Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Nice hotel, peaceful grounds

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: The hotel overall is very nice, close to airport. Staff incredible nice and very attentive.
Cons: If you can improve the Hotel Sign visibility from the street, to make it easier to guests to find it.
Location: Not much to do in the area close to Hotel, except to visit the Poas Volcano, and the Butterflies gardens.
The hotel sign is not big enough and its very hard to find, specially if you are driving at night into San Jose. Crazy traffic in San Jose and very poorly marked avenues and streets, makes it very hard drive into the hotel. Once you enter the hotel, it is indeed very nice, and the grounds are very pleasing. The staff is extremely accommodating and very helpful. The rooms are nice and very spacious, no AC on the rooms, but not too bad, San Jose is usually cool at night. Airport is very near for convenience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Good place to stay close to the airport

Posted Nov 19, 2016
We arrived around 6:30 on a Friday night after driving in horrific traffic; it took us 30 minutes to go the last kilometer. I definitely recommend that you do not arrive during busy traffic times! The grounds and rooms are very pleasant, but we had a short stay with an early flight. We ate dinner after our arrival, and although the menu is limited we had a good meal with attentive service. The hotel arranged an early morning taxi to the airport. We wish we had more time to spend enjoying the peaceful surroundings in the midst of a busy city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Short stay, 3 nights, at the end of our Costa Rica

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: Close to the airport but a comfortable hacienda style hotel.
Location: There are some good restaurants nearby and a rescue zoo as well as a museum in Alajuela which has interesting historical artifacts about Costa Rica in
Trapp family Inn is an impressive, old style hotel with a good pool and a large garden with a lot of trees, flowers and birds. Although close to the airport the plane noise is not that bad and is a good choice for a last night or 2 before going home. We stayed in the low season so there were not many other guests however we were treated well and ate in the restaurant a couple of times and the food was good. The connection to the Trapp family of sound of music fame is real and there are pictures of the Austrian family in the lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel, great staff!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: I loved everything about this hotel! What
Cons: One rooms, the floor was not very clean. Would have been nice to have had a small fridge in roo
Location: Good location, easy access to airport and the buses.
Location, quiet and peaceful. Friendly staff , went above and beyond to accommodate the desk and make us feel at home .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Very close to the airport. Great staff. Perfect
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Beautiful grounds, excellent service!!!

Posted Oct 9, 2016
The staff at Trapp Family Country Inn is first rate!!! They accommodated me hours before official check-in and even gave me breakfast although the kitchen was officially all with no extra charge. The rooms are spacious, the beds comfortable, water pressure in the shower excellent. Everybody was very friendly and helpful!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to airport

Posted Sep 10, 2016
We stayed at this hotel one night to be close to the airport. Hotel was suprisingly beautiful and very tranquil. It is in a very lush setting with a river flowing behind. Staff was super friendly. Complimentary breakfast was great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth it.

Posted Sep 3, 2016
My wife and I love to travel and in 5 years we have traveling this was the worst hotel ever, we found previous guess dirty shoes in the closet, that can give you a good idea of how clean the room was. They offer to move us to a different room but in a hotel we only 8 rooms and the don't clean 1 out of 8 rooms properly didn't gave us a good impression, we asked to check out 15 minutes after we arrived. they agree to refund the rest of the reservation and only charge for one day since we use the room. After contacting Expedia they denied the refund. The place in pictures look great but the pool didn't seems to have any type of filtration, room smelled old and moldy didn't even ask for an ID at the checking or check out. Save your money and time by staying some where else.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, Florida

Hotel very close to the airport

Posted Aug 16, 2016
I really don't know why somebody gave this hotel 4 stars rating?! The idea is very good; private estate secluded in the tropical garden in the middle of a busy town located next to the International Airport. But it's noisy and with rundown rooms. The toilet was cloaked, so is the sink, there was no shampoo or bar soaps available, no air conditioner in the room and TV was not working. The restaurant has very limited menue and drink celection is poor. They didn't even have a sugar substitute or low carbs choice of food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Lovely lodge close to the airport.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Refreshing pool, pretty rooms, delicious jam at breakfast.