Ratings based on 1,665 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Best place I have ever stayed

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Almost everything. The hotel has real character, thick walls so you don't hear your neighbors, was close to freeway.
Cons: Price for Sunday brunch - maybe have a w/ Mimosa and without option at a lower price.
Location: There is a drive-in movie theater nearby. There were also a lot of restaurants with in a 10 minute drive. For a quick breakfast try Yum Yum donuts.
I cannot say enough good things about the Mansion. The room was quiet (thanks to the thick walls), the beds were very cozy (I was in the 100-200 building on the second floor), cleaning staff did a superb and quick job. If we left even for a quick breakfast, they had the room cleaned by the time we returned. The grounds are landscaped beautifully and we were able to see several weddings going on in the lawn during the weekend. We did not use the pool - it always seemed crowded with loud kids (not sure where they came from since I didn't see many children roaming around the hotel.) Hotel borders a large park with tennis court, basketball, walking trails, etc. There were quite few parties there playing Pokemon Go. The Sunday brunch was our only real disappointment. It was very overpriced at close to $50 per person. I just cannot eat $50 worth of food, even if I only ate the crab! Some may find that the bottomless mimosas help justify the price, but if you are not a drinker, I would spend your money elsewhere for breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Thin walls, noisy guests and costly food.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Interesting architecture in the public places, comfortable patio seating, nice setting.
Cons: Happier employees would make for a more pleasing place to stay. Happy employees go the extra mile, put out more effort and make for happier guests.
Location: Did not get to explore the area.
Stayed for three nights while on a business trip. Here are my observations: 1. The very thin walls and doors lack any noise reducing insulation. 2. The maids and families with kids make a lot of noise at all hours. Just their walking and dragging around carts was enough to wake us up. Repeatedly. 3. The pillows on the beds are useless. This is especially important because there is nowhere else to sit in the room. Our request to a maid for additional pillows was received with "we can't do that". 4. The employees in all areas seem very unhappy to be working here. Lots of disgruntled discussions within earshot of guests, complaining, unwillingness to do anything beyond the absolute minimum. 5. Coffee, milk, OJ and three pancakes cost $30.00. 6. Our linens were torn and had nail polish stains on them.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We were in town for a lacrosse tournament.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: The hotel was beautiful and comfortable.
Cons: It was very busy and the kitchen staff was overwhelmed for dinner. We had to wait an hour for our dinner.
Location: Very convenient to the highway and lots of restaurants. We traveled to Morgan Hill for our tournament so i didn't see anything else around the hotel.
The hotel was very clean and staff was very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Beautiful facility

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Take the self guided tour of the mansion. Beautiful place.
Cons: Shuttle to airport not available when we needed it. Understand they charge $33 for the shuttle. Cab to airport $42.
Location: It is way off the beaten path. In a neighborhood, nothing close by for food or entertainment.
Front desk at checkin provided a less than enthusiastic welcome. She went through the motions of doing her job. Everything else excellent. Nice, comfortable, clean, quiet room, amenities. It's a lovely place, would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

It's not what you think!

Posted Jul 13, 2016
This property is set in a run-down residential area. The grounds are small so you feel like you're surrounded by seedy neighbors on all sides. Everything about the room was dated. Our room keys only worked half of the time. They suspected it was a worn battery. There is hardly any parking near the rooms. The pool is small but pleasant. We did not eat at the property. The A/C equipment is loud and I could hear a loud humming through the walls all night long. The location is decent near freeway access and retail. Overall, the experience was just OK.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fremont, CA

Special Event Venue

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: The staff was very good. The robes in the rooms are super cozy. The champagne brunch was great. Our waitress Pat, was awesome.
Cons: The rooms are a little generic. Nothing really made you feel as if you are staying at a historic location.
Location: The location was perfect for our purpose, but it is outside the downtown San Jose area if you are visiting the city.
We stayed at the hotel as part of my husband's 60th birthday celebration. We were attending a nighttime event at the Lick Observatory and wanted to stay at a hotel near Mt. Hamilton. Our room was clean and comfortable, but nothing remarkable. Our room was in the wing where they hold their wedding receptions. We were warned by the reception desk that a wedding would be running until 11:30. This wasn't a problem for us since we were out past that time, but something to be aware. The grounds are nice and well maintained. Most of the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. As our stay was only overnight we didn't get an opportunity to try any of the amenties.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2016
On the outside everything looks beautiful but once you get into the rooms nothing is updated. Not to mention the multiple soccer advertisements INSIDE the rooms and hallways. Very tacky!!! For the price it's not worth it. The pool is too small and was always crowded, especially when there are events being held at the hotel. Very loud, we were above the ballroom and couldn't fall asleep.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Nice getaway!

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: Very charming, quiet, such a nice change from the usual chain hotels. Very clean & nice amenities.
After checking in & a change of plans, I actually could have checked out & stayed with a family member. Instead, I enjoyed myself so much I opted to continue my stay. Very lovely hotel!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fresno, Ca

Comfortable, safe, pleasurable.

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: The security, patio, décor, cleanliness, water dispensers, foliage, breakfast buffet and patio which served drinks and light eats.
Cons: Maybe a little more clarification as to the names of the buildings so that the rooms could be found with more ease.
Location: SANTANA ROW, WINCHESTER MYSTERY HOUSE!
I always enjoy staying here when traveling to San Jose. I've stayed here several times and would not even think of staying elsewhere. It's far from your typical cookie cutter hotels.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2016
A bit dated, but overall very nice hotel for this price range.