Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Green Hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2017
We only stayed in the hotel overnight on our departure from Costa Rica. Beautiful individual casitas, with lots of windows and stylish furnishings. The sunset pool was really nice and offered fantastic views of San Jose. Walking from our little casita to the lobby/restaurant offered an amazing botanical trail. We were really comfortable! Recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent!

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: Coffee plantations
Excellent setting, excellent rooms, facilities, restaurant, gardens, pools. Just perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Bend IN

Xandari Resort

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Everthing--see above. One of a kind
Cons: Nothing
Location: Location is private,extensive and gorgeous
Unbeleivable architecture and design and location of viilla , amazing views of Central Valley day and nightgorgeous grounds, fabulous Sunset pool--long and at the edge of cliff. Great hiking trails.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location on a mountain

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros:Very comfortable hotel with lot of greenery and waterfall trails. Cons: Wifi is very poor. Food is awful. The only hotel in Costa Rica where we ate cold breakfast. No Tv in room for kids. You have to pay extra for omelettes. very expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pompano Beach, FL

Luxury digs in a beautiful natural setting

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Beautifully blends into the surrounding natural environment.
Cons: A la carte restaurant has good basic dishes but could use a little more imagination on the menu.
Location: Central location for Arenal hiking and ziplining.
The Tabacon Thermal resort is /the/ place to be in Tabacon. The hotel is architected to have minimal impact on the environment, yet provide luxury accommodations. The Tabacon springs are located just across from the property and access is included in the hotel rate. Service in the hotel is impeccable. Cheery and responsive staff will prep box breakfast and lunch for your excursions, even when departures are at 4:30 AM. Our ground floor suite was stunning, roomy and included access to a provide garden. Excellent destination.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Nice hotel that's very relaxing

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Grounds, Staff, Rooms, View
Cons: Prices at restaurant
My wife and I spent the last night in CR here. It was a very nice way to end our vacation. The grounds are near perfect with walking trails and the infinity pool was a great way to watch the sunset and the city light up. There is no tv although we had our lab top and watched Netflix until we fell asleep. Prices at restaurant are insane ... 12-14 bucks for a grilled cheese! Crazy! The free breakfast was tasty and included meats and cheese with fruits and bread. Close to the airport and close to Poas ... even though the clouds covered it up we made the best of it. Guy told us before paying we had a 50/50 shot of seeing it, we went ahead and took the chance. The staff is all friendly .. we couldn't get our wifi to work and they sent a gentleman right of way and fixed the issue. Only downside is prices to eat ... we went and had food at a local off the back road place and it was delicious! It was a very relaxing way to end our 9 day adventure in CR.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dayton, NV

View of the city

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: The peacefulness
Cons: Food is very pricey and they couldn't get my steak well done, which was a real bummer, went to bed hungry on my birthday.
Location: Poas volcano very easy to get to. Beware I hear you can only see the crater like 50% of the time and we got there at eight!!! $32 wasted
Very relaxing place to stay. Everything is natural. Very clean, and the grounds are immaculate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dayton, NV

Very nice resort, extremely relaxing and beautiful

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: The grounds, the staff.
Cons: The food was down right pricey. and as I said above need to get those steaks done!!!
Location: Truly is 20 minutes from airport Easy to get to Poas, which is fickle. Got there at 8:00 and couldn't see a thing.
The first night we got there, we had a filet mignon that was to die for. The second night, was my birthday, and they couldn't get my steak done right, after 2 attempts, I ended up just eating potatoes. Real downer, especially on one's birthday. Otherwise the resort is so nice. The walking trails are beautiful with very nice waterfalls, a must do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nature Lovers Dream

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Very green and the decor was nice. The grounds are huge with lots of nature trails, if you like hiking.
Cons: Because there was no bar or music, there was no where to socialize with other guests.
Location: Though beautiful, you were isolated!
The hotel was beautiful. The staff was accommodating and helpful. The restaurant was unique, the food delicious, and the servers were friendly. This is a couples paradise. I went with my daughter, we stayed 5 nights and for us there wasn't anything to do in the evening after dinner. No TV or Bar or any kind of music, by the pool or in the lobby. We booked two excursions, A cruise to Tortuga beach and one to the La Paz Waterfalls, which were great. Overall it was a great vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing place...

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: amazing architecture, art and history. Great walking grounds, gardens, pools, amazing staff/ family feeling; beautiful throughout!
Cons: nothing... perfect
Location: dont need to leave... has it all
amazing architecture, art and history. Great walking grounds, gardens, pools, amazing staff/ family feeling