Ratings based on 2,603 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Visiting my friends

Posted Feb 18, 2018
It was easy quick professional Valet people good everything was perfect
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the center of town

Posted Feb 11, 2018
Cons: The beds were too soft.
Very convenient for restaurants and entertainment. Also very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2018 by PR Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your positive feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel's convenient downtown location, and we hope to welcome you back soon. All the best, Public Relations and Marketing Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Great Hotel across from San Jose Convention Center

Posted Jan 19, 2018
Pros: Close to the San Jose Convention Center
Cons: The water temperature consistency in the shower. It was terrible!
The hotel was nice but the water pressure in the bathroom shower was either hot to cold and the bathtub fixtures were about to fall off. The beds were comfortable. The shower made me not want to rate them any higher. I heard others on our floor complain as well with the water temperature and pressure. If you have something to do at the San Jose Convention Center, I would recommend using this hotel, just ask about the water issue because maybe not all floors have this problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2018 by PR Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Cheri, Thank you for choosing the Fairmont San Jose and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad that you found your guest room to be comfortable and that you enjoyed our hotel's convenient location, however, we are sorry to read of the issues with the water temperature and pressure in your shower. We do read all posts and have shared yours with our engineering team so that they may investigate further. Thank you again for your valuable feedback, and we hope to welcome you back in the future. All the best, Public Relations and Marketing Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, WA

Comfort and Class

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Pros: Location, Atmosphere, great views.
Cons: NA
Location: Across the street form the Tech Center, which is a must to visit. Near old Chinatown.
When we check in the lady at the front desk was wonderful. They were giving away bracelets or the Xmas in the park even happening, but only one per family, she saw we had two little ones so she gave each one for themselves along with extra Xmas cookies they had for guest. The room was spacious and 1st class all the way, even free bath robes to use. After our stay we wanted to check out more of San Jose, lucky they have a porter Service so we could check our bags into their secure storage area until 6pm, again no cost. Parking is expensive, but you can leave you car in the Vallet until 6pm as well the day you check out if needed at no extra cost.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2018 by PR Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Tim, Thank you very much for your excellent review of the Fairmont San Jose. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your visit to San Jose and that our staff provided you with warm, engaging service. We truly look forward to welcoming you back in the future. All the best, Public Relations and Marketing Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Memorable and Classy Place

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Excellent room. Ours was in the second tower and it did not let us down one bit. The location of hotel is excellent with nearby restaurants and entertainment choices in walking distance. Will visit again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2018 by PR Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Tesh, Thank you very much for your excellent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your guest room and our hotel's convenient downtown location. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return! All the best, Public Relations and Marketing Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

GREAT Experience

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Great location and very well priced. We were able to walk across the street and go through Christmas in the Park. Tech Museum, San Jose Museum of Art and St. Joseph's Cathedral Basilica within walking distance from the hotel. Staff was courteous and very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2017 by PR Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your excellent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel's convenient downtown location and that our staff provided you with exceptional service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. All the best, Public Relations and Marketing Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san jose

Really nice view

Posted Dec 26, 2017
Great experience at the fiarmont, room was clean and everyone has very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2017 by PR Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your 5-star rating of the Fairmont San Jose. We are delighted that you had a great experience at our hotel, and we hope to welcome you back soon. All the best, Public Relations and Marketing Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Marin County

Nice hotel, great location but short of staff

Posted Dec 26, 2017
Pros: location and rooom
Cons: Staffing is lacking and so is the customer service. See my comments above.
Location: Came for the Christmas in the park and this was the best place to stay. Also this hotel is close to great resturants.
Arrived on Christmas eve at dinner time to find there was no one at the reception desk at there were 6 of us waiting to find some one to help us. I can't believe a famous hotel with such 4 stars cannot staff the hotel on such a busy day. I was surprised that there was no apology or effort to bring more people up front. I am wondering where was management? I found a similar problem the following day, where there were 2 people at the desk but one was busy with a personal conversation and standing in front of the computer where the other receptionist was trying to generate my receipt. After 10 minutes for Miss Gabby to stopping, I finally gave up and told the other receptionist to send me the receipt. The place is nice but it seems like staffing is a big issue during the holiday season and they need to be more customer focused. I would tell folks what to expect here and don't expect too much from this place. Might even be worth elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2018 by PR Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Belinda, Thank you for your post. We are sorry to read that your recent experience was anything less than extraordinary, as we always strive to provide our guests with truly remarkable stays. We do read all posts and have shared yours with our Front Desk team so that they will be aware of the issues you experienced. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to welcome you back in the future. All the best, Public Relations and Marketing Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minden, NV

Posted Dec 26, 2017
I drove in from my ranch in Nevada to see some friends in San Jose for Christmas.I was impressed by the holiday spirit projected by the entire staff. My accommodations were as comfortable, or maybe a little more comfortable than my home on the ranch. I think the staff strives to make each guest feel welcome and feel at home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2017 by PR Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Edward, Thank you so much for your fantastic review of the Fairmont San Jose. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff made you feel at home. We hope to welcome you back in the future for another remarkable stay. All the best, Public Relations and Marketing Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 25, 2017
Beautiful hotel. I would stay again. It is in a prime location!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2017 by PR Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. All the best, Public Relations and Marketing Manager