Ratings based on 837 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: The architecture
Cons: Room ventilation
Location: Location is central to do many things like visit the National Theatre.
Overall, my stay was okay. The only thing I thought it can improve is better room ventilation. The musty smell was rather strong, but bearable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Meryen Ureña, Hotel Management
Dear Charles, Thank you so much for sharing your comments, but also for taking the time to share your experience. We really work as hard as we can to make our great guests, such as yourself, feel welcomed, appreciated and as comfortable as possible. Our staff is always happy to exceed your expectations; we use our values to improve every day and make the guests feel comfortable in their stay. Your feedback will serve as a key tool for us, so we can continually improve our services. We appreciate your opinions and it will be an honor if you consider as again in the future. Sincerely, Meryen Ureña
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Paso, TX

Confortable

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: The staff were courteous and the amenities were good.
Cons: Sidewalks leading to the street. We had to walk in traffic to exit to the street leading in and out.
Location: Location is good for tours.
Hotel is a little dated. They had some events during the weekend that made it difficult to maneuver through the entrance and lobby to the room. We had to get out of our taxi a the street one evening because of a line of cars waiting to pickup people at these events and no one to control the traffic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Meryen Ureña, Hotel Management
Dear Andres, Thank you so much for sharing your comments, but also for taking the time to share your experience. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Your feedback will serve as a key tool for us, so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Sincerely, Meryen Ureña
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Nice hotel and friendly staff. Gray line rep was very helpful in making sure your booked activities/plans go smoothly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Meryen Ureña, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you so much for sharing your comments, but also for taking the time to share your experience. We really work as hard as we can to make our great guests, such as yourself, feel welcomed, appreciated and as comfortable as possible. Our staff is always happy to exceed your expectations; we use our values to improve every day and make the guests feel comfortable in their stay. We hope that you give us the opportunity to serve you in the future. Sincerely, Meryen Ureña
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Loud and definitely outdated.

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Our room had a terrible location. Room #4011. Right next to the main highway. During the night you would hear the trucks and cars and suprisingly the rooms were not even slightly sound proof. When you go to a hotel you except quiteness and relaxation. Here you would hear the people in the hallway walking and screaming during the night and you could hear the people NEXT door. Rooms are outdated. Also, pillows and blankets were stained. Terrible room and location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Ever Chacón S. , Hotel Management
Dear Josue, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us, On behalf of all Radisson Staff we apologize for the inconvenience you mention, we will work to improve our service. Best Regards,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Graham, WA

Online description not accurate

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Was stuck in Costa Rica due to hurricane moved to this hotel to be closer to airport and amenities. Items listed were not provided staff was not helpful: called front desk for face cloths and never bothered to bring them. Inquired about ice due language barrier could not get that. Inquired about coffee in room due to having maker was told only provided the first night by front desk. Was no comfortable place to eat lunch with five year old granddaughter. Pool did not look clean. For something rated at five stars makes me wonder what those stars are for
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Meryen Ureña, Hotel Management
Dear Lori, Thank you so much for sharing your comments, but also for taking the time to share your experience. We really work as hard as we can to make our great guests, such as yourself, feel welcomed, appreciated and as comfortable as possible. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. This is not the kind of experience we want our valued guests to have. We take pride in our “Yes I Can!” culture and do apologize that you did not receive this level of service. Your feedback will serve as a key tool for us, so we can continually improve our services. We will make sure that your comments will be forwarded to the hotel management. We appreciate your opinions and it will be an honor if you consider as again in the future. Sincerely, Meryen Ureña
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not really a good location

Posted Aug 29, 2017
better options in San Jose, did not like the neighborhood.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Meryen Ureña, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for sharing your comments, but also for taking the time to share your experience. We really work as hard as we can to make our great guests, such as yourself, feel welcomed, appreciated and as comfortable as possible. Our staff is always happy to exceed your expectations; we use our values to improve every day and make the guests feel comfortable in their stay. We appreciate your opinions and it will be an honor if you consider as again in the future. Sincerely, Meryen Ureña
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Great hotel in the city

Posted Aug 26, 2017
I enjoyed my stay at the Raddison San Jose. The location was very convenient to downtown. Transportation was easily assessible to adventure across the island.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Meryen Ureña, Hotel Management
Dear Tina, Thank you so much for sharing your comments, but also for taking the time to share your experience. Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It is a real pleasure to read that your stay with us met all your expectations and with that we certainly have achieved our goal as a Hotel. We appreciate your opinions and it will be an honor if you consider as again in the future. Sincerely, Meryen Ureña
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Fl

Ok hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2017
The room was okay. Housekeeping was very stingy with the toiletries but was looking for a great tip. The hotel was quite far from the hotel. It costed $30 to get from the airport to the hotel. You have to catch a cab to go anywhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Meryen Ureña, Hotel Management
Dear Debbie, Thank you so much for sharing your comments, but also for taking the time to share your experience. We really work as hard as we can to make our great guests, such as yourself, feel welcomed, appreciated and as comfortable as possible. We sincerely apologize for the multiple issues you've encountered during your stay. This is not the kind of experience we want our valued guests to have. Your feedback will serve as a key tool for us, so we can continually improve our services. Sincerely, Meryen Ureña
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Great hotel near downtown

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location, rooms, and breakfast.
Cons: They have ample parking, but if it coincides with an event at the hotel, then it can get tricky.
Location: Close enough to downtown, easy access to the East and West part of the city.
Great option for business in San José. Room well equiped. A few blocks from downtown, would not suggest walking there, tough. Close to East and West parts of the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Meryen Ureña, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you so much for sharing your comments, but also for taking the time to share your experience. We really work as hard as we can to make our great guests, such as yourself, feel welcomed, appreciated and as comfortable as possible. Our staff is always happy to exceed your expectations; we use our values to improve every day and make the guests feel comfortable in their stay. Your feedback will serve as a key tool for us, so we can continually improve our services. Sincerely, Meryen Ureña
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Good hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Rooms spacious and clean
Cons: TV quality
Location: Close to downtown.
Happy with service. Nice rooms. Good restaurant. Very firendly staff. Cleaning service very good. Happy with service. Nice rooms. Good restaurant. Very firendly staff. Cleaning service very good. Happy with service. Nice rooms. Good restaurant. Very firendly staff. Cleaning service very good. Happy with service. Nice rooms. Good restaurant. Very firendly staff. Cleaning service very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Meryen Ureña, Hotel Management
Dear Luis, Thank you so much for sharing your comments, but also for taking the time to share your experience. We really work as hard as we can to make our great guests, such as yourself, feel welcomed, appreciated and as comfortable as possible. Our staff is always happy to exceed your expectations; we use our values to improve every day and make the guests feel comfortable in their stay. We appreciate your opinions and it will be an honor if you consider as again in the future. Sincerely, Meryen Ureña