Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

Amazing retreat!

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: The room, the grounds, the breakfast. The peace.
Cons: A microwave in the room would have been a plus.
Location: The hotel is situated above San Jose. Try not to go down there if you can help it! This place is a destination in itself.
I've stayed in amazing hotels all around the world, but Xandari has moved into first place as my all-time favorite. It's like a little Eden on Earth. The room filled with original art was wonderful - the grounds were beyond gorgeous - the free breakfast was fabulous. I could have stayed there, never leaving the grounds, for at least a week. We were there two days and didn't get to experience even half of it. It is truly a healing place. The refrigerator - with the daily replenished free snacks - was an added bonus. The view was also spectacular. I loved how each room felt so private. The shower was incredible. Also the security was reassuring. Loved this place!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Wonderful I would love to come back again!!!!

Posted Sep 8, 2016
I was very impressed with the location of the resort and all the mountains and waterfalls I would love to come back
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One of the best hotels I've EVER stayed in

Posted Aug 30, 2016
The place is mind glowingly beautiful. Our villa was sublime, views amazing. Enjoy the sunset pool and the great gardens. This place is a MUST
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tres grand avec avec super vue

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Super hôtel spacieux et lumineux avec une vue incroyable sur la ville
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor, Michigan USA

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Our family recently stayed at the Xandari for two nights ( husband, myself, 2 college age kids and a high schooler)The Xandari has a beautiful setting and atmosphere. It has great hiking and waterfalls in the surrounding forest. The distant city views along with the lush greenery surrounding the resort, and colorful artwork and buildings is a sight to behold. The rooms are clean and spacious. We loved the design of the bathroom! We ate at the restaurant twice because it was delicious. The staff is friendly and always willing to help but do not bombard you with a fake enthusiasm. The whole place is both vibrant and tranquil at the same time. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to our friends who might visit Costa Rica some day. Book as many days here as you can; you will love it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lewiston, Maine

Do yourself a favor and stay here ASAP

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Everything! But I especially loved their commitment to their grounds, the environment, and sustainable practices.
Cons: I can't think of a thing!
Location: A bit of a ride downtown but we took Ubers for just a few bucks to get downtown. The location is so incredibly beautiful!
This is one of the best places I've stayed in the world! The staff, the food, the grounds, their commitment to sustainability and the environment is incredible. I cannot say a bad word about this place and I cannot wait to go back. I'm looking at booking a stay at one of their India resorts as well now!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Muy linda la vista del valle, excelente SPA

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Muy amable es personal. Bonitas instalaciones y la caminata x los senderos y la catarata me encantó. Recomendado para huir de la ciudad sin manejar mucho.... El spa delicioso, relajante, mientras recibíamos el masaje llovía y se podía sentir la brisa de la lluvia...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

Wonderful hidden oasis

Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Orbitz
I stayed overnight at the Xandari resort with my wife and daughter. After driving through a questionable part of town, we finally reached this beautiful hidden resort. The staff welcomed us with a complimentary drink and gave us a tour of the property. The room was beautiful and spacious with a breathtaking view of the city up from the hill. Top amenities, modern comforts, beautiful bathroom. The room has no AC, which is not really needed due to the elevation. The property itself is gorgeous with waterfall filled nature trails and several pools through out the resort. My favorite part was the dinner we had at their only restaurant. The clouds were out that night and we were seated outside which made it a magical ambiance. The food is delicious and fresh, even the included continental breakfast. Customer service is outstanding and all of the people are very friendly. You have complimentary juices and snacks at the minibar in the room. Overall it was a great experience and I will defenitly be back. When staying here it feels like you are not really in San Jose but somewhere hidden in a mountain.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Heredia, Costa Rica

Wonderful hotel for a couple of days of relaxing

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Spa, gardens, restaurant, staff
Cons: It would be wonderful to have a jacuzzi in the rooms or (even better) on the private terrace/balcony.
Very nice hotel with wonderful gardens, high quality restaurant and a really nice spa - make sure to book the jacuzzi in the private jalapa, preferably at night when it's dark, a wonderful and relaxing experience!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great one night stay!

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
My husband and I only stayed for one night because we had an early flight out of San Jose. We loved the hiking trails, couples massage and the service at dinner was excellent! The rooms overlook the valley which is so beautiful even at night. Only con is the no AC and Poor internet connection. Otherwise, we had a great stay.