Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2016
A great hotel, great service, many amazing food options and conveniently located across the street from a Mall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Good Staff need to be more trained but most of them were good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s ottsdale AZ

Home base for Costa Rica trip

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: The hotel is very nice and upscale. It's very safe and clean. It's right next to a giant upscale mall which makes shopping (incl grocery and liquor) very convenient
Cons: The bathroom in room 360 had some serious scratches on the inside of the door and adjacent molding that should have been touched up. Also the drain is quite slow. Same in another room so it may the system
Location: We used this as our home base in San Jose and stayed there 3 different times during the week between trips to arenal, white water rafting and MA
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Beautiful hotel and pool area. It was clean. The staff was friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, USA

Beautiful hotel

Posted May 12, 2016
Very nice hotel! Comfortable bed and the size of the room is good. The staff are very friendly and helpful, food is delicious and you can easily book your tours in the hotel. Most of the staff speak very good English. Strongly recommend this hotel!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Hotel cares only about CostaRicans who lunch there

Posted Feb 23, 2016
Pros: Nithing
Cons: Everything. Service. Train employees, soundproof the doors, etc.
Location: Nothing. There is a shopping mall, but who comes to Costa Rica to shop. You can't walk to the mall anyway.
1) restaurants - terrible wait, every time even when half of the tables are empty. They keep tables available for Costa Ricans who come for business breakfast/ lunch/ dinner and weekend brunch. We had to wait for "included" buffet breakfast on a Sunday for 45-60 min when half of the tables inside were available. We don't come to Costa Rica to brunch, we come to see the sights. We were Late to the volcano tour and missed the view (deep could a descend around noon and then you can't see anything). When you complain the waiters show fingers or make signs behind your back. My young preteen child watched the waiter making derogatory signs behind my back. I felt I was in a 1 star hole, not in a 4.5 star hotel. 2) "room with a view" faces a huge roof and a highway. 3) noise from the lobby bar is heard in 4 th flor rooms at 2 am. Terrible acoustics, no roof, open architectural structure makes sounds from the lobby/bar/restaurant/shopping areas travel very far, up to the middle of the corridor. Stay as far from the elevators as possible. 4)there is nothing around it. Far from everything. Unless you have business meetings in Escazu don't stay there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing service

Posted Jan 25, 2016
the hotel staff service was disappointing...hotel services (SPA) were overpriced and not up to par.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FERNANDEZ

Beautiful nice place and personal .

Posted Dec 9, 2015
Breakfast good everything you need.attention exclusively to every person.I'm sure that I can see you by next year.March or April.my best regards.Carlos FERNANDEZ.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, Oklahoma

Service

Posted Oct 1, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: The mall so close, wonderful
Everyone that worked there was incredible! So helpful in every way and yet so professional. The front desk helped so much getting us directions. Helping us get WiFi. Anything we needed they were so happy to accomodate. Like that across from Mall. The spa was a great experience and so relaxing. Thank you for all you did, I love the Costa Rica people.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dominican Republic

Somewhat near but NOT at Multiplaza Mall.

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: The food. The staff attitude (except for the man tending breakfast at the Executive tower second floor on Thursday 16 July 2015).
Cons: - Polish and wax marble table tops in room 779. - Replace sheets when soiled. - Make executive breakfast better not worse than The Market´s.
Location: The Multiplaza Mall is far away for me. You have to cross a pedestrian bridge and walk a while to reach it.
Well managed. Excellent food. Infrastructure somewhat old. "Executive" floors services not worth the price difference. The food and the attention at the Executive Breakfast room very poor (choices, service, quality, taste) when compared to the breakfast service at "The Market" (the regular cafeteria). I would prefer a newer hotel at a lower price than the Real Intercontinental Costa Rica.