Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, USA

Beautiful hotel

Posted May 12, 2016
Very nice hotel! Comfortable bed and the size of the room is good. The staff are very friendly and helpful, food is delicious and you can easily book your tours in the hotel. Most of the staff speak very good English. Strongly recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
by JEFFREY

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Arne from Trondheim, Norway

Conference hotel bordering a shopping mall

Posted Mar 25, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is a typical up-scale US-style conference hotel, bordering a big US-style shopping mall, far from the city center. Gorgeous if your main interests are shopping malls and/or staying most of the day by the pool, or if you attend a conference at the hotel. Otherwise, stay clear. Not for tourists with broader interests.
5 out of 5
by Bengt-Erik

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely and conveniently located hotel!

Posted Mar 8, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel with great pool and restaurant. Stayed one night to be close to airport and was pleasantly surprised.
5 out of 5
by Hailey

Great hotel!

Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
LOVED the Intercontinental! Wish I would have stayed here longer during my stay. The staff was fantastic, food was delicious, love the water pressure in the shower, and really loved having the cafe Britt espresso machine in the room. I will definitely stay here again and refer any friends visiting Escazu.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Hotel cares only about CostaRicans who lunch there

Posted Feb 23, 2016
Pros: Nithing
Cons: Everything. Service. Train employees, soundproof the doors, etc.
Location: Nothing. There is a shopping mall, but who comes to Costa Rica to shop. You can't walk to the mall anyway.
1) restaurants - terrible wait, every time even when half of the tables are empty. They keep tables available for Costa Ricans who come for business breakfast/ lunch/ dinner and weekend brunch. We had to wait for "included" buffet breakfast on a Sunday for 45-60 min when half of the tables inside were available. We don't come to Costa Rica to brunch, we come to see the sights. We were Late to the volcano tour and missed the view (deep could a descend around noon and then you can't see anything). When you complain the waiters show fingers or make signs behind your back. My young preteen child watched the waiter making derogatory signs behind my back. I felt I was in a 1 star hole, not in a 4.5 star hotel. 2) "room with a view" faces a huge roof and a highway. 3) noise from the lobby bar is heard in 4 th flor rooms at 2 am. Terrible acoustics, no roof, open architectural structure makes sounds from the lobby/bar/restaurant/shopping areas travel very far, up to the middle of the corridor. Stay as far from the elevators as possible. 4)there is nothing around it. Far from everything. Unless you have business meetings in Escazu don't stay there.
5 out of 5
by RICARDO from Fort Worth

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
I always enjoy my stay at this hotel. Very professional staff. Great and safe neighborhood. Great hotel restaurants and nice lobby bar.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mi experiencia

Posted Feb 12, 2016 on Hotels
En realidad el hospedaje estuvo muy bien, la comida (desayuno buffet) tenia un muy buen sabor y estuvo muy agusto. El unico inconveniente que puedo comentar es que la puerta de la habitacion por el viento creo que se mueve y parecia como que alguien estuviera tocando de repente, por lo demas todo estuvo excelente.