Ratings based on 208 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

A magical place to stay!

Posted May 20, 2017
You could spend a week at this wonderful resort and never be bored. The continental breakfast is incredible, the restaurant for dinner top class, the views breathtaking, the many pools perfect for doing laps or letting the kids play, and the many organized tours and trips are amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful & Friendly Staff with beautiful views

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: The staff was so friendly and helpful
Cons: nothing
Location: The location is in the central valley and within proximity of some of the popular sites such as the La Paz Waterfall Garden (1 1/2 hours)
My husband and I chose Xandari as the place to stay for our entire visit to Costa Rica. Boy, did we make the right choice. The hotel staff was so accomodating and friendly for all our needs. The Restaurant not only had a magnificent crew, they had a fabulous staff and the food was five star. We had the pleasure of eating there almost every day and we were NEVER disappointed. Overall, we look forward to returning to Xandari on our next trip to Costa Rica.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

wonderful ending to our trip

Posted May 13, 2017
Great resort close to airport but outside of hussle and bussle of San Jose. I did all the walking paths, very nice and well maintained. Restaurant food was unfortunately average for the price at supper. I had continental breakfast and thi was very good. We stayed in a larger villa and it was very spacious with a fantastic view of San Jose at night and in morning. Used the pools but not the spa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

Beautiful surroundings

Posted May 13, 2017
Stayed only one night, while traveling around CR and could not experience their amenities. Very good breakfast. Friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful quiet hotel away from the main stream

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: There is not much which cannot be liked about the hotel. We did simply enjoy the atmosphere in, around, about the hotel.
Cons: n/a
Location: The hotel is open to organize trips around Costa Rica. And the hotel has well signed hiking trails with some nice waterfalls to visit
The location is just beautiful and nicely embedded in the hills close to Alajuela. Not really for party goers and beautiful "boring". With nice little hiking trails and beautiful botanical gardens. The pools (3 pools) are spread over the area and are a pleasure to visit. The stuff is just great, open minding, and tremendously helpful. All wishes are addressed and every response is friendly and target driven. Organizing trips (incl. transports) are managed in a timely manner and arrangements did work out great. Not to finish with the great kitchen the hotel offers! With a lot of simply fresh food from the hotel garden...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Green Hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2017
We only stayed in the hotel overnight on our departure from Costa Rica. Beautiful individual casitas, with lots of windows and stylish furnishings. The sunset pool was really nice and offered fantastic views of San Jose. Walking from our little casita to the lobby/restaurant offered an amazing botanical trail. We were really comfortable! Recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent!

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: Coffee plantations
Excellent setting, excellent rooms, facilities, restaurant, gardens, pools. Just perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Bend IN

Xandari Resort

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Everthing--see above. One of a kind
Cons: Nothing
Location: Location is private,extensive and gorgeous
Unbeleivable architecture and design and location of viilla , amazing views of Central Valley day and nightgorgeous grounds, fabulous Sunset pool--long and at the edge of cliff. Great hiking trails.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location on a mountain

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros:Very comfortable hotel with lot of greenery and waterfall trails. Cons: Wifi is very poor. Food is awful. The only hotel in Costa Rica where we ate cold breakfast. No Tv in room for kids. You have to pay extra for omelettes. very expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pompano Beach, FL

Luxury digs in a beautiful natural setting

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Beautifully blends into the surrounding natural environment.
Cons: A la carte restaurant has good basic dishes but could use a little more imagination on the menu.
Location: Central location for Arenal hiking and ziplining.
The Tabacon Thermal resort is /the/ place to be in Tabacon. The hotel is architected to have minimal impact on the environment, yet provide luxury accommodations. The Tabacon springs are located just across from the property and access is included in the hotel rate. Service in the hotel is impeccable. Cheery and responsive staff will prep box breakfast and lunch for your excursions, even when departures are at 4:30 AM. Our ground floor suite was stunning, roomy and included access to a provide garden. Excellent destination.