Ratings based on 558 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: see above
Location: fine
Noisy, no glass for drinking water, no lotion, no conditioner, run down.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our valued guest and for posting your remarks online. I am sorry your room did not have the amenities you desired or needed. Being an extended stay property focused on guests staying seven or more nights, we do have items such as a fully equipped kitchen, complimentary grab-and-go breakfast and a comfortable in-suite environment to make you feel at home while away from home.  We also have hairdryers and certain complimentary toiletries available at the front desk for our guests who need them.   We do our best to honor our guests' requests and do everything possible to ensure an enjoyable stay. We would love the opportunity to serve you again on your next visit to the area.  Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san jose

Nice hotel bad quality control

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Memorable in a bad way. Had to wash my own dishes, booked the hotel so I could cook. Did not know I would also be an employee as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Byron, please accept my apology for the lack of detail by our housekeeping and inspection teams. I am sorry for the oversight of your dishware kit, and that the items were not as clean as they should have been. We will have additional inspections conducted by our teams to ensure our guests are receiving clean kits. Thank you for bringing this to our attention so we can improve. General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth it

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: More affordable than hotels in the center of downtown.
Cons: Cleanliness, the bedding/mattress/pillows, wifi
Location: Nothing to do. We couldn't even find a grocery store nearby.
Booked this hotel to save $ outside of the downtown area. The room was not cleaned very well - smudges all over the closet mirrored doors, spray marks on the headboard (hopefully from cleaning the wooden frame), crusty food on the stove burners. The doors slam shut, and wooden floors make for very noisy neighbors. Wifi connection was terrible. The mattress and pillows were extremely uncomfortable. Would not stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We do wish that your recent stay with us had been more impressive. Thank you for sharing the areas of your stay where you feel more of our attention is needed, such as our cleanliness; we really do value feedback such as this. We hope the remainder of your trip was enjoyable and thank you for taking a moment to post your review.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Never Again

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: The coffee in the lobby. There is no coffee maker in the room. The kitchenette is a nice feature but there are no supplies at all.
They gave away our 2 queen room and gave us 1 king which meant our son had to sleep on the floor. All hotels in the area were booked for a conference so we were stuck. They had no roll-aways (against fire code?). They had no extra blankets, sheets or bedspreads so our son slept on towels. On the 3rd day when we once again asked for any sort of extra bedding, Juliet was very kind and brought out brand new bedding that was still in plastic. The room is only cleaned 1 day per week but they didn't tell us this when we checked in. We went down to get new towels but they were all in the laundry. Absolutely the worst experience. Contacted Expedia to try and get some sort of resolution and we have not heard back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Beatrice, thank you for posting your review. Your feedback is a reminder for us that we need to be more consistent in communicating with our guests during check in. Since we are an extended stay property, we provide housekeeping services to guests who stay eight or more nights; however, these services are always available upon request for an additional fee. We apologize for not meeting your expectations and hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a better experience when you are in this area again. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel staff was not polite.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: The room was clean.
It was long time to check in. The hotel staff was not polite.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry you didn't experience our staff at their best during your stay, and they failed to greet you with a welcoming smile, warmth and hospitality. This behavior is highly unusual, and we have addressed your comments with our staff to ensure they deliver excellent service, all the time. We hope that the rest of your visit was a pleasant one and that you will come back to see us again in the near future. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Nov 14, 2016
The room was not so clean, there were insects and they had room service only once a week.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We never want our guests to leave having a disappointing stay with us. We work hard to provide clean, fresh accommodations for our guests along with friendly and helpful service. We apologize we did not deliver upon our goals. Another opportunity to meet your expectations would be appreciated. Thank you, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Awful experience

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Room mostly bathroom need some remodeling and definitely extra cleaning
Location: Grate location,this is the only good thing I can tell about this hotel
Hotel is old and smelly and I dont recommend this hotel to any one. You have other good options within the same area wand it was a mistake that I did not invest more money for other option
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Although our location was perfect for your needs, we apologize you did not have an overall great experience and you left dissatisfied. We appreciate your comments and will work to correct the deficiencies you identified so your next stay will be better. Thank you, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location at a good price

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: Airport is near by. Great access to Silicon Vally businesses.
Room was fine nothing special. No breakfast. Good location
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback of Extended Stay America San Jose – Downtown. We are glad to know how pleased you were with our location and the great value we offer. Our guests love the easy access to the airport and Silicon Valley as well. Thanks again, we hope to see you soon. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty Hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2016
No A/C, filthy telephone, smell like grease. Common Areas were filthy. I had to leave 20 minutes after I checked in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review your stay as your comments are very important to us. I am sorry to hear your first impression of our hotel was not a great one as we want everyone to enjoy their stay with us. Your comments will be shared among our staff in order to help us improve. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope that you will consider giving us another try in the future. General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, United States of America

Needed updating

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: Not much, it's dingy and near the airport.
Wasn't very comfortable, needs updating. I was expecting more for the price. This couch was on the corner, on the street, the entire time I stayed there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We agree there are areas of our hotel which need updating. We are in conversation with our brand leadership regarding such future upgrades. We appreciate your feedback and hope for another chance to exceed your expectations. General Manager