely return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Great spot! Beautiful architecture & great staff.

Posted Jul 3, 2016
The lodge itself is an amazing structure. The lighting and windows are beautiful. We ate breakfast and dinner at the lodge each day and were always surprised with how delicious it was. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Turn down service included bed warmers and chocolates. The staff were all great and so accommodating with any need we had. Property is beautifully maintained. We had my 2 young sons with us and they enjoyed playing games downstairs each afternoon. Would highly recommend this place and I hope to return one day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice hotel - too expensive

Posted May 5, 2016
Pros: Meals were outstanding; hotel grounds are beautiful.
Cons: Hotel rooms are significantly over priced - everyone in our party agreed this hotel (of the 6 we stayed in) was the worst value for the money we spent
Location: We visited the Butterfly Waterfall Park which was well worth the price. We also visited the Poas Volcano which was too foggy to view at 8am.
Most of the staff were very pleasant - unfortunately the young woman checking us in and out was not and this is the one person who should be friendly as she is the first person we met from the hotel; the meals were excellent; the room was very large, however furnishings and the room itself needed repairs (toilet paper holder coming off the wall, frayed couch, painting needed, water damage in the bathroom, etc). This room was extremely over-priced compared to other Costa Rican hotels we stayed in during our 2 week vacation. You need your own car to get to this hotel. Suggest doing the local Poas activities as a day trip with a tour rather than staying in Poas.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FLORIDA

SIMPLE LODGE FOR OVERNIGHT STAY

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: CLOSE TO THE AIRPORT MAYBE AN HOUR AWAY.
Cons: SERVICE SHOULD DEFINITELY IMPROVE.
Location: SIMPLE LODGE IN THE MIDDLE OF NOWHERE BUT CLOSE TO POAS VOLCANO (20KM AWAY) AND CLOSE TO THE AIRPORT.
THE LODGE WAS NICE BUT THE STAFF WAS NOT FRIENDLY. THEY ARE HELPFUL BUT DO NOT EXPECT ANY SERVICE. OVERALL IT WAS OK FOR A OVERNIGHT STAY.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Nice hotel close to Poas volcano

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: The extra refined touches in such a rustic setting.
Cons: Signage.
Location: Poas volcano is the obvious one. la Paz waterfalls ($40 per person entry fee) excellent buffet style restaurant
The hotel consists of a main house (rebuilt after an earthquake in 2009) and a separate structure for four cabins. The main house is actually elegant and cozy...beautiful Persian rugs and very nice groupings of sofas and chairs, a Large wooden table with books on Costa Rica, nice art work. There is a separate dining area which is also impeccably decorated. The food was excellent. The cabins are more rustic but very nicely done. The bed linens were crisply clean. The bathroom recently remodeled. They provide a French press for your morning coffee and we found a fur covered hot water bottle inside our bed when we turned down the sheets at night. Very, very nice. Great cows next door, by the way!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent, secluded, and welcoming.

Posted Dec 19, 2015
Cons: The only small criticism we had was that the only heat for the room was a small portable heater. It got a bit chilly, although not uncomfortable.
Location: It's a short drive to Volcan Poas, which is the highlight for this immediate area. We drove into San Jose for a day trip, which was about 1 hour.
This hotel (not really kind of a retreat/B&B) is set away from the surrounding towns and is in the middle of a small working farm. You drive past cows and milking stalls on the way in....you feel that you're stepping even further away from your busy life to a simpler time. When you step inside it does take a while to realize you are really in someones home, and it's very welcoming. There are fires going in the stoves and fireplaces each evening, all the guests and staff are friendly, and feel like family very quickly. We were lucky to be staying when the owner was also there. He is a wonderful gentleman and we spent several evenings sitting by the fire, sipping wine, and taking about his intriguing life, history of the house and property, and he was a gracious host always making sure to ask about us and our travels, family, etc. The restaurant is very nice. It is not 5-star, and the menu is a bit limited, but it's definitely very good and the staff did a very nice job accommodating our dietary restrictions. Breakfast is simple but fresh. Dinner is the highlight and the wine list was very nice. We stayed in rooms set across the entry road, which felt a bit more like hotel rooms than rooms inside the main house. They have a 'lodge' type feel with rustic furniture, nice chairs on the porch, a nice large shower, and plenty of tea and coffee options to choose from each morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GA

Beautiful lodge and meals in cloud forest.

Posted Dec 3, 2015
After nudging cows out of the road we discovered a hidden gem with hiking trails, a cozy library, attentive staff, and comfortable room. Nice touches like flowers and strawberries in the room, and boots to use for hiking added to the pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Princeton, NJ

Excellent for a quiet vacation close to nature

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Pros: Location, decor, staff, and particularly the 4 nature trails that take you deep into the cloud forest.
Cons: I wish the trails were better marked. Unless you have your own vehicle, it is difficult to go anywhere from the lodge, but to us this was not an issue
Location: Poas Volcano is close by, but unless you have your own car, it is hard to get anywhere as the lodge is fairly remote. But this is also a plus.
Comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast, helpful staff. There are very interesting nature trails in the property that we enjoyed. The owner takes pride in this lodge, and it shows. The "lobby" area is very homely with an excellent collection of books that you can browse, and the library is very welcoming with wood fireplace and comfortable chairs. From the breakfast room there is an excellent view of the valley below. You can see a variety of birds on the natural birdfeeder that can be seen from the breakfast room and library. On the whole, a very enjoyable 2 days.