Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Beautifully constructed and curated hotel. Everything you need is available. The staff is very attentive. The landscaping and botanical gardens are a treat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Would stay here over and over again.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Great hotel. The staff was extremely helpful. Don Edwin which was a worker there would escort us to our room at night with a golf cart so that we wouldn't have to walk. We only ate breakfast there and it was great! The views from our own balcony were beyond amazing!!!! Definitely reccomend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax, NS

Absolute heaven!

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Xandari is a mere 20 minutes from San Jose airport, but a world away. Spectacular grounds with hiking trails to waterfalls, greenhouses and orchards, winding paths where butterflies follow you along. An infinity pool suspended above the city of Alajuela. A great day trip to Poas Volcano, truly otherworldly. I did not want to leave this little piece of heaven.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Washington

Amazing retreat!

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: The room, the grounds, the breakfast. The peace.
Cons: A microwave in the room would have been a plus.
Location: The hotel is situated above San Jose. Try not to go down there if you can help it! This place is a destination in itself.
I've stayed in amazing hotels all around the world, but Xandari has moved into first place as my all-time favorite. It's like a little Eden on Earth. The room filled with original art was wonderful - the grounds were beyond gorgeous - the free breakfast was fabulous. I could have stayed there, never leaving the grounds, for at least a week. We were there two days and didn't get to experience even half of it. It is truly a healing place. The refrigerator - with the daily replenished free snacks - was an added bonus. The view was also spectacular. I loved how each room felt so private. The shower was incredible. Also the security was reassuring. Loved this place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Wonderful I would love to come back again!!!!

Posted Sep 8, 2016
I was very impressed with the location of the resort and all the mountains and waterfalls I would love to come back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the best hotels I've EVER stayed in

Posted Aug 30, 2016
The place is mind glowingly beautiful. Our villa was sublime, views amazing. Enjoy the sunset pool and the great gardens. This place is a MUST
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor, Michigan USA

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Our family recently stayed at the Xandari for two nights ( husband, myself, 2 college age kids and a high schooler)The Xandari has a beautiful setting and atmosphere. It has great hiking and waterfalls in the surrounding forest. The distant city views along with the lush greenery surrounding the resort, and colorful artwork and buildings is a sight to behold. The rooms are clean and spacious. We loved the design of the bathroom! We ate at the restaurant twice because it was delicious. The staff is friendly and always willing to help but do not bombard you with a fake enthusiasm. The whole place is both vibrant and tranquil at the same time. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to our friends who might visit Costa Rica some day. Book as many days here as you can; you will love it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lewiston, Maine

Do yourself a favor and stay here ASAP

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Everything! But I especially loved their commitment to their grounds, the environment, and sustainable practices.
Cons: I can't think of a thing!
Location: A bit of a ride downtown but we took Ubers for just a few bucks to get downtown. The location is so incredibly beautiful!
This is one of the best places I've stayed in the world! The staff, the food, the grounds, their commitment to sustainability and the environment is incredible. I cannot say a bad word about this place and I cannot wait to go back. I'm looking at booking a stay at one of their India resorts as well now!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Heredia, Costa Rica

Wonderful hotel for a couple of days of relaxing

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Spa, gardens, restaurant, staff
Cons: It would be wonderful to have a jacuzzi in the rooms or (even better) on the private terrace/balcony.
Very nice hotel with wonderful gardens, high quality restaurant and a really nice spa - make sure to book the jacuzzi in the private jalapa, preferably at night when it's dark, a wonderful and relaxing experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really friendly staff and great facilities.

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Really friendly staff and great facilities. We got to plant a tree and they will update us as it grows
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2016 by Marcela Arias, Hotel Management
Dear traveler...we are glad to hear you enjoyed them so much. Thanks for letting us know how you felt about our wonderful staff. Thank you for your contribution in our campaign Xandari Grows 1000. We hope to have the opportunity to offer you our hospitality in the near future.