Ratings based on 157 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

Close to College campus, Starbucks and bagel place

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: location is right across the street from Santa Clara University campus and next to the free shuttle to the airport. Clean and useful for multi day sty
Cons: communication about housekeeping.
Location: College campus, train and shuttle.
Nice room w space to work or eat- includes mini kitchen. bathroom was spacious and bed very comfortable. however I did not know that there was only weekly housekeeping. I was only there two nights so not a big deal to make my own bed but would have been nice to know ahead of time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good experience overall

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Good experience overall. It's just all I needed to spend a night in Santa Clara.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Carmichael

I could live here.

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
I was down here in Santa Clara to give a presentation at the University, and my son came along for a campus visit, tour, etc. Candlewood was so convenient and friendly. It took all if the stress out of a quick trip with multiple objectives. As we were packing to leave, my don said, "I could live here." I knew exactly what he meant; it really did feel like him away from home.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs, CA

Visiting SCU? This is the place to stay

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
I do a one day tradeshow at SCU every year. This is the closest hotel, and is comfortable, large room, nice employees.
5 out of 5
by Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only one issue

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Excellent staff, location and very clean. The only issue we had is the curtains don't close fully. There are sheer curtains that close but the curtains that block any light stay open. Very little privacy and hard to sleep. Other than that, excellent hotel.
4 out of 5
by Matt

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
They need to have darker shades that close all the way. People wanna sleep
4 out of 5
by anthony from Paso Robles, Ca

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice receptionist. The room was very nice. The only problen we had was that the bed dipped in the middle. All in all we would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oregon

Hotel is close to Santa Clara University

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Pros: It was just an ok room
Cons: Room odor
Location: Across the street from SCU and close to train station
Hotel is close to Santa Clara University but I felt it was over priced. Room was comfortable but towel rack in bathroom was broken and air conditioner wasn't effective for bedroom. Plus hotel is right next to Caltrans so you couldn't open the window because of train noise. If you stay there get a room opposite train tracks. In addition the room had an odor-smelt like burnt grease. Should have requested a different room.
2 out of 5
by Jacob

My room smelled like a casino floor

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
Everything would have been great with this stay if the "non smoking room" didn't have a heavy cloud of casino smoke emanating from the barroom. It was so bad that my only guess as to why it was so strong in this room, is that it is where the staff goes everyday for a smoke break or something. It was the worst smoke smelling room I have ever stayed in. My clothes and bags smelled of smoke when I left. I would never stay here again because of this.