Ratings based on 235 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J

Clean and easy!

Posted Aug 25, 2015
A lovely, quaint hotel just a short drive from downtown Menlo Park, University Avenue and some of the best "eats" on the peninsula. Clean, comfy enough to hang out in the room during the day, and still get restful sleep at night. One downside is the pool seems to be unheated. Even in the middle of a California summer, the pool was too cold for our stay. Great value for the price and tasty coffee in the room!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

We would stay here again in a heat beat!

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Every morning we ate our breakfast on our nation looking out at the pool.
Cons: The walls are a bit thin.
We stayed here for a full week and were completed thrilled with experience. Our only complaint was that the walls were thin. The staff was eager to please, the breakfast was exceptionally nice, the room was always spotless and very comfortable. I would not hesitate to stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Perfect for 1 night

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Continental breakfast, new, clean rooms.
Stayed 1 night and found it to be simple, nice, new, clean, comfortable. Slightly hard to find as the driveway is long and the building is not on the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mary Beth from Los Angeles

Visiting Stanford

Posted May 31, 2015 on Hotels
We were just in for a quick overnight to see our daughter. The inn is convenient to Stanford and the freeways. It's nice that all the rooms around the pool have a table and chairs on a patio or balcony. (I don't know about the ones across the parking lot.) Good lighting and plenty of places to plug in chargers. The only funny thing was the mirror in the bathroom. My husband and I both had to bend down a little to see our faces. I thought maybe it's because it was an accessible room, but I noticed that all the rooms (at least near ours) had a window placed high on the bathroom wall for ventilation. That prevents the mirror from being any higher.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Nice Hotel and Staff

Posted May 26, 2015
This is a small hotel that was very nice with a great Staff! Bathroom need to be upgraded. Had a great Stay!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from Mesa, Arizona

Overnighter

Posted May 18, 2015 on Hotels
It was brief for medical purposes with Stanford and it was a convenient location and quite quaint and peaceful. Enjoyed the room and amenities and would stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Edward

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 6, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

The Best Place in Menlo Park - for the Price

Posted Mar 31, 2015
There are few choices for hotels in Menlo Park - and most are 2 or 3 times the price of the Red Cottage Inn. You can definitely find a nicer hotel if you want to pay the price multiple. But if you want a reasonably priced hotel, this is it. It's definitely the best - even the locals will tell you that this is the place they put up their friends and relatives. The hotel is cute and quaint. It's relatively small - in all ways. The room is a bit small, the pool is small, the parking lot doesn't have a lot of spots, the breakfast area is tight ... But it's enough and what's there is well done: the room is nice and has everything you need: enough room in the bathroom, a mini-frig and microwave, a nice TV, and even a little patio with chairs and table by the pool. It's set back from El Camino Real so don't let the address dissuade you. And yes, the train is relatively close too, but we hardly noticed it - and only when train whistle drew our attention.